Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

AC 33 change; appears to no longer start in YYZ

AC 33 change; appears to no longer start in YYZ

Old Sep 28, 19, 11:07 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Programs: Aeroplan E50, HH gold, Nat Exec Elite, Kimpton Karma
Posts: 1,592
AC 33 change; appears to no longer start in YYZ

Not sure as of what date this effective but, AC 33 appears to no longer start in YYZ. There is a flight (still wide bodied) at the same time out of YYZ that connects to AC 33 in Vancouver. This “new flight” has a different #. SearchING YYZ-SYD flight details show a connection in YVR rather than a stop. I didn’t search a lot of dates but it is certainly true mid December.

When this route commenced there was a lot of marketing and PR about the flight being YYZ-SYD direct. Curious as to why the first leg is no longer 33.
Bartolo is offline  
Old Sep 28, 19, 11:22 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Programs: AC50 MM
Posts: 777
Yes - just got a change itinerary email which perplexed me as the times were unchanged, until I noticed that AC34 (YVR-YYZ) is now AC106. Same 77L and seat selection.
And I see that AC 34 (SYD-YVR) now terminates there, and AC106 is the connecting (?same plane) onto YYZ.
tomvancouver is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 2:41 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor/Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 6,893
Originally Posted by Bartolo View Post
When this route commenced there was a lot of marketing and PR about the flight being YYZ-SYD direct. Curious as to why the first leg is no longer 33.
Because it pissed people off to find out that their "direct" flight, which many uninitiated people assumed was non-stop, included a stop in YVR? While also creating logistical complications with eUps, seat selection, etc?

Could be that with AC's big push to attract traffic from the US, as well as the addition of MEL and BNE, they were seeing a lot less of the YVR-SYD seats being sold to people coming from YYZ.
MSPeconomist, ffsim, wrp96 and 2 others like this.
Adam Smith is online now  
Old Sep 29, 19, 7:01 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,983
Didn't they used to feed people on the domestic portion of this flight in Y, if they were continuing to SYD?

Or is It because the flights are so often delayed, people were missing the connecting flight and wondering wth, I was on the same flight number!
rankourabu is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 8:35 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 299
Remind me: Were you ever able to eupgrade from YYZ - SYD, or did you have two upgrade YYZ - YVR and YVR - SYD separately?
TheCanuckian is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 8:58 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Programs: *G
Posts: 2,293
Originally Posted by TheCanuckian View Post
Remind me: Were you ever able to eupgrade from YYZ - SYD, or did you have two upgrade YYZ - YVR and YVR - SYD separately?
It was one upgrade YYZ-SYD and if you missed it due heavy YVR bound upgrades, it was IMPOSSIBLE to upgrade YVR-SYD even if R9 on that leg. Resolving that stupidity is the biggest enhancement of splitting the flights.
fin 645 is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 9:14 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Programs: Aeroplan E50, HH gold, Nat Exec Elite, Kimpton Karma
Posts: 1,592
Originally Posted by Adam Smith View Post
Because it pissed people off to find out that their "direct" flight, which many uninitiated people assumed was non-stop, included a stop in YVR? While also creating logistical complications with eUps, seat selection, etc?

Could be that with AC's big push to attract traffic from the US, as well as the addition of MEL and BNE, they were seeing a lot less of the YVR-SYD seats being sold to people coming from YYZ.
Your last point makes a lot of sense to me. Hadn’t considered that. Your first point also makes sense.
Bartolo is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 9:56 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AC SE*100K
Posts: 1,339
Originally Posted by fin 645 View Post
It was one upgrade YYZ-SYD and if you missed it due heavy YVR bound upgrades, it was IMPOSSIBLE to upgrade YVR-SYD even if R9 on that leg. Resolving that stupidity is the biggest enhancement of splitting the flights.
It wasn't all roses for those of us going e.g. YOW - YVR - SYD either. The shenanigans of having a separate upgrade list out of YVR but not knowing the number of J seats available because of upgrades of people going YYZ-SYD was rather unhelpful.

I'm very glad they are making AC33/34 just YVR/SYD.
Seat13F_AC_CRJ and Heffeh41 like this.
RatherBeInYOW is online now  
Old Sep 29, 19, 10:02 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: Bottom feeder Star Gold
Posts: 2,507
Originally Posted by Adam Smith
Because it pissed people off to find out that their "direct" flight, which many uninitiated people assumed was non-stop

Likely in no small part because Pearson airport has added Sydney to their list of destinations served, and the distinction between 'direct' and 'non stop' service is often confused, even by industry professionals. Following such logic, most large airports could claim service to all manner of places they don't actually fly to non-stop.
CZAMFlyer is online now  
Old Sep 29, 19, 10:45 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
Didn't they used to feed people on the domestic portion of this flight in Y, if they were continuing to SYD?

Or is It because the flights are so often delayed, people were missing the connecting flight and wondering wth, I was on the same flight number!
Yes they did, a free meal and snack from the on-board bistro.
can lynx is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 11:46 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YQB
Programs: AC SEMM
Posts: 508
Originally Posted by fin 645 View Post
It was one upgrade YYZ-SYD and if you missed it due heavy YVR bound upgrades, it was IMPOSSIBLE to upgrade YVR-SYD even if R9 on that leg. Resolving that stupidity is the biggest enhancement of splitting the flights.
I am assuming that if it is R9 for the YVR-SYD, waitlisted eupgrades would clear at the gate, right?

R&F
run&fly is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 12:03 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Programs: *G
Posts: 2,293
Originally Posted by run&fly View Post
I am assuming that if it is R9 for the YVR-SYD, waitlisted eupgrades would clear at the gate, right?

R&F
Yes, one would assume that, but you would have been waitlisted from YYZ, and that was it. Sorry, been there, done that-you could NOT be waitlisted ex YVR if originating in YYZ on 33.
fin 645 is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 12:35 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
AC has a new reservation system coming online in the fall. One of the things with the new system (at least to start) is that there will be no "thru" flights to make the system more easy to use, at least to start. You will see a big reduction in "thru-flights" in the interim, with them instead just having different flight numbers to make things easier for the system and agents.
pilot007 and YVR72 like this.
caddyshack is offline  
Old Sep 29, 19, 3:25 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 3,922
Wow, end of an era in many ways.

I am nostalgic for little things, so not getting on 33 in Toronto will be a change for me in November
lcohen999 is online now  
Old Sep 29, 19, 3:30 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YQB
Programs: AC SEMM
Posts: 508
Originally Posted by fin 645 View Post
Yes, one would assume that, but you would have been waitlisted from YYZ, and that was it. Sorry, been there, done that-you could NOT be waitlisted ex YVR if originating in YYZ on 33.
OK,I see. I usually do a YUL-YVR to catch AC33 at YVR, so this has not been a problem for me...
run&fly is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: