Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 28, 19, 7:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: codfather
Wiki Link

Print Wikipost

Old Nov 14, 19, 4:34 pm
  #61  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 827
Originally Posted by YYC traveler View Post
According to the Apple App Store it has been offically released as version 5.0, see https://apps.apple.com/ca/app/air-canada/id326459697

The App Store on my phone is offering this as an update to my current version. Generally I like living on the bleed edge and updating as soon as possible. Based on past experience with the Air Canada app, I'm waiting on this update.
Just updated. It is exactly the same as the beta version of the new app, so I am guessing the beta period is now over?

Really confused. I thought we weren't getting a new AC mobile app until like January after the beta period is finished.

Also, still no digital altitude card in the now updated app.
codfather is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 4:42 pm
  #62  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,633
The digital card will come later. They needed to get something out that supported login to replace the old one.

I forgot to send my email of issues I found over the weekend, so I'll try to do that tonight so 5.0.1 can fix some of them
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 4:42 pm
  #63  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 2,498
Just got the new app through the App Store (guess I didnít have the beta?).

First experiences are positive:

Logged in error-free ^
Automatically loaded my booking ^
Automatically loaded my booking not made on AC.com ^
capedreamer is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 4:44 pm
  #64  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 827
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
The digital card will come later. They needed to get something out that supported login to replace the old one.

I forgot to send my email of issues I found over the weekend, so I'll try to do that tonight so 5.0.1 can fix some of them
That is what I expected given what you said before, I was just surprised to see the app released today without it.

I would be intrigued to see what this list contains? I can't imagine you found many issues...Lol
codfather is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 4:50 pm
  #65  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,633
Originally Posted by codfather View Post
That is what I expected given what you said before, I was just surprised to see the app released today without it.

I would be intrigued to see what this list contains? I can't imagine you found many issues...Lol
I suspect they need to get it out before the Amadeus switch. There was also a FP app update today.

Here's the draft I had (and the TODO is why I didn't send it):

Having used the new Android app for 29 flights on multiple bookings over the weekend, I have some feedback:


1. The brightness often goes to 100%, even on screens that are not showing a boarding pass.


2. The list of reservations jumps back to the top constantly if it's updating, which is annoying when I'm trying to scroll down. (TODO attach video)


3. I often travel with another person on my booking, and I complete check-in for both of us. However, his boarding pass shows up first, and I have to go into each flight to remove them individually. It would be nice to be able to either only download one person's boarding pass, or to quickly remove all passes for one passenger.


4. I have one booking, SFO-YYC, overnight, YYC-YXE. I was able to check in for the first segment, but not the second. 24 hours before the second, the app would only send me to check-in for the first. The old app let me specify a departure city, which needed to be YYC for this to work.

I'll have to make a video and send it if they haven't fixed it in today's update.
codfather likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 4:52 pm
  #66  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint (Wave as you fly over)
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 2,928
I like how it still shows flights I flew over 24 hours ago.
Bohemian1 is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 4:58 pm
  #67  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE 1MM, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 3,201
Originally Posted by Bohemian1 View Post
I like how it still shows flights I flew over 24 hours ago.
They seem to go away after 72 hours or so. It is irritating.
ridefar is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:02 pm
  #68  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,633
When they drop off the PNR (something like 72 hours), the app no longer sees them, and sorts them appropriately.

I definitely agree that I always want my next flight to show up first though.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:05 pm
  #69  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: YHZ, YYZ, TPA and sometimes MBJ
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 693
beta is full....
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:07 pm
  #70  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 827
Originally Posted by Yhztraveller View Post
beta is full....
Beta isn't needed anymore! See above posts.
codfather is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:09 pm
  #71  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 827
Every time I exit the updated app, the rondelle on the app icon shrinks from the old size to the new size.

In the older app, it filled the app icon, but the new app has it as a smaller rondelle in the center.

Glitch perhaps? Or is it a design feature I wonder.
codfather is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:19 pm
  #72  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 2,498
Originally Posted by codfather View Post
Every time I exit the updated app, the rondelle on the app icon shrinks from the old size to the new size.

In the older app, it filled the app icon, but the new app has it as a smaller rondelle in the center.

Glitch perhaps? Or is it a design feature I wonder.
I donít understand. The new app (which I just got) has the smaller icon. It doesnít shrink and grow back and forth, does it?
capedreamer is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:20 pm
  #73  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 827
Originally Posted by capedreamer View Post
I donít understand. The new app (which I just got) has the smaller icon. It doesnít shrink and grow back and forth, does it?
Apparently mine does! Lol
capedreamer likes this.
codfather is offline  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:22 pm
  #74  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 2,498
Originally Posted by codfather View Post
Apparently mine does! Lol
Oh thatís odd...
capedreamer is online now  
Old Nov 14, 19, 5:24 pm
  #75  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 827
I have a video taken with screen record. Does anybody know if we can upload videos to FT?

I think not, but worth asking.
codfather is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: