Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Aeroplan cannot attach two segments because EVA will not let them

Aeroplan cannot attach two segments because EVA will not let them

Old Jun 8, 19, 11:57 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: YYZ
Posts: 21
Aeroplan cannot attach two segments because EVA will not let them

Hope everyone is having a great weekend. I Have YYZ-TPE-DPS currently booked in the future, and have been trying to move up the date of the flight. Space opened up sometime last night on BR from YYZ-TPE in J on the 12th and TPE-DPS is still only available in Y on the 13th. I called Aeroplan and told them I would like to change to these flights, and they said that they cannot connect these two segments (YYZ-TPE and YYZ-DPS to make YYZ-TPE-DPS) because EVA will not let them.

When I try booking YYZ-DPS on AP with mixed cabin on the 12th, when I get to the final booking page, it says something along the line of seat no longer available due to real time availability. I would hate to have to have to redeem on YYZ-TPE and then spend another 20k miles separately from TPE-DPS in Y. Anyone know what the issue here is? Thanks in advance!
shayaanl is offline  
Old Jun 8, 19, 12:12 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: YYC, Canada
Programs: Former AC*E, WorldPerks, Air Miles
Posts: 1,707
Originally Posted by shayaanl View Post
When I try booking YYZ-DPS on AP with mixed cabin on the 12th, when I get to the final booking page, it says something along the line of seat no longer available due to real time availability. I would hate to have to have to redeem on YYZ-TPE and then spend another 20k miles separately from TPE-DPS in Y. Anyone know what the issue here is? Thanks in advance!
Likely means phantom space and YYZ-DPS not actually available if you're getting "real time availability" issue.
YXUFlyboy is offline  
Old Jun 8, 19, 12:15 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: YYZ
Posts: 21
Originally Posted by YXUFlyboy View Post
Likely means phantom space and YYZ-DPS not actually available if you're getting "real time availability" issue.
That's what I initially thought but thing is both YYZ-TPE and TPE-DPS are available separately and I am able to get to the final page where credit card info needs to be inputted for both those routes. I just need AP to put YYZ-TPE and TPE-DPS together into one mixed cabin itinerary.
shayaanl is offline  
Old Jun 8, 19, 1:56 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K MM
Posts: 575
My TA had trouble getting a connection on BR from TPE on a paid J ticket. Last step and it comes back as not bookable.

Since this is paid, I did a separate booking for the last segment. But I prefer everything on one ticket number.
Cozmo456 is offline  
Old Jun 8, 19, 7:26 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: Non-status paid F/J (best value for $$$)
Posts: 3,968
The joys of married segment logic!

Most airlines nowadays determine availability by O&D (Origin and Destination). They used to do it to cash paid inventory and now it's been expanded to award redemption inventory as well.
daniellam is offline  
Old Jun 8, 19, 8:07 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: YYZ
Posts: 21
Originally Posted by daniellam View Post
The joys of married segment logic!

Most airlines nowadays determine availability by O&D (Origin and Destination). They used to do it to cash paid inventory and now it's been expanded to award redemption inventory as well.
But isn't this the opposite of married segments since they are both seperate bookings and I want to attach it together. Wouldn't married segment availability for example mean YYZ-TPE-DPS is available but say you only want to book TPE-DPS.
shayaanl is offline  
Old Jun 8, 19, 9:27 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: QR Silver, AC, EVA Gold, UL silver and PAL. IHG Gold
Posts: 979
It could be an award ticket issue. Not all seats are available as award tickets though they have seats available. Is this the issue?
dav662 is offline  
Old Jun 9, 19, 6:12 pm
  #8  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor/Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 10,398
Originally Posted by shayaanl View Post
But isn't this the opposite of married segments since they are both seperate bookings and I want to attach it together. Wouldn't married segment availability for example mean YYZ-TPE-DPS is available but say you only want to book TPE-DPS.
Married segments can bite you multiple ways. Either your itinerary can be available individually but not on married segments (in this case, that would mean both YYZ-TPE and TPE-DPS available, but not YYZ-TPE-DPS), or it could be available when married but not individually (in this case, YYZ-TPE-DPS available, YYZ-TPE and TPE-DPS not).
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Jun 9, 19, 6:29 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: YYZ
Posts: 21
Good news on my end! Finally got to a competent agent who was able to fix this for me. What she did was change my YYZ-TPE-DPS itinerary to economy on June 12th, then she upgraded the YYZ-TPE segment to business. Thanks for everyone's help and feedback!
expert7700 likes this.
shayaanl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: