Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Question: Contract Lounge KEF Airport

Question: Contract Lounge KEF Airport

Reply

Old Jun 6, 19, 4:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CEB - primary/YVR -secondary
Programs: AC*Super Elite (100K) / PR*Elite / AY*Platinum (OWE) / SPG*Bonvoy Ambassador (LTT)
Posts: 1,754
Contract Lounge KEF Airport

Does anyone know if AC has a contract lounge in KEF Airport? Thanks!
supatight80 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 5:51 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: トロント
Programs: AC E50K, Flying Blue, Accor Gold, ANA, Avios
Posts: 4,212
Star Alliance Lounge finder says Saga Lounge has access for *A status holders.. Have not been there so cannot comment further.
mapleg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 7:59 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CEB - primary/YVR -secondary
Programs: AC*Super Elite (100K) / PR*Elite / AY*Platinum (OWE) / SPG*Bonvoy Ambassador (LTT)
Posts: 1,754
Originally Posted by mapleg View Post
Star Alliance Lounge finder says Saga Lounge has access for *A status holders.. Have not been there so cannot comment further.
Oh ok. When i searched it earlier, it said only for lufthansa and united. not too sure if AC is include.

Was hoping if someone here has real life experience in KEF
supatight80 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 11:19 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,406
Originally Posted by supatight80 View Post
Oh ok. When i searched it earlier, it said only for lufthansa and united. not too sure if AC is include.

Was hoping if someone here has real life experience in KEF
On the lounge? It's limited. Unfortunately didn't take photos. Had a variety of snacks, was clean and quiet - think UC club offerings but much quieter, cleaner and looked nice. This was 5 years ago however.
However, I was not flying *A so can't comment on access requirements. I would ask AC via social media, but even if they say yes YMMW on actually getting in.
jc94 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 1:31 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Programs: ua mm, starriott LTPP, ihg plat, hh gold.
Posts: 12,799
OP, if you do get more info on *A access, please post. i'm flying through there in a few months as well and am curious.
karenkay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 1:48 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 28,594
Is KEF served by J, or just PY?

Does AC contract lounge access at any airports that don't have AC J?
canadiancow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 3:15 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,103
Premium Rouge at the moment.
tracon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 3:21 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago
Programs: UA 1MM Premier Gold
Posts: 74
The lounge is, I believe, remodeled/expanded in the last couple of years. I spent a couple of hours there in April before a LH flight to Frankfurt. In
the late morning, the lounge was virtually empty, and there was a nice selection of food and drink. Definitely enough to make a meal of it, which is a
money saver in Iceland. The lounge is huge and has great views.

It's located in the Schengen part of the airport, so if you are on an international flight you'll have to allow extra time to go through passport control,
which is located almost directly across from the lounge.

As for access, I was *G flying on LH, and I believe they let me in with a boarding pass scan, which was interesting, since the Saga Lounge entry
criteria on their website does not specify access for *G per se. I think the question of whether AC has a contract with them is the right one. You
can always stop in on your inbound and check with them to be sure.
shoeflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 3:33 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 27,859
Originally Posted by shoeflyer View Post
As for access, I was *G flying on LH, and I believe they let me in with a boarding pass scan, which was interesting, since the Saga Lounge entry
criteria on their website does not specify access for *G per se. I think the question of whether AC has a contract with them is the right one. You
can always stop in on your inbound and check with them to be sure.
Were you Y *G or C *G?
yyznomad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 4:04 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,406
Great point about location. I left real late and almost missed my flight because immigration got on a mood about why I was flying (one way) to Canada.

If there had been a queue... So leave some time to clear immigration and get to the gate.
jc94 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 4:53 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CEB - primary/YVR -secondary
Programs: AC*Super Elite (100K) / PR*Elite / AY*Platinum (OWE) / SPG*Bonvoy Ambassador (LTT)
Posts: 1,754
will do. departing from KEF this weekend
karenkay likes this.
supatight80 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 19, 5:30 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 143
Many moons ago I visited Saga Lounge on SAS J-ticket so I imagine you'll have no issue
Make sure you try the reindeer meat (if still available !)
WhisperjetYYZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 2:02 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CEB - primary/YVR -secondary
Programs: AC*Super Elite (100K) / PR*Elite / AY*Platinum (OWE) / SPG*Bonvoy Ambassador (LTT)
Posts: 1,754
KEF Airport Lounge - NO go with AC

Nope. no go with AC, regardless of what status you have. I guess coz there is no J cabin. only PY or Y
supatight80 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 3:17 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: HNL
Programs: Pt: UA; Au: AA, Marriott, Hilton; Ex-HA Pt (now not), GE
Posts: 5,108
Originally Posted by shoeflyer View Post
You can always stop in on your inbound and check with them to be sure.
I assume this is only true for arrivals from Schengen countries?
747FC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 4:52 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago
Programs: UA 1MM Premier Gold
Posts: 74
it was Schengen, but I think the portal for clearing immigration is both inbound and outbound,
so you would be right next to the lounge after you clear. Since I came in Schengen, not 100%
sure.

yyznomad's question: I was Y*G, perhaps less of a question now that OP has confirmed no AC
access at all...
shoeflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread