Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Aeroplan issues with award redemption on partner airlines

Aeroplan issues with award redemption on partner airlines

Old Dec 12, 18, 7:30 am
  #211  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YXU
Programs: AC P25K
Posts: 660
It looks like we can add UA to the "unbookable" airlines. I found some availability from EWR and IAD to Europe for early summer in what looks like F*. But when I tried a mock booking, the Aeroplan web site refused to book it.

*It was called Premium Economy, but the fare class was O and the necessary mileage was on F level
WildcatYXU is offline  
Old Dec 12, 18, 4:25 pm
  #212  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,703
Originally Posted by WildcatYXU View Post
It looks like we can add UA to the "unbookable" airlines. I found some availability from EWR and IAD to Europe for early summer in what looks like F*. But when I tried a mock booking, the Aeroplan web site refused to book it.

*It was called Premium Economy, but the fare class was O and the necessary mileage was on F level
UA got rid of F and made O PY, similar to AC.

This issue on the Aeroplan site is known and has been discussed. This is not F space, and you should not be able to book it through Aeroplan. The only bug is that it's showing up at all.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Dec 13, 18, 9:14 am
  #213  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YXU
Programs: AC P25K
Posts: 660
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
UA got rid of F and made O PY, similar to AC.

This issue on the Aeroplan site is known and has been discussed. This is not F space, and you should not be able to book it through Aeroplan. The only bug is that it's showing up at all.
I missed that discussion. Thanks for the info.
WildcatYXU is offline  
Old Dec 15, 18, 6:26 pm
  #214  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Expl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,536
Originally Posted by abbymtl View Post
It seems TAP awards aren't bookable either, anyone else having issues?
Yep. Just tried a few times today with a few different TAP routes. Aeroplan site showed availability, but couldn't complete booking on the site and over the phone.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 2:56 pm
  #215  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: BA - Blue > Bronze > Silver > Bronze > Blue
Posts: 6,629
I can see LX award availability on UA that is not available on Aeroplan (BOS-ZRH)

Anyone know now why this may be? Interestingly there is an earlier LX flight available on both site but the later one only on UA
Cap'n Benj is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 3:09 pm
  #216  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 17,707
Originally Posted by Cap'n Benj View Post
I can see LX award availability on UA that is not available on Aeroplan (BOS-ZRH)

Anyone know now why this may be? Interestingly there is an earlier LX flight available on both site but the later one only on UA


Somewhere in this thread and elsewhere, are other posts asking the same about partner availability.

Short answer: the airlines do not release the same offerings to all *A partners. There are posts asking why UA and NH have awards that don't show on Aeroplan. On the SQ forum and NH forum, there are questions why awards don't match UA etc,

In your case it is about an earlier flight, in other examples, it is about partners and routes that don't show on Aeroplan.

Also, did you call Aeroplan and ask an agent if they see the space?
Cap'n Benj likes this.
24left is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 3:26 pm
  #217  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: BA - Blue > Bronze > Silver > Bronze > Blue
Posts: 6,629
Originally Posted by 24left View Post
Also, did you call Aeroplan and ask an agent if they see the space?
Nope, Iím very much an Aeroplan noob and this was the kind of thing I was hoping to find out.

Is it common for them to be able to see things on their systems that are not on line?
Cap'n Benj is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 6:48 pm
  #218  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 28,453
Originally Posted by Cap'n Benj View Post

Is it common for them to be able to see things on their systems that are not on line?

No.
All programs have similar issues. not just Aeroplan. Happens all the time with AA on Finnair availability for example.
It does not hurt to make a call to find out what the agent sees.
Happy is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 11:09 am
  #219  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,744
I think Aeroplan is not showing UA and NH availability properly, at least for some dates.
I tried searching for UA and NH biz/first class award space, but the Aeroplan website did not return any availability when I can see award space being available on other *A websites (UA, NH, AV, etc)
Even Expertflyer is saying there is positive award space at the saver level for UA and NH flights in biz/first class, but Aeroplan just doesn't display any.
Is anyone else having issues with UA and NH awards via Aeroplan?
I thought this was fixed some time ago but maybe not?

Last edited by agjil; Jan 23, 19 at 12:48 pm Reason: typo
agjil is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 7:19 pm
  #220  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,703
Originally Posted by agjil View Post
I think Aeroplan is not showing UA and NH availability properly, at least for some dates.
I tried searching for UA and NH biz/first class award space, but the Aeroplan website did not return any availability when I can see award space being available on other *A websites (UA, NH, AV, etc)
Even Expertflyer is saying there is positive award space at the saver level for UA and NH flights in biz/first class, but Aeroplan just doesn't display any.
Is anyone else having issues with UA and NH awards via Aeroplan?
I thought this was fixed some time ago but maybe not?
I booked UA I class 10 days ago.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 5, 19, 11:05 am
  #221  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: YYC
Programs: Aeroplan SE 100 IHG Plat Amb Nexus
Posts: 468
LOT not bookable on Aeroplan

I've been trying to book a flight on LOT from BUD to WAW but only Austrian with a connection is available and timing doesn't quite work. Called Aeroplan, apparently no bookings work in LOT as after booking they were being cancelled by LOT. No expected resolution date. Was advised to just book a revenue ticket.
folkart is offline  
Old Feb 5, 19, 11:46 am
  #222  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 21,642
Dont hold your breath, last time it took months to fix.
rankourabu is offline  
Old Feb 6, 19, 2:27 pm
  #223  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Programs: aeroplan
Posts: 2
Unhappy Turkish Airlines not available

Any one else having issues with finding a TK flight? Last week I could find plenty of them from ORD and JFK to IST in August. Since yesterday I can't find any.
YVRFLY is offline  
Old Feb 6, 19, 2:29 pm
  #224  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 31,186
Originally Posted by folkart View Post
I've been trying to book a flight on LOT from BUD to WAW but only Austrian with a connection is available and timing doesn't quite work. Called Aeroplan, apparently no bookings work in LOT as after booking they were being cancelled by LOT. No expected resolution date. Was advised to just book a revenue ticket.
Originally Posted by YVRFLY View Post
Any one else having issues with finding a TK flight? Last week I could find plenty of them from ORD and JFK to IST in August. Since yesterday I can't find any.
I can't remember if it was this thread (because I thought I had posted here but I guess I didn't!) or another thread, but I posted somewhere recently that this was an ongoing issue with LO and TK (and others), unfortunately.
yyznomad is offline  
Old Feb 6, 19, 4:37 pm
  #225  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Programs: aeroplan
Posts: 2
How long does this outage usually last for? Just wondering if it is worth waiting out or trying to book another airline.
YVRFLY is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: