Hearing back from Customer Service?

Old Sep 18, 19, 5:27 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K/AA/AZ/LY
Hearing back from Customer Service?

Friends,

I was forced to pay an extra baggage fee that I was not supposed to pay, and then contacted Customer Service (using an online form) with a request for a refund and response.

I got the automated "We're working on it" email, but have not heard back from them yet. How long does it usually take? This is my first time contacting AC customer service.

Thanks!
Old Sep 18, 19, 5:37 am

Programs: AC*A
That email usually tells you how long, but given the summer season just finished, volumes will be high, so I’d plan for a month.
Old Sep 18, 19, 8:09 am

Programs: AC75K, Hertz 5*, Bonvoy Gold Elite
Originally Posted by ChrisA330 View Post
That email usually tells you how long, but given the summer season just finished, volumes will be high, so Iíd plan for a month.
Or never. They don't actually care. That's why there's no phone number.
Old Sep 18, 19, 8:50 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
My refund has been pending since Aug.5.
It still says open.

This is AC, you need to be patient, it will take months.
Old Sep 18, 19, 9:10 am

Programs: Altitude E35K
I have never submitted a request for baggage fees. For preferred seat refunds I usually hear back within a week or two.

I like to assume that people with higher status get priority, but I could be wrong.
Old Sep 18, 19, 9:20 am

Programs: UW*, UL*S
Also doing a baggage refund request right now. Submitted July 12, heard back on August 27. They messed something up in their response ("Air Canada will not refund you because we can't find proof you paid, send us a receipt"), so I'm submitting another.

It's pretty long
Old Sep 18, 19, 11:47 am

Programs: Nexus/GE, UA/MP 1K,Bonvoy Tit, LTG
Originally Posted by aaamr View Post
Or never. They don't actually care. That's why there's no phone number.