Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Air Canada moving to Amadeus; Communication issues with AP/AC post-migration result

Air Canada moving to Amadeus; Communication issues with AP/AC post-migration result

Old Nov 21, 19, 4:55 pm
  #751  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 28
Just wondering if anyone had any success booking mRTW post amadeus migration?
I'm curious cos I'm about to book mine later this month.. and from what I heard AP agent can't build the itineraries segment-by-segment anymore after this migration...
xanderz is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 5:01 pm
  #752  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,348
Originally Posted by xanderz View Post
Just wondering if anyone had any success booking mRTW post amadeus migration?
I'm curious cos I'm about to book mine later this month.. and from what I heard AP agent can't build the itineraries segment-by-segment anymore after this migration...
If by "later this month" you mean "tomorrow", then good luck.

If you mean "in a month or two", then no one knows the answer. Steady-state is unknown at this time for virtually everything. Right now there's a lack of training and broken systems all over the place.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 5:09 pm
  #753  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Is another bug in eUpgrades that Lat seats are not upgrading properly? To be fair this would happen pre-cutover. But I just booked a Lat/Y TB and there is P on both segments and I was waitlisted.
yowcat is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 5:11 pm
  #754  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont., Canada
Programs: Aeroplan; Marriott Gold; IHG Platinum; Best Western Diamond
Posts: 1,852
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
If by "later this month" you mean "tomorrow", then good luck.

If you mean "in a month or two", then no one knows the answer. Steady-state is unknown at this time for virtually everything. Right now there's a lack of training and broken systems all over the place.
Sounds real bad. But also not surprising for AC IT system.
yscleo is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 5:15 pm
  #755  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC S100K 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 29,239
Originally Posted by yowcat View Post
Is another bug in eUpgrades that Lat seats are not upgrading properly? To be fair this would happen pre-cutover. But I just booked a Lat/Y TB and there is P on both segments and I was waitlisted.
Domestic and Transborder requires Z>0 or R>0. I am assuming "TB" means Transborder here.
yyznomad is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 5:51 pm
  #756  
Formerly known as tireman77
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: ACA
Posts: 4,489
Originally Posted by Robyyz View Post
Conundrum: first time booking using Aeroplan points in ages. Make a booking on SAS and, as the final step, the AP website says to call the contact centre on
1-844-459-7857. I'm in the UK and on multiple phones it says the number can't be reached from where I am. So I ask a friend in the U.S. to dial it and it he says it doesn't work.


I've been calling the main AP number for hours and can't get through or even stay on hold. The booking expires tomorrow.


Any advice from the crowd? Thanks in advance!


Rob
When stuck in odd corners of the earth, I often use Skype on my computer or phone to call North America. Regular numbers are $0.02 a minute but toll free numbers usually work on Skype at no charge.
PLeblond is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 7:11 pm
  #757  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 90
Originally Posted by etgohomeok View Post
I have the same issue with one of my Aeroplan bookings (but my other one is working fine). Does yours have any flights operated by third-party carriers by any chance? My suspicion is that the seat selection on my booking is failing because one segment is operated by ANA. The other three are Air Canada metal and i can access the seat selection screen for them but get the same error message as you when I try to confirm the selections.
i just made an aeroplan booking and seats were assigned but i can' change them..it shows the seat map and i can choose available seats but at the end, it gives the SS_SEAT_001 error and none of the changes make it through

all on AC metal
gilboman is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 9:22 pm
  #758  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YVR
Programs: AC*SE, SPG PLAT, National Executive
Posts: 1,522
This change has been disastrous for hold times.
I have been in hold for over an hour (SE line).
The agent had to check so many things and keep me on hold.
mendy7511 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 9:27 pm
  #759  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: LGA
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by gilboman View Post
i just made an aeroplan booking and seats were assigned but i can' change them..it shows the seat map and i can choose available seats but at the end, it gives the SS_SEAT_001 error and none of the changes make it through

all on AC metal

same same same! This is weird, any one else experiencing this?
royal757 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 9:27 pm
  #760  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: YYZ-YYC
Programs: OZ*G
Posts: 66
Originally Posted by yowcat View Post
Is another bug in eUpgrades that Lat seats are not upgrading properly? To be fair this would happen pre-cutover. But I just booked a Lat/Y TB and there is P on both segments and I was waitlisted.
Not entirely the same issue but does the Star Alliance Upgrade from Latitude B to Business not working either? It shows no inventory, but EF shows space.
WannabeSE is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 9:27 pm
  #761  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 16,794
Originally Posted by mendy7511 View Post
This change has been disastrous for hold times.
I have been in hold for over an hour (SE line).
The agent had to check so many things and keep me on hold.
......

You win. I gave up at the 1 hour mark very late last night as per.


Originally Posted by 24left View Post
Well, I took the challenge. Called the concierge.

Here is my collector's item. First time ever on hold for this long with anyone at AC, or anywhere else. I then waited 38 minutes for the SE line.




BTW, I also sent an email and got an auto-reply. My favourite part:

"If you’d like to get in touch with us right away, you have two options:
• Travel within the next 24 hours: Call us on the dedicated Concierge number
• Travel beyond 24 hours: Call us on the dedicated Reservations number"


Um, ok. Can't think of which emoji to use, so let's go with this one since it's zero dark something
.
24left is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 9:28 pm
  #762  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 3,906
Originally Posted by yyznomad View Post
Aside from the current bugs, I am really liking the changes... I find things are much faster to load and I like the integration of eUpgrades with the website, instead of taking us to a ridiculous eUpgrade website...
I would assume when all the dust has settled, it may be a case of one step back, two steps forward.

Random data point. Flew from YYZ to LGA and back today with zero delays. The flight from LGA actually left early ! Clearly this has to do with the efficiency of Amadeus

p.s. I can't believe how beautiful the new LGA is and the MLL. That is...until you walk outside of course
TechnoTourist likes this.
lcohen999 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 9:50 pm
  #763  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 16,794
Finally, after years of the same message on the Altitude page about their to large-to-handle call and contact volumes

A new message

24left is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 10:27 pm
  #764  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 31
Yesterday when I finally got through the line I asked the agent if they can see how long I had been on hold...

She replied 1 hour 37 minutes...
When all said and done I was 2 hours 40 minutes

Today was much better...
I woke up at 5am mountain time and called in around 530am.
Cant recall when I got through but final total for the call was 1 hour 50 minutes.

This was on the priority line. I am only E50k so not sure if SE has a different line.
yeeg is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 11:33 pm
  #765  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint (Wave as you fly over)
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 2,912
Good lord!

I wonder if it's high call volume, average handle time or a combination of both.
Bohemian1 is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: