SDC Circular Routing

Old Feb 22, 19, 7:28 am
  #1  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: Air Canada Super Elite 2+ Million Miles
Posts: 2,479
SDC Circular Routing

delete

Last edited by skybluesea; Dec 23, 20 at 9:23 pm
skybluesea is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 7:36 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: YYT/YYC/TPE
Programs: AC SE, UA, National Exec Elite, Nexus, GE
Posts: 1,791
If it's not allowed in the YVR-HKG fare routing rules (YVR-YYZ-HKG is not allowed) and there are no severe weather advisory or IRROPS, your chances of doing this is non-existent, unless you want to pay extra (because it will most likely be send to ticketing/rates desk for validation).
skybluesea likes this.
YYT82 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 10:24 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,952
Originally Posted by YYT82 View Post
If it's not allowed in the YVR-HKG fare routing rules (YVR-YYZ-HKG is not allowed) and there are no severe weather advisory or IRROPS, your chances of doing this is non-existent, unless you want to pay extra (because it will most likely be send to ticketing/rates desk for validation).
It's an SDC, not a reissue of the ticket.

Some more extreme examples I've seen done:
YYZ-YVR -> YYZ-SFO-YVR
YVR-SFO -> YVR-YYZ-SFO
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 22, 19, 2:57 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: YYJ
Programs: AC E50K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 648
I recently tried to do a SDC from YVR-HKG to YVR-YYZ-HKG to no avail; the multiple agents whom I asked said that it was not a permitted routing so a reissue of the ticket would be required.
marke190 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 3:03 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: YEG
Posts: 176
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
It's an SDC, not a reissue of the ticket.

Some more extreme examples I've seen done:
YYZ-YVR -> YYZ-SFO-YVR
YVR-SFO -> YVR-YYZ-SFO
How did AC allow YYZ-SFO-YVR?
splicer100 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 3:25 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,952
Originally Posted by splicer100 View Post
How did AC allow YYZ-SFO-YVR?
A lot of people seem to confuse "what's permitted" with "what's easy to get someone to do".

In DCS, there is a lot of flexibility, because airport agents are generally working to get people and planes moving as quickly as possible. You're booked YYZ-YVR in K, but want to fly YYZ-HKG in J? That can be done. It will be audited, but it can be done.

YYZ-SFO-YVR adds 47% to the mileage, so it's not even in the category of "ridiculous".

And I'm not even convinced it's not permitted.

I've had trouble SDCing SFO-YYZ to SFO-YVR-YYZ, and that's a valid routing. Adding segments is hard. That's the only roadblock I would expect someone to regularly encounter for these types of situations.
splicer100 likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 22, 19, 3:30 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: YYT/YYC/TPE
Programs: AC SE, UA, National Exec Elite, Nexus, GE
Posts: 1,791
Originally Posted by marke190 View Post
I recently tried to do a SDC from YVR-HKG to YVR-YYZ-HKG to no avail; the multiple agents whom I asked said that it was not a permitted routing so a reissue of the ticket would be required.
Thank you for confirming, that's my experience as well. Unless IRROPS or travel advisories are involved, the original fare routing rules dictates the SDC routing. YYZ-HKG to YYZ-YEG/YYC/YWG-YVR-HKG is fine, but YVR-HKG to YVR-YYZ-HKG is not.
marke190 likes this.
YYT82 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: