Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Aeroplan and Website Update for September 10, 2019

Aeroplan and Website Update for September 10, 2019

Old Sep 11, 19, 11:39 am
  #76  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 2,335
Originally Posted by Seat13F_AC_CRJ View Post
Same here. All seems to be working (can log in to aeroplan.com, ac.com, FP app, AC app) except the app cannot display my Altitude card!
Yup, just tried this too.

App appears to work okay but can't login (again) to get my altitude card. It also doesn't seem to have an SE indication on the home screen but maybe I misremember seeing that in the past.
Bohemian1 is online now  
Old Sep 11, 19, 12:01 pm
  #77  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: YXU
Programs: AC E50K, Aeroplan Diamond, CX Gold, AMEX Plat, Fairmont Plat, SPG Gold, NEXUS/GE
Posts: 417
I can only log in via safari. Chrome does not work.
cavitron is offline  
Old Sep 11, 19, 12:04 pm
  #78  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: YUL
Programs: Altitude E75K, Aeroplan Black, Bonvoy Titanium, Hiton Gold, UA MP Silver
Posts: 176


The Aeroplan app was updated yesterday but the AC app was last updated 2 weeks ago... I donít think it will work until itís updated.
monsieurcumulus is offline  
Old Sep 11, 19, 12:31 pm
  #79  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,575
I have doubts they're going to update the AC app. That thing needs to be trashed and rewritten.
Indiavictorcharlie likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Sep 11, 19, 4:18 pm
  #80  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,055
Still these annoying bugs on the website... like the the entry point into the FP wallet.
Why is the website such a turd's turd?
yyznomad is offline  
Old Sep 11, 19, 5:20 pm
  #81  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,453
Well I tried the app and told me I had to update. So I did, nice secure 10 character password but of course, no special characters still.

After resending the email as the first didnít actually let me activate I got in and it looks like the same rubbish as before. But with a slightly longer password permitted.
jc94 is offline  
Old Sep 11, 19, 6:50 pm
  #82  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: YYZ, MNL, WAW
Programs: AC SE100K (*G), SPG*Plat50, United Silver, Marriott Plat, Hyatt Explorist, Mlife Plat, Nexus/GE
Posts: 1,969
Originally Posted by jc94 View Post
Well I tried the app and told me I had to update. So I did, nice secure 10 character password but of course, no special characters still.

After resending the email as the first didnít actually let me activate I got in and it looks like the same rubbish as before. But with a slightly longer password permitted.
At least you got in. The stooopid website won't even let me in anymore.
CanRulez is offline  
Old Sep 12, 19, 12:03 am
  #83  
ecc
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: YFC
Programs: Air Canada/Aeroplan E50K, Mariott Gold Elite, Hotels.com Gold, Best Western Diamond Select,
Posts: 51
Originally Posted by CanRulez View Post
At least you got in. The stooopid website won't even let me in anymore.
Happened to me - I run various ad/tracker/privacy addons and it broke. Firing up a private window sans extensions/addons worked.l for me and let me in to go through the new onboarding process.
ecc is online now  
Old Sep 13, 19, 10:03 am
  #84  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 41
Tried to log in to Aeroplan website, and it emails me the verification code. However, it only gives me 10 seconds to enter it. Meanwhile, the email didn't arrive within that time, and when I finally retrieve the code to enter, the website just sits there and do nothing.

Does anyone else have any weird interaction with the updated website?
vn33 is offline  
Old Sep 13, 19, 10:12 am
  #85  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC, Marriott
Posts: 265
Originally Posted by vn33 View Post
Tried to log in to Aeroplan website, and it emails me the verification code. However, it only gives me 10 seconds to enter it. Meanwhile, the email didn't arrive within that time, and when I finally retrieve the code to enter, the website just sits there and do nothing.

Does anyone else have any weird interaction with the updated website?
I'm also getting the 10 second countdown. Sometimes the code works after the countdown, other times I have to have the code resent.
TechnoTourist is offline  
Old Sep 13, 19, 1:51 pm
  #86  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: YYZ, but wish I was in CGN
Programs: Anything and everything
Posts: 85
I can't get in on the website but the app let me in after the whole new security patch update and choosing a new (longer/better) password.

How long is the website going to keep us locked out?
wildace is offline  
Old Sep 13, 19, 3:08 pm
  #87  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K/*G, Nexus
Posts: 125
I phoned the Aeroplan/Air Canada/Altitude helpdesk today and the person who was supposed to help me couldn't do it. He walked me through all the steps twice as I did them and when it pooped out he just said "Huh" a lot.

I've been locked out of all 3 sites for 3 days now, and he said officially they've been told to say it will be fixed today... but unofficially he thinks it will be a few more days. When I asked how many he thought it would be, he said (exact quote) "who knows".

He told me to use the "I forgot my password" feature to start the whole process all over fresh. Interestingly, he told me NOT to use any special characters in my new password. So we went through the steps and it seemed to work fine until I got the verification email. When I clicked its link, I got a popup saying the link was expired (this was seconds after it was sent). That was the first "Huh" from him. I told him it gave me an option to have a second verification email sent, he said "Oh good, click on that." I clicked on it and we waited....and waited...and waited...and no second verification email came. That brought the second "Huh". And an "I'll have to report that to the support team."

Then he made me repeat the whole thing in a different browser. When the results were the same, it brought a third "Huh".

Also interestingly, he seemed to expect me to see different things than what I was really seeing. For example, when I click on the orange Aeroplan "Login" box, it turns white with grey diagonal progress bars moving through it. He thought it shouldn't do that.

Huh.
kenlor is offline  
Old Sep 15, 19, 9:17 am
  #88  
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Programs: Altitude 100K Super Elite; AC Million Miles; BonFire Titanic Elite
Posts: 317
Aeroplan / Altitude log-in

Delete

Last edited by Mustang Sally; Sep 15, 19 at 10:11 am
Mustang Sally is offline  
Old Sep 15, 19, 9:25 am
  #89  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Programs: Aeroplan E75K, Accor Platinum, BW Diamond
Posts: 121
There dis a large thread about it and changes that occured Sept 10.

Check your junk folder often the confirmation emails get there.
theBeachBoy is offline  
Old Sep 16, 19, 4:47 am
  #90  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Programs: SPG Gold
Posts: 4,602
clearly this is what we get from "Monopoly" market, and Canada in general - no test, no QA on any IT changes LOL
jerryhung is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread