Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jun 16, 20, 6:34 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: codfather
Wiki Link

Print Wikipost

Old Jan 14, 20, 12:55 pm
  #406  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,137
Originally Posted by PB53x11 View Post
Way too early. I'm not sure how close to departure it will show, possibly two days before departure.

OK Thanks! So I guess I can't do anything on the app in relation to seats; upgrades etc., until it shows up with more options/information.

....such a downgrade.
Bravada04 is offline  
Old Jan 14, 20, 12:56 pm
  #407  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: AC 50K
Posts: 176
Originally Posted by codfather View Post
Been over a month now and still no Altitude card in the mobile app for iOS users. Not very good...
I can confirm, Altitude card now shows for IOS users!!
marchelli is offline  
Old Jan 14, 20, 7:13 pm
  #408  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: Erstwhile Accidental AC E35K
Posts: 2,602
Originally Posted by ridefar View Post
Yes.

Do you have any sort of social media account? Do you online bank? Do you buy anything online? Do ever you use a browser that is not in "incognito" mode? Do you use strong passwords for everything online? Have you ever used an online dating site? Have you ever used Google to search for something? Do you have a smart phone? I could go on. You probably get my point.
I obviously have some of those, but few if any have my passport/Nexus info. It just seems risky, if not plain dumb to store that info on an AC (or any) app.
Sopwith is offline  
Old Jan 14, 20, 8:07 pm
  #409  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC E50K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 1,184
Originally Posted by marchelli View Post
I can confirm, Altitude card now shows for IOS users!!
Well...talk about efficiency! Lol
codfather is offline  
Old Jan 14, 20, 8:24 pm
  #410  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Halifax
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Elite/Ambassador. NEXUS, National
Posts: 3,339
Originally Posted by Sopwith View Post
Does anyone feel secure doing this? I wouldn’t, even if the app worked properly.
Its just a number. Any important use of a NEXUS card, they are going to cross reference it against biometrics and a central system.
RangerNS is offline  
Old Jan 14, 20, 8:27 pm
  #411  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K MM, Accor Gold, Bonvoy Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 33,587
And it's not like it isn't going to end up in AC's systems anyway.
SPG_Fan likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 7:05 am
  #412  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: YVR
Programs: UA Premier Platinum
Posts: 3,548
Updated to iOS 5.1.6 yesterday and overnight it consumed all the available space on my iPhone - over 4 GB. Bizarre.
canadiancow likes this.
eigenvector is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 7:35 am
  #413  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 274
Android 5.1.6 update now live. Still no seat selection.

• Reintroduced the Altitude Digital Card. Access it from the Aeroplan tab.
• Save your NEXUS information to your saved traveler profile, and have it automatically added to your next check-in.
• Resolved an issue which prevented the Check-in button from appearing on Trips.
• Addressed an issue which prevented access to the boarding pass directly from Trips for some customers.
• Improved the reliability of bookings automatically retrieved by Aeroplan.
musicmtl is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 7:46 am
  #414  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE 1MM, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 3,271
Originally Posted by Sopwith View Post
I obviously have some of those, but few if any have my passport/Nexus info. It just seems risky, if not plain dumb to store that info on an AC (or any) app.
OK, so why is that any different than sharing your phone number, credit card, address, birth date, email address, answers to "security" questions, etc. With the websites, apps, or companies that I mentioned in my original list? Frankly why should I care if anybody knows my KTN? I would be a lot more concerned about my credit card data than my KTN. KTN only helps somebody that is booking travel as me, with the associated other data and biometrics. (Not likely.) I am genuinely curious if you know of some risk here that I am not aware of, or if this is just a generic concern because it feels like it is the equivalent of your passport and therefore special. And if it is the latter I would suggest the feeling is unfounded in genuine risk.
ridefar is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 10:42 am
  #415  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: Erstwhile Accidental AC E35K
Posts: 2,602
Okay, ... good luck.
Sopwith is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 10:54 am
  #416  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K MM, Accor Gold, Bonvoy Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 33,587
Android 5.1.7 is out. Presumably just bug fixes.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 4:13 pm
  #417  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YYJ
Posts: 1,817
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Android 5.1.7 is out. Presumably just bug fixes.
Weird. Mine is still at 5.03. My phone says last updated November and I can't seem to force an update short of uninstall and reinstall. When I use my desktop to look at Google Play, it also says 5.03, but last updated today.

Dr. PITUK
douglasr likes this.
painintheuk is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 4:26 pm
  #418  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K MM, Accor Gold, Bonvoy Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 33,587
Originally Posted by painintheuk View Post
Weird. Mine is still at 5.03. My phone says last updated November and I can't seem to force an update short of uninstall and reinstall. When I use my desktop to look at Google Play, it also says 5.03, but last updated today.

Dr. PITUK
They're probably rolling it out gradually. I suspect 5.1.6 had an issue, so they stopped that, fixed it, and rolled out a new version.

You can always download it from https://apkpure.com/air-canada/com.aircanada (seems like 5.1.6 is the latest there) if you want. If it installs over top of your old version, then you can be assured it's a legitimate version.
painintheuk likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 4:50 pm
  #419  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor/Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 8,845
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Android 5.1.7 is out. Presumably just bug fixes.
I was also able to update to 5.1.7 today. Seems no different.
Adam Smith is online now  
Old Jan 17, 20, 12:22 pm
  #420  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: YYC, LAX/SMO
Programs: AC S100K, HH Silver
Posts: 80
Originally Posted by Adam Smith View Post
I was also able to update to 5.1.7 today. Seems no different.
Still no update for me. And when I go to the Play Store web it shows the update date as 16-Jan-2020 but the version as 5.0.3 still. Definitely some strangeness going on.
douglasr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: