Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

impossible to book on AC from some foreign countries

impossible to book on AC from some foreign countries

Old Oct 20, 19, 9:10 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: AC Million Miler & long time SE; StarwoodPlat for 10+ yrs & lifetime Gold; Hilton Honours Diamond; IC Ambassador; AMEX Plat;Avis Presidents Club; Airmiles GOLD; and just about everything else!
Programs: aeroplan & 25+year loyalty
Posts: 3,813
impossible to book on AC from some foreign countries

I am in Brazil which I visit 2 or 3 times a year and yet when I need to book a new flight on AC it is impossible. The site edition says to contact AC reservations but the link does not work.

I find this very unacceptable for anyone who is a frequent flyer, let alone a SE for 19 years like me. Frankly this problem has been around for years but AC has made no efforts to correct it.

AC you are losing out on a major ticket I need to purchase NOW to Asia. I cannot wait.

100k miler
100,000miler is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 10:07 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,753
I hear there’s this website called Expedia. Check it out!
jjclancy is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 10:11 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE 1MM, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 3,161
Clear all your browser cache. That sometimes works for me.

But your basic point is true and AC is horrifically bad at this.
ridefar is online now  
Old Oct 20, 19, 10:39 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Since you have an Amex Plat, why not use Amex Travel?
rdcezar is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 10:56 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
VPN???
YEGDad is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 10:58 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor Platinum, Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 6,341
I know this sounds incredibly old-fashioned, but what about the telephone?
canadiancow, D582 and codfather like this.
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 11:00 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,682
Originally Posted by Adam Smith View Post
I know this sounds incredibly old-fashioned, but what about the telephone?
That costs like 20 cents per minute. PER MINUTE.

Have you ever had to deal with AC hold times?????

D582, Fizzer, Twickenham and 1 others like this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Oct 20, 19, 11:04 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: Bottom feeder Star Gold
Posts: 2,379
If only Asia were served by other airlines...
Auto Enthusiast likes this.
CZAMFlyer is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 11:17 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Programs: Marriott Titanium; WN A-list; UA Silver
Posts: 184
I just VPNed to Brazil (Ip location shows Santiago, Brazil), selected location "United States" on AC's website., and tried GRU-NRT and was able to do a booking to the point of a credit card. So I'd recommend selecting United States (or probably Canada) and going forth.
nmpls is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 11:31 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others
Posts: 23,429
The title is misleading. I have booked AC flight from many foreign countries. But yes, VPN is your answer.
LondonElite is offline  
Old Oct 20, 19, 11:41 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE100K, Bonvoy Platinum Elite, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,553
I've booked tickets on AC.com twice this year from Brazil. Next week I'll try it again just to be sure they weren't flukes.
WaytoomuchEurope is online now  
Old Oct 21, 19, 12:42 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Programs: Marriott Titanium; WN A-list; UA Silver
Posts: 184
Originally Posted by LondonElite View Post
The title is misleading. I have booked AC flight from many foreign countries. But yes, VPN is your answer.
I don't think that is even necessary, as I just accessed from a Brazilian IP. However, I do think a VPN is a great thing for travel for unsecured wifi, getting around websites that hate whatever country you're in (GDPR, US copyright issues, maybe this, etc) and countries that hate whatever site you want to use.
nmpls is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 4:51 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Programs: aeroplan
Posts: 13
I have had similar issues from parts of Europe. The AC mobile app usually works but doesn’t offer the same flights as via browser. Incognito mode sometimes works.
YYZ_tatlflyer is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 5:00 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ Diamond, Jiffypark Manhattan Gold
Posts: 4,025
I've had this happen when I was in Colombia.

I THINK if you clear your history/cookies/cache and then just change the site version to the Canadian one (or whatever country your credit card is attached to) then it would work.

I tried buying a ticket on the US version of the site from Canada because it was cheaper (as I do on the Avianca site...don't tell them!) but every time I entered my billing address as Canada it wouldn't allow it. It'd just kick me to the Canadian version.

It's worth a shot.
drvannostren is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 8:18 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,807
I have never had issues booking AC flights on the AC website from "foreign countries". No VPN required.
yyznomad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread