Dual Boarding (?)

Old Aug 1, 19, 6:13 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 3,835
Dual Boarding (?)

Spending time as I do in Australia, both VA and QF load from both the front and back of the aircraft

Obviously anecdotal but it seems to be a faster way to board and de-board the aircraft.

Any particular reason that does not happen up here with AC, or this is ever discussed ?

Thoughts ?
lcohen999 is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 6:16 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Bonvoy LTE
Posts: 1,614
Originally Posted by lcohen999 View Post
Spending time as I do in Australia, both VA and QF load from both the front and back of the aircraft

Obviously anecdotal but it seems to be a faster way to board and de-board the aircraft.

Any particular reason that does not happen up here with AC, or this is ever discussed ?

Thoughts ?
It happens at YYJ for the Q400s... AC Express uses both doors for boarding and deplaning most of the time.
marke190 likes this.
Jebby_ca is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 6:25 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,543
I took a few NZ flights recently, and if they used a bridge, it was single-door. If they used stairs, it was both.

I don't think I've ever boarded a mainline or rouge flight with stairs (yes, I know it happens at some airports). That's probably why.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 1, 19, 6:26 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 3,835
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
I took a few NZ flights recently, and if they used a bridge, it was single-door. If they used stairs, it was both.

I don't think I've ever boarded a mainline or rouge flight with stairs (yes, I know it happens at some airports). That's probably why.
AKL domestic has dual boarding from the bridge. Make a right, down the stairs out and to the back. Although I agree I see it less there than on QF/VA which is every (domestic) flight
canadiancow likes this.
lcohen999 is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 6:30 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: EXT, sometimes NYC/LON/YQT
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG/Marriott, Radisson Rewards
Posts: 563
Originally Posted by Jebby_ca View Post
It happens at YYJ for the Q400s... AC Express uses both doors for boarding and deplaning most of the time.
In YYJ but not YYZ it seems. I don't think I have ever seen a Q400 at the D1-12 gates be boarded any way but via the front stairs.
Plumber likes this.
D404 is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 7:15 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: YOW
Programs: AC-SE100K, AC-2MM, Marriott- LT Titanium, SPG RIP
Posts: 2,388
Originally Posted by D404 View Post
In YYJ but not YYZ it seems. I don't think I have ever seen a Q400 at the D1-12 gates be boarded any way but via the front stairs.
Ditto. I have never seen any AC plane boarded from the front AND back.

But then again, I have never been to YYJ.
Plumber is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 7:36 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Body in YYZ, heart in YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,139
Originally Posted by lcohen999 View Post
Spending time as I do in Australia, both VA and QF load from both the front and back of the aircraft

Obviously anecdotal but it seems to be a faster way to board and de-board the aircraft.

Any particular reason that does not happen up here with AC, or this is ever discussed ?

Thoughts ?
Westjet uses nice sloping ramps at the front and back all the time at YYG - they're great, since you can wheel your rollaboard down them. AC has old-style stairs .... not only less convenient than the ramp, but I've never seen them use them at the back doors in spite of ample opportunity.

When I've been boarded / deplaned from rouge flights at YYZ hard stands , they only ever used one set of stairs at the front.

Boarding / deplaning WS flights at YHM, they use stairs front and back. It's much faster in both cases.

I don't know why AC doesn't use the back doors, especially on rouge flights where the FAs basically do nothing to assist the boarding process anyway.
Symmetre is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 7:39 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: YYJ
Programs: AC E50K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 497
Originally Posted by D404 View Post
In YYJ but not YYZ it seems. I don't think I have ever seen a Q400 at the D1-12 gates be boarded any way but via the front stairs.
I always find it frustrating that it's SOP in YYJ but 12 minutes later in YVR it's pretty much unheard of.
D404 likes this.
marke190 is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 7:45 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,543
I suppose it requires at least one extra person on the ground, which costs money. But if it could speed up the process and either improve OTP or allow shorter turns, it might be worth it.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 1, 19, 8:17 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YXU
Programs: AC Tangerine FTTC
Posts: 579
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post

I don't know why AC doesn't use the back doors, especially on rouge flights where the FAs basically do nothing to assist the boarding process anyway.
I've seen AC using the back door at several airports. PUJ, AZS, HOG comes to mind.
WildcatYXU is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 5:27 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: QR, AC, EVA, UL and PAL
Posts: 430
Don't they have to pay for using the bridge or the steps?
dav662 is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 5:53 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 1,256
AC will use both doors at FRA when boarding at a remote stand. I flew FRA-YOW twice last year and the rear door was used both times.
5mm likes this.
172pilot is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 11:02 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Ottawa, Canada.
Programs: AC*SE 1MM, Marriott*Plutonium Lifetime, other stuff
Posts: 458
And not quite the same thing but in Frankfurt they normally board the 777 with 2 jetways.
Travellin_man is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 11:28 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Glen Abbey
Posts: 624
I noticed on my mini-RTW earlier this year that in Asia there were plenty of airports with 1 jetway and 2 bridges: left one for the Business / First crowd, the right one for the rabble. TPE, SIN, HKG, etc.
hazcaddy is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 2:05 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Vancouver
Programs: Aeroplan, Mileage Plus, SPG Gold, AMEX Plat
Posts: 1,318
Originally Posted by marke190 View Post
I always find it frustrating that it's SOP in YYJ but 12 minutes later in YVR it's pretty much unheard of.
Maybe I am thinking of Alaska, but I believe they use both front and rear when boarding the Q400 heading to Seattle or Portland.
marke190 likes this.
Fiordland is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread