YYZ Airside Bus

Reply

Old May 15, 19, 5:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Body in YYZ, heart in YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,076
YYZ Airside Bus

Last couple of YYZ-YYG trips have all involved a bus out to the tarmac at YYZ. Is this ACís latest cost-cutting strategy - protect Calinís Bonus by being too cheap to pay for a gate? Since there are gates available as I await my bus, I have to ask why weíre increasingly being given the FRA treatment.
Symmetre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 5:26 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: EXT, sometimes NYC/LON/YQT
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG/Marriott, Radisson Rewards
Posts: 553
Those 'free' gates could be allocated already, though.

Could this be related to thr increase in Rouge routes? A bunch of routes that previously used the D1-12 "gates" now need actual gates as a result.
D404 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 6:05 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Vancouver
Programs: Aeroplan, Mileage Plus, SPG Gold, AMEX Plat
Posts: 1,107
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post
Last couple of YYZ-YYG trips have all involved a bus out to the tarmac at YYZ. Is this ACís latest cost-cutting strategy - protect Calinís Bonus by being too cheap to pay for a gate? Since there are gates available as I await my bus, I have to ask why weíre increasingly being given the FRA treatment.
Both YYZ and YVR are running out of gate space and using remote stands.

YVR has an expansion of international gate area (and yes it includes a small forest in a weird glassed in area). I think they may also be getting ready to build a new pier for trans-boarder as an expansion.

YYZ has renderings for some complex and expesnsive expansion that involves removing and replacing existing roads and buildings. Some day they may have money to stat the project. Until then we should all be buying stock in airport buss companies.
Fiordland is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 6:18 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Body in YYZ, heart in YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,076
Originally Posted by D404 View Post
A bunch of routes that previously used the D1-12 "gates" now need actual gates as a result.
I actually thought the opposite - by reducing frequency on some routes and consolidating pax onto larger rouge aircraft, that should free up some gate space. Evidently not.

LOL ... another late departure too, by the looks of it. Supposed to have departed now and still havenít even boarded the bus. 14 segments on AC so far this year, and only four on-time departures.

AC ... Always Chaotic
Symmetre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 11:28 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,279
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post
I actually thought the opposite - by reducing frequency on some routes and consolidating pax onto larger rouge aircraft, that should free up some gate space. Evidently not.

LOL ... another late departure too, by the looks of it. Supposed to have departed now and still havenít even boarded the bus. 14 segments on AC so far this year, and only four on-time departures.

AC ... Always Chaotic
How many of your 14 segments arrived on time?

Is FRA known for buses? I've never had a bus there, not that I go through there much. And I'd rather have a bus in some cases vs a 45 minute taxi - though mainly for deplaning rather than boarding.

I assume turn-around time has an impact. If the plan is to get to the gate, deplane and re-board in 20 minutes (clearly I'm not talking about AC here but other airlines can board a plane in narrow body 20 minutes) a gate makes more sense vs if the outbound flight is not due to even board for 4-5 hours having it take up a gate may not be practical.
jc94 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 11:36 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 27,268
Originally Posted by jc94 View Post
How many of your 14 segments arrived on time?

Is FRA known for buses? I've never had a bus there, not that I go through there much.
Yes, for a majority of Schengen and other Euro non-Schengen flights.
COBUS 3000 is king at FRA and princes at many other European airports.
yyznomad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 11:59 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: YQF
Programs: AC- SE100 1MM, HH Diamond, Avis Preferred, Nexus/GE
Posts: 3,449
COBUS 3000 I could not remember the name of those buses. Yup FRA, MUC, LIS most of European airports are remote gates with bus access.

I see the expansion at YVR and I agree that YVR needs a larger transborder pier, especially for the smaller planes as that is a long walk of shame going down to those few gates
HerpaYvr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 12:10 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 2,049
While I detest bus gates, which often negate the advantages (yes, to me) of zoned boarding and being amongst the first off the plane, there was one little thing I saw in SEA last week that I liked.

They had giant monitors on the side of the buses with the flight number and destination on them. I'm guessing this cuts down on confusion when multiple buses pull up for boarding.
Bohemian1 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 12:26 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: EXT, sometimes NYC/LON/YQT
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG/Marriott, Radisson Rewards
Posts: 553
Originally Posted by Bohemian1 View Post
They had giant monitors on the side of the buses with the flight number and destination on them. I'm guessing this cuts down on confusion when multiple buses pull up for boarding.
I've seen this in AMS as well.
Symmetre likes this.
D404 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 1:47 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Body in YYZ, heart in YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,076
Zoned boarding does take a hit ... youíre first on the bus ... and last off the bus. At least I got bus no. 1, which is, I suppose, some sort of acknowledgement of my DYKWIA Joe Kickass status ní stuff.
Symmetre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 1:56 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: YEG
Programs: AC SE, Hertz 5*, Avis P+, Acc Plat, HY Exp, HH Gold, BonV Titanium
Posts: 3,493
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post
Joe Kickass
Haven't heard that one in a while.
YEG USER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 3:25 pm
  #12  
Carlson Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YTZ
Programs: Avis PC; National EE; SPG & Hilton Gold; AC Tangerine
Posts: 5,825
LX at ZRH and GVA as well as SU in SVO (as two examples I have flown recently) do the bus position arrival well for those in J. Separate bus that departs as soon as the J passengers are loaded.
briantoronto is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 3:26 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AC SE*100K
Posts: 958
Originally Posted by yyznomad View Post
Yes, for a majority of Schengen and other Euro non-Schengen flights.
COBUS 3000 is king at FRA and princes at many other European airports.
And for AC flights in FRA sometimes too ... including frequently 838/839 to/from YOW in my past experience. And a lot at CDG lately for AC too since they are down a few gates in 2A because of construction...

At least FRA knows how to do busses efficiently. I can only imagine how AC & YYZ handle it *shudder*

Last edited by RatherBeInYOW; May 15, 19 at 3:50 pm
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 19, 5:15 am
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Body in YYZ, heart in YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,076
You donít want to know!
Symmetre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 19, 9:04 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: EXT, sometimes NYC/LON/YQT
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG/Marriott, Radisson Rewards
Posts: 553
For one, YYZ's busses don't seem to have any air con. Either that or they don't turn it on.
canadiancow likes this.
D404 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread