Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 28, 19, 7:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: codfather
Wiki Link

Print Wikipost

Old Nov 14, 19, 5:30 pm
  #76  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: YHZ, YYZ, TPA and sometimes MBJ
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 713
Originally Posted by codfather View Post
Beta isn't needed anymore! See above posts.
Tks, I am slow on the uptake at times....
codfather likes this.
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:38 pm
  #77  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE100K, Bonvoy Platinum Elite, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,677
New app won't pull my Aeroplan booking. The old one does no problem.
WaytoomuchEurope is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:39 pm
  #78  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,799
Originally Posted by WaytoomuchEurope View Post
New app won't pull my Aeroplan booking. The old one does no problem.
Automatically? (the old one did not)
Or with booking reference? (I've had no issue with the new one)
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:44 pm
  #79  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE100K, Bonvoy Platinum Elite, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,677
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Automatically? (the old one did not)
Or with booking reference? (I've had no issue with the new one)
Booking reference.
canadiancow likes this.
WaytoomuchEurope is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:52 pm
  #80  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: YHZ, YYZ, TPA and sometimes MBJ
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 713
Originally Posted by WaytoomuchEurope View Post
Booking reference.
just pulled an AP reservation for my son, no problem.

Is there any way to label the trips??
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 6:13 pm
  #81  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3,359
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Automatically? (the old one did not)
Or with booking reference? (I've had no issue with the new one)
Evidently AC was using their B team to develop this app:

FlyerTalker70 is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 6:25 pm
  #82  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: YHZ, YYZ, TPA and sometimes MBJ
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 713
Originally Posted by j2simpso View Post
Evidently AC was using their B team to develop this app:
I probably should not have upgraded in the middle of a run.... Had to go kill a few trees to get some paper boarding passes.
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 6:55 pm
  #83  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,799
Originally Posted by j2simpso View Post
Evidently AC was using their B team to develop this app:
Gee and I wonder why we don't get more participation from AC employees on FT.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 7:00 pm
  #84  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,799
But in response to that specific issue:

If you sign in with Aeroplan, all your bookings will show up, so I actually agree with their decision not to include migration logic. It would be run at most once, would only impact people who have Aeroplan bookings or bookings for other people, and would just be a waste of time when they could instead be working on useful features. Of my ~30 active future bookings, I think only 2 were not pulled down by my Aeroplan number. I can live with that.

Sure, doing it in the middle of an EYW run when you have all your electronic BPs in the app could be a pain. But other than that, it seems fine.
douglasr likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 15, 19, 9:31 am
  #85  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YYC
Programs: AC E50K, spouse E75K (MM), National Emerald, various hotel programs
Posts: 305
Enough positive feedback here to give me reason to update. Two findings so far, one negative and one positive. On my iPhone SE, the login screen doesn't properly centre, making entering my Aeroplan number very difficult. On the positive side, it looks like the app developers have properly designed the app for an iPad.

Based on my brief exploration of the functionality there are a number of features gone missing, there doesn't seem to be a Setting for syncing to my Calendar. Hopefully when this feature comes back I'll be able to control which iOS calendar. Upon login the app did download my existing bookings, but there seems to be a lack of information available for each booking, such as seat number. Am I missing something?
YYC traveler is offline  
Old Nov 15, 19, 10:11 am
  #86  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: YYZ
Programs: CX MPC GO, AMEX PLAT, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Radisson Gold, IHG Spire
Posts: 277
Originally Posted by YYC traveler View Post
Enough positive feedback here to give me reason to update. Two findings so far, one negative and one positive. On my iPhone SE, the login screen doesn't properly centre, making entering my Aeroplan number very difficult. On the positive side, it looks like the app developers have properly designed the app for an iPad.

Based on my brief exploration of the functionality there are a number of features gone missing, there doesn't seem to be a Setting for syncing to my Calendar. Hopefully when this feature comes back I'll be able to control which iOS calendar. Upon login the app did download my existing bookings, but there seems to be a lack of information available for each booking, such as seat number. Am I missing something?
I use the sync to calendar function extensively and I also hope that it will come back in a future update, fingers crossed...
etkuo is offline  
Old Nov 15, 19, 10:28 am
  #87  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE 1MM, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 3,201
The other thing I have noticed that isn't done well/right/at all is integrating you KTN and passport information into the check in process. The new app doesn't seem to want to pull this from either your profile or the booking, so you have to enter it in again during check-in (or end up without pre-check).
ridefar is offline  
Old Nov 15, 19, 10:48 am
  #88  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,799
Originally Posted by ridefar View Post
The other thing I have noticed that isn't done well/right/at all is integrating you KTN and passport information into the check in process. The new app doesn't seem to want to pull this from either your profile or the booking, so you have to enter it in again during check-in (or end up without pre-check).
It's been filling all my information since being able to sign in with Aeroplan.

It's always using my passport though, when I'd rather it use NEXUS. And it's only filling my information, not my travel companion, even though I have all his data saved as a passenger in my profile.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 15, 19, 10:49 am
  #89  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Programs: AC: E50K, Marriott :Titanium, National: EXEC ELITE
Posts: 452
I am really underwhelmed. No information specific to your reservation available (Bistro or BRVG vouchers, fare class), and the total lack of seat info and ability to change it is unbelievable. What a hunk of garbage.
VoodooYYC is offline  
Old Nov 15, 19, 10:53 am
  #90  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,799
Originally Posted by VoodooYYC View Post
I am really underwhelmed. No information specific to your reservation available (Bistro or BRVG vouchers, fare class), and the total lack of seat info and ability to change it is unbelievable. What a hunk of garbage.
Have you considered that this may have been built with the Amadeus migration in mind?
canadiancow is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: