Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Air Canada experiencing nationwide network outage 12Mar18

Air Canada experiencing nationwide network outage 12Mar18

Old Mar 12, 18, 10:27 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: YEG
Programs: AC Lifetime SE100K, 3MM, SPG Lifetime Plat, Hertz PC, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,902
Air Canada experiencing nationwide network outage 12Mar18

This is a system wide outage. I am sitting on 104. I just think it would be interesting to see how many other FTers are sitting at gates, or on planes, waiting to get airborne.
YEG_SE4Life is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:39 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 60
AC Web Site -- Lots of Ongoing Problems, Down at the Moment?

I can't imagine I am the only one having these problems. I had days of issues trying to make a reservation last week as the system was hanging on the login page. It seemed to be happening the same day there were reports of technical issues impacting AC passengers in Vancouver. Ultimately I had to clear my entire cache in Firefox to get the web site to work -- not the first time I've had to do this since AC launched its new Web site.

At the moment trying to login to the site to manage flight passes, I am getting an error message in all of my browsers
"We are currently experiencing technical difficulties. Please try again later or contact Air Canada Reservations."

Really frustrating.
drgmobile is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:50 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE; SPG Plat
Posts: 394
I am trying to modify an upgrade by phone - I called half an hour ago and then again just now, both times "systems are down, please call back later". Guess I'll try in a few hours.
PB53x11 is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:53 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: YEG
Programs: AC Lifetime SE100K, 3MM, SPG Lifetime Plat, Hertz PC, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,902
I believe it is a complete system crash. I am on 104, we can't leave the gate.
YEG_SE4Life is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:55 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 22,470
Interestingly the Altitude dashboard still works, one can still log in. But AQD "not available." (Surely unrelated.)

However no logging in on aeroplan.com, or aircanada.com or the upgrade page. And trying to access a current reservation does not work either.
Stranger is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:56 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC e75K, *G, SPG/MR PPE
Posts: 314
I'm sitting in the dom YUL MLL - heard them announce a "systems glitch" at a gate downstairs. Was told at the desk that they can't board, check in, etc. and they can't even update the boards to show actual (revised) departure times. It's been down for about 50-55 minutes by now, according to the guy at the desk. He says everything is down.

The airport hunger games were starting downstairs, so I am going to enjoy my lukewarm MLL pizza and sit here peacefully until things sort themselves out.
meagicano is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:56 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: AC SE100K, Bonvoy Ambassador Elite, Hilton Silver
Posts: 335
Originally Posted by YEG_SE4Life View Post
I believe it is a complete system crash. I am on 104, we can't leave the gate.
Yes, system crash. At YYC right now and no one is going anywhere!
djkyyc is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:58 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,832
#aircanada on Twitter .... reported everywhere. GA here in Denver can't access anything.

Reports of massive crash, impacting systems globally.

Air Canada and IT - what a ....ing joke.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:59 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto
Programs: aeroplan 50K
Posts: 192
I am hearing that flights at multiple airports are on hold.
mlbmlb is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 11:00 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,832
Check @aircanada as a search (not their account, use of the account name) ---> flights grounded everywhere worldwide.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 11:06 am
  #11  
Formerly known as newbie elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: YUL
Programs: Free Agent
Posts: 2,304
SJO check-in is a zoo as well. Can't consult standby and upgrade lists on app since last night.

Isn't this the second outage in a month?

Last edited by Admiral Ackbar; Mar 12, 18 at 1:33 pm
Admiral Ackbar is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 11:16 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: Bottom feeder Star Gold
Posts: 2,641
There is no indication of any problems on Air Canada's social media sites or their official webpage. Their Daily Travel Outlook is rosy, indicating a few possible glitches due to snow in the US Northeast, but nothing else.

If today's cluster is as pervasive as you all report, how is the company advising its customers?
CZAMFlyer is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 11:21 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: AC SE100K, Bonvoy Ambassador Elite, Hilton Silver
Posts: 335
They have just pushed back every YYC flight one hour.
djkyyc is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 11:21 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,832
Check Twitter

The outage is global. Everywhere. Flights being held on the ground, at the gates, no check in. NADA.

The Air Canada Twitter apologist is in copy-paste 'we are sorry' mode.

This looks like a pretty massive outage.

It's starting to hit 680News, CBC etc

And yet, on the AC Web site: nothing.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 11:23 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: PDX
Programs: Delta (UA Defector), Nexus, Global Entry, TSA Pre
Posts: 331
Stuck in PDX trying to go YVR -> PVG. Al systems down and no ETA. Inbound has not left YVR yet. Maybe AC outsourced IT to Shared Services Canada?
BarrieTravelGuy likes this.
nrgiii is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: