Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Ontario man loses 370,000 Aeroplan miles saved for retirement

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Ontario man loses 370,000 Aeroplan miles saved for retirement

Search this Thread

Old May 10, 2019, 1:50 pm

Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Originally Posted by pitz
"legally"? I'm not a lawyer, but this is the first I've heard of any such 'requirement'. Sure, they have to report such points as a liability when they do their financials, and lenders/investors may view such liability (even though theoretically de-valuable on demand) as being negative for the potential return on their investment in debt or equity securities issued, but I'm not aware of any legislation that requires holding cash reserves against an unsecured liability that effectively can be cancelled at will.
Yup, the cash reserve is a regulatory requirement under federal law.

Last edited by tcook052; May 10, 2019 at 2:23 pm Reason: Off topic posting
Old May 10, 2019, 6:04 pm

Programs: IHG Gold
Man in question has only 370k miles, yet claims flown over 1 million miles. Pretty poor earning rare considering he was saving them up for retirement.

Hope his other retirement investments are handled in a more professional manner.
Old May 10, 2019, 6:58 pm

Programs: BA bronze, Aeroplan peon
Originally Posted by mapleg
Man in question has only 370k miles, yet claims flown over 1 million miles. Pretty poor earning rare considering he was saving them up for retirement.

Hope his other retirement investments are handled in a more professional manner.
I could get more miles filling my car at Esso than from a YYC-YYZ flight.

I'd argue that it's a much better use of money to buy the lowest price Y airfare that gets you where you're going and invent the cash, than to buy expensive Y airfares that give more miles for the possibility of redemption later.
Old May 10, 2019, 7:16 pm
5mm