SDC from HKG

Old Mar 28, 18, 9:30 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Programs: AC E50K
Posts: 24
SDC from HKG

Confirmed HKG-PEK-YYZ tomorrow but ideally would like to SDC onto the direct HKG-YYZ as I did on my outbound journey. However, I will be arriving at HKG via ferry from Macau, and I believe this means you are essentially treated as a connecting passenger and only visit an AC transfer desk to re-check bags. HKG-PEK is on Air China, so I am concerned any AC agents present in the transfer area may not have the capability/competence/will to complete the SDC. I'm unsure whether I will be allowed to enter the landslide of HKG. Does anyone have experience with this odd situation?

To further complicate matters, my ticket is partially Latitude (HKG-PEK) and partially Tango. This was a manual override by the reservations agent when booking because the website was blocking my purchase, possibly due to a fare class availability discrepancy on the CA leg. I suspect this can only work in my favour, though.
mmike_319 is offline  
Old Mar 28, 18, 10:18 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,339
You can't SDC from CA to AC.
skybluesea likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Mar 28, 18, 10:30 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Programs: AC E50K
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
You can't SDC from CA to AC.
Damn...so is SDC only possible on journeys that are entirely on AC metal? It's an 014 ticket, etc. If so, makes it even more frustrating that I cannot access my CA booking (at least t->24, so far) to select seats or pay upgrade.
mmike_319 is offline  
Old Mar 28, 18, 11:57 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,339
Originally Posted by mmike_319 View Post


Damn...so is SDC only possible on journeys that are entirely on AC metal? It's an 014 ticket, etc. If so, makes it even more frustrating that I cannot access my CA booking (at least t->24, so far) to select seats or pay upgrade.
It doesn't need to be entirely AC.

But you can only SDC from AC to AC.

PEK-HKG-YVR-YYZ could be SDC'd to PEK-HKG-YYZ. But you can't touch the CA segment.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Mar 29, 18, 12:12 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: YXE
Posts: 2,955
CA would need to consent to the change, and your only point of interaction would be CA for the first segment. Short of cancelling your connecting itinerary (with all conditions of refundability intact) and selling you whatever walk-up nonstop fare they have on offer ($$$$$$), AC can't do anything for you.

If CA knows that they won't be able to deliver you to PEK for the onwards AC flight due to a known delay, they might be persuaded to arrange for you travel on the AC non-stop. But CA isn't going to willingly give up revenue and arrange for your travel on an AC nonstop if they're not required to do so.
pitz is offline  
Old May 26, 18, 9:03 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 728
what about HKG-YVR-YYC SDC to HKG-YYZ-YYC? I have a potential meeting in YYZ that this would allow me to make.
300rwhp is offline  
Old May 26, 18, 10:24 am
  #7  
Moderator: Le Club Accorhotels
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: FRA / YEG
Programs: AC Super Elite, Radisson Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 11,490
Originally Posted by 300rwhp View Post
what about HKG-YVR-YYC SDC to HKG-YYZ-YYC? I have a potential meeting in YYZ that this would allow me to make.
IME you can usually only do a SDC if the requested route is a published routing (and HKG-YYZ-YYC is not a published routing for HKG-YYC), though I'm sure it somewhat depends on the agent.
Jasper2009 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread