Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Air Canada 777 at Melbourne, Florida; anyone know what it's doing here?

Air Canada 777 at Melbourne, Florida; anyone know what it's doing here?

Reply

Old Nov 14, 17, 10:34 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 224
Air Canada 777 at Melbourne, Florida; anyone know what it's doing here?

Saw an Air Canada 777 at the Melbourne airport down here in Florida. Anyone know what it's doing here?

It's funny if you look at the flight aware link, it shows 3 flights from Toronto to MLB, and 3 back, but there's definitely a 777 there now.

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/A...242Z/CYYZ/KMLB
sethMCOflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 10:45 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: YVR / PHX
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,384
FYI it's always different Fin's, I just looked because I was curious. Probably charter of some kind?
Attached Images  
Sean Peever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 10:59 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: YOW
Programs: AC E75
Posts: 670
Looks like WiFi installations.

http://www.jsfirm.com/Management/Air...a/jobID_423625

My first reaction was competing with the new PD flights, lol.
YZF_Elite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 11:04 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC S100K, SPG G, Hilton G,Nexus/GE, Amex MR Plat, Hyatt Plat,IHG Plat E
Posts: 2,811
Originally Posted by YZF_Elite View Post
Looks like WiFi installations.

http://www.jsfirm.com/Management/Air...a/jobID_423625

My first reaction was competing with the new PD flights, lol.
Peever will be happy.
vernonc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 11:05 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: YVR / PHX
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,384
Originally Posted by vernonc View Post
Peever will be happy.
If true, very very happy! I can start taking pods again!
Sean Peever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 11:09 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 224
That makes a ton of sense, thanks guys!
sethMCOflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 1:34 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, A3*S, SPG Gold, CC Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,548
Originally Posted by vernonc View Post
Peever will be happy.
Won't everyone be happy?

If they have it installed on some planes, I wonder if it's turned on at all?

Or are they waiting for critical mass before enabling it?

I'm flying a 777 this weekend
canadiancow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 1:37 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC S100K, SPG G, Hilton G,Nexus/GE, Amex MR Plat, Hyatt Plat,IHG Plat E
Posts: 2,811
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Won't everyone be happy?

If they have it installed on some planes, I wonder if it's turned on at all?

Or are they waiting for critical mass before enabling it?

I'm flying a 777 this weekend
Well technically I use my flights to catch up on stuff. If I have wifi then everyone expects instant responses. I find that if I leave stuff alone, everyone responds, argues/collaborates and solves the problem instead of waiting for me :-)
vernonc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 1:50 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Programs: AC SE100k, SPG Gold, National Exec
Posts: 2,281
I'm looking forward to widebody wifi.

Will it work over land only, or also over water?
Diabeetus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 1:53 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 4,186
Originally Posted by Diabeetus View Post
I'm looking forward to widebody wifi.

Will it work over land only, or also over water?
Everywhere. It's satellite based, so no needing to be over land like the narrow body wifi.

Note that the 7M8 will also have the new satellite wifi too.
ChrisA330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 2:08 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Programs: AC SE100k, SPG Gold, National Exec
Posts: 2,281
Originally Posted by ChrisA330 View Post
Everywhere. It's satellite based, so no needing to be over land like the narrow body wifi.

Note that the 7M8 will also have the new satellite wifi too.
Awesome.

Thanks for the info.

​​​​​​
Diabeetus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 2:21 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: YVR
Programs: ACSEMM QRGold SPGLifetimePlat FairmontPlat HyattD AMEXCenturion SerenaPlat TalkBoard Founding Member
Posts: 8,933
Originally Posted by Diabeetus View Post
Awesome.



​​​​​​
Awesome only for the widebodies.

For the 7M8 it means these things are going to be sent over oceans, reducing comfort levels to distant destinations.
Dorian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 2:22 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 228
Great sleuthing.

Anyone know of this is 2Ku tech, or something else?

Every AC flight I've taken with wifi, connectivity has been abysmal. One United flight a year ago was amazing (I feel like it was not Gogo IIRC)
eracerblue is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 2:23 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: YVR
Programs: ACSEMM QRGold SPGLifetimePlat FairmontPlat HyattD AMEXCenturion SerenaPlat TalkBoard Founding Member
Posts: 8,933
Originally Posted by eracerblue View Post
Great sleuthing.

Anyone know of this is 2Ku tech, or something else?

Every AC flight I've taken with wifi, connectivity has been abysmal. One United flight a year ago was amazing (I feel like it was not Gogo IIRC)
Yes, 2Ku.

http://concourse.gogoair.com/air-can...adian-carrier/
Dorian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 17, 2:32 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 4,186
Originally Posted by Dorian View Post
Awesome only for the widebodies.

For the 7M8 it means these things are going to be sent over oceans, reducing comfort levels to distant destinations.
Which we already knew as these are already scheduled on DUB, SNN, and KEF.
ChrisA330 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread