Change in hotel after OLCI

Old May 19, 18, 2:08 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto
Programs: aeroplan 50K
Posts: 192
Change in hotel after OLCI

Checked in for a flight from Can. to US and, as required gave hotel name and street. Now have changed hotels. Do I need to redo OLCI?
thanks
mlbmlb is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 2:10 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,881
Originally Posted by mlbmlb View Post
Checked in for a flight from Can. to US and, as required gave hotel name and street. Now have changed hotels. Do I need to redo OLCI?
thanks
To be clear, you are referring to APIS information.
yyznomad is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 2:13 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto
Programs: aeroplan 50K
Posts: 192
Not sure what APIS is
mlbmlb is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 2:16 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,881
Originally Posted by mlbmlb View Post
Not sure what APIS is
https://www.aircanada.com/ca/en/aco/...formation.html
yyznomad is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 2:21 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto
Programs: aeroplan 50K
Posts: 192
Thanks for this. Yes, that’s it.
mlbmlb is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 2:26 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC SE 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy LT Titanium Elite; Radisson
Posts: 34,881
Originally Posted by mlbmlb View Post
Thanks for this. Yes, that’s it.
I'm not going to talk about law/regulation, but I will suggest that it is recommended that the hotel information be updated to reflect your change in property, however, I'll just put out there that if you don't, nothing will happen to you.

(the above is simply my opinion and it just might be, or not be based on actual experience)

Added: There have been times where I land at my destination US airport and change my hotel too. Not the same as your situation, but just saying...
yyznomad is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 2:35 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto
Programs: aeroplan 50K
Posts: 192
Thanks. FYI- just called in the AC priority line and the agent told me it is not necessary to change it.
mlbmlb is offline  
Old May 19, 18, 5:20 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AC Altitude E75K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 4,363
This APIS address is just your first destination. Many people stay at multiple places once they are in the USA. I can see no way that this information helps secure the USA. Given how often I input it during OLCI and the bag-drop agent tells me it is not there, I would say that it could easily be provided at the airport and might indeed need to be added at the airport.
flyquiet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread