Question: AC itinerary change

Old Aug 4, 19, 9:07 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. John's (YYT)
Programs: AC P25K, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, UA Mileage Plus
Posts: 277
AC itinerary change

So I am due to fly YZR-YYZ-YOW-YYT on August 26th originally scheduled to leave YZR at 5 pm in the evening. I got an email about an itinerary change the other day, it now says I am leaving at 9:10 am. I will now have to sit in Toronto airport for the entire day as my flight doesn't depart for Ottawa until 7pm.

Can I call AC and request to be changed to an earlier connection through YHZ? Or something similar. If it makes any difference, I am booked in a comfort fare.
codfather is online now  
Old Aug 4, 19, 9:10 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: sqrt(-united states of apologist)
Programs: sqrt(-school of apologist)
Posts: 5,206
If you went from leaving at 1700 to leaving at 0900, you can change to anything you want that day.

Just make sure that you already know what you want before you call if what you want is a good experience.
canadiancow likes this.
SparseFlyer is offline  
Old Aug 4, 19, 9:15 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: YEG
Programs: AC SE, Hertz 5*, Avis P+, Acc Plat, HY Exp, HH Gold, BonV Titanium
Posts: 3,562
Unless you’re going for segments simply request YZR-YYZ-YYT. No sense asking for a connection via another city just because your original itinerary had one.
canadiancow likes this.
YEG USER is offline  
Old Aug 4, 19, 10:06 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,199
Since Comfort fares come with a free drink, I would suggest adding segments!
canadiancow and unclepants like this.
tracon is offline  
Old Aug 4, 19, 10:09 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,950
Originally Posted by tracon View Post
Since Comfort fares come with a free drink, I would suggest adding segments!
You beat me to it! 😂
codfather likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 5, 19, 6:17 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. John's (YYT)
Programs: AC P25K, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, UA Mileage Plus
Posts: 277
Originally Posted by YEG USER View Post
Unless you’re going for segments simply request YZR-YYZ-YYT. No sense asking for a connection via another city just because your original itinerary had one.
Going for the segment run, so this is an opportunity to add segments. Hahahaha.
codfather is online now  
Old Aug 5, 19, 8:12 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: YYJ
Programs: AC E50K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 506
Since you're on a comfort fare, try to do something like YZR-YYZ-YYC-YVR-YUL-YOW-YHZ-YYT for maximum miles/segments/BVRGs
marke190 is online now  
Old Aug 5, 19, 9:01 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,950
The routing rules permit YZR-YTO-YOW-YMQ-YHZ-YYT, so if it's a segment run, I'd just push for that.
codfather likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 5, 19, 9:04 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. John's (YYT)
Programs: AC P25K, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, UA Mileage Plus
Posts: 277
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
The routing rules permit YZR-YTO-YOW-YMQ-YHZ-YYT, so if it's a segment run, I'd just push for that.
Just got off the phone, the agent was pushing me to take YZR-YYZ-YYT. I really pushed for the routing I wanted, she ended up letting me go YZR-YYZ-YUL-YOW-YHZ-YYT.

Pretty happy with that!
marke190 and canadiancow like this.
codfather is online now  
Old Aug 5, 19, 10:38 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: sqrt(-united states of apologist)
Programs: sqrt(-school of apologist)
Posts: 5,206
Originally Posted by codfather View Post
Just got off the phone, the agent was pushing me to take YZR-YYZ-YYT. I really pushed for the routing I wanted, she ended up letting me go YZR-YYZ-YUL-YOW-YHZ-YYT.

Pretty happy with that!

That's not a valid routing lol
canadiancow likes this.
SparseFlyer is offline  
Old Aug 5, 19, 11:09 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: YYZ most of the time
Programs: AC SE100K MM, UA*1K, Princess Elite
Posts: 3,798
Originally Posted by SparseFlyer View Post
That's not a valid routing lol
I agree (based on first looks). If YOW and YUL were switched, then it would be.
canadiancow likes this.
yyz_atc_qq is offline  
Old Aug 5, 19, 11:14 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: sqrt(-united states of apologist)
Programs: sqrt(-school of apologist)
Posts: 5,206
This is usually why we shouldn't wish for more competent agents... we need to wish for more malleable agents 🤣
SparseFlyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread