Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Introducing Air Canada Basic Economy

Introducing Air Canada Basic Economy

Reply

Old Feb 20, 18, 9:43 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 3,735
Originally Posted by jc94 View Post


I canít see any fares on AC yet (or a press release) but am 99% sure than my $185 YYZ ORD Tango flight will become $185 (or more) for EB and significantly more for Tango and at the cost of Flex I may as well buy P.

Or I can spend $204 on taxes with AP. Or I can go AA and pay $35 on Avios. In J.

Havenít been to T3 since 2015. I donít see myself darkening T1s door more than once in 2018.
That is my concern.

I don't care if they want to bring out a basic economy other than to see more CBC articles how AC didn't help Person X because they purchased the cheapest fare, blah blah

However, if this pushes prices up, that will be frustrating

reminds me of when they introduced Tango on TPACS. Made a SYD go from $2000-$2500 to $4,500 in flex
lcohen999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 9:43 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E50K, NEXUS, Marriott Gold
Posts: 149
What about AQD? If the company only spends on lowest-fare, I wonder if these will count towards the annual spend? If not, quite a few people, including myself would be royally screwed.
trek604 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 9:50 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,217
Originally Posted by ChrisA330 View Post
For now you're safe. "Now available on select routes and flights within Canada"

My guess is these fares will be only on Swoop/New Leaf routes.
And yet the release says up to 50% on Tango and the small print details US. The same release also says Basic Economy twice instead of Tango of course so itís clearly flawed in many ways.

I did check YYZ YEG too but I guess thatís not a Swoop route. And while they donít block carry on at the best itíll be guaranteed Z5.

I wonder if you can pay for a preferred seat. At great cost.
jc94 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 9:59 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC*S100K ACMM / HH Diamond
Posts: 1,660
In the Skift interview with Mark Nasr (ACís VP for loyalty and e-commerce) that was published less than a month ago, he stated:

Skift: What do customers tell you they want from a loyalty program?

Nasr: One of them is the ease of doing business with a program, understanding a program. Many of these programs have become incredibly complex.
Now, with the introduction of Economy Basic, AC has the following fare classes:


... and of course, that is the simple view. The branded fare fiasco adds additional complexity, making it even harder to ensure that you're getting the right fare brand.

Good job, AC. Way to follow Mark's guidance.
Bohemian1 likes this.
canopus27 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:13 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: YHZ/YQM
Programs: none
Posts: 1,195
If Tango prices remain the same and Basic Economy is less, then I am all for it.

As if that's going to happen...
smallmj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:15 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K, Marriott/SPG Platinum
Posts: 674
Did a few search and seems AC has not start selling BE fares, curious which booking code they will use, UA uses N which is occupied by discount PE on AC.
gokeeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:16 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,585
Originally Posted by pewpew View Post
FTFY
No, I meant what I said.

We will have people without a brain who will buy these "low" fares. Then they will pay extra for a seat, for luggage, and one day, a fee to probably call a 1-800 number with a question.

Then, when they see the total, they might realize they paid more than they would have if they bought another fare class. And so they will whine and complain, etc.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:23 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Programs: AC E50K (*G), Westjet Gold
Posts: 756
Wow. AC really likes to overcomplicate things. I like how Tango was supposed to be the "restricted Y" fare, but now its a more flexible Y fare, but not "flex."

At this rate, navigating AC's fares will become a full time job. I already have to call my corporate TA whenever I book because I don't want to end up in a "low flex" fare and be stuck with a massive co pay on a domestic eup.
nave888 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:28 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Bonvoy LTE
Posts: 1,515
Originally Posted by gokeeper View Post
Did a few search and seems AC has not start selling BE fares, curious which booking code they will use, UA uses N which is occupied by discount PE on AC.
No need for Air Canada to use specific booking/fare codes. With the Branded Fares they've introduced, Economy Basic fares can span the entire alphabet if they wish.
Jebby_ca is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:36 am
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Programs: United MileagePlus, Nexus, Global Entry
Posts: 8,765
I assume this is in response to Canada Jetlines, FlyToo and Swoop. Allows Air Canada to offer a similar product to those carriers - Particularly once they start flying Rouge narrowbodies between major Canadian city-pairs.
gglave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:38 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,196
It looks like theyíre trying a bit of a hybrid approach compared to what weíve seen in the US. AC is allowing a carry-on and permitting advanced seat selection for a fee. I guess itís ďbetterĒ

Last edited by ffsim; Feb 20, 18 at 11:03 am Reason: Clarification of advanced seat selection
ffsim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:39 am
  #27  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K, Marriott/SPG Platinum
Posts: 674
Originally Posted by Jebby_ca View Post
No need for Air Canada to use specific booking/fare codes. With the Branded Fares they've introduced, Economy Basic fares can span the entire alphabet if they wish.
I believe this won't be the case, it will be a disaster for corp travel portal users as well as travel agents. Also BE won't earn any AQM make it impossible to share fare codes with other fare types.
Bohemian1 likes this.
gokeeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:56 am
  #28  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,217
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
It looks like theyíre trying a bit of a hybrid approach compared to what weíve seen in the US. AC is allowing a carry-on and offering advanced seat selection. I guess itís ďbetterĒ
To be clear they aren't offering advanced seat selection, they're offering to let you buy it at twice the price of Tango advanced seat selection.
I wonder if seat selection is free at T-24.
I also wonder if SE will get free selection like with Tango. I doubt it.
jc94 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 10:59 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: YWG
Programs: UA 1K, AC E50K, WS Gold, AA Plat, Hertz PC, National EE
Posts: 2,694
Wowwwwwwwwwww
SKYEG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 18, 11:00 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Bonvoy LTE
Posts: 1,515
Originally Posted by gokeeper View Post
I believe this won't be the case, it will be a disaster for corp travel portal users as well as travel agents. Also BE won't earn any AQM make it impossible to share fare codes with other fare types.
Branded fares have already been a disaster for my corp travel portal. My corp portal is restricted to showing FLEX and LATITUDE fares only. However, if low FLEX fares are available, my portal only shows LATITUDE and I have to call in.

I don't see why this would make it impossible to share fare codes with other fare types. With the same fare code, AC is already able to determine how many AQMs and AQDs you receive. And only the fare basis (TANGO / FLEX) shows up in your Altitude dashboard. It'd be very easy for AC to say WxxxBasic earns 0 AQM, 0 AQD, 0 AQS.
Jebby_ca is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread