Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Air Canada moving to Amadeus; Communication issues with AP/AC post-migration result

Air Canada moving to Amadeus; Communication issues with AP/AC post-migration result

Old Oct 6, 17, 2:48 pm
  #31  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 21,868
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
If you do everything on mobile, it remembers it all, forever.

I never have to type in the information.
But is that a good thing?
Stranger is offline  
Old Oct 6, 17, 3:00 pm
  #32  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,254
Originally Posted by Stranger View Post
But is that a good thing?
There are benefits and drawbacks. The former are obvious, and you've outlined the latter
canadiancow is online now  
Old Oct 6, 17, 4:17 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ZRH
Programs: AC SE 100K
Posts: 540
One difference between RES III and Amadeus is the identification of your "Status" for the FQTV.

In RES III - The PNR identifies your status on booking date - and that can carry through until the FQTV is refreshed if needed at a later date. However - this does not really matter because DCS will refresh the status when the flight loads 48-72 hours out.

However - Amadeus and its integrated DCS platform are taking status from booking date and not refreshing when the flight is loaded in DCS. I guess in general - this can only work to your advantage because - - if your status got lowered - - you won't tell them but you can always refresh the FQTV at checkin to get the correct status.

I know this becauas Mrs ZRH2YVR went from *G to *S on March 1 of this year - but all the bookings we made before March 1 still have her as Gold on her checking - - which allows her all the *G benefits and lounge access. . . .

On the way up a few years ago when she went from *S to *G - we had to go in and remove the Aeroplan number and then add it back again to refresh the status at departure.

That is going to create nightmares. . . (then again AC reads this so they will figure out a way to fix this).
zrh2yvr is offline  
Old Oct 7, 17, 1:11 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor/Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 6,595
Originally Posted by zrh2yvr View Post
That is going to create nightmares. . . (then again AC reads this so they will figure out a way to fix this).
Have they made the website work with Chrome? Or work in general?

There are so many IT issues with AC that are posted here and never addressed, so it's possible that they'll fix this, or they might not. I wouldn't count on it.
Adam Smith is online now  
Old Oct 7, 17, 4:40 pm
  #35  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 21,868
Originally Posted by zrh2yvr View Post
That is going to create nightmares. . . (then again AC reads this so they will figure out a way to fix this).
To whom? Half a dozen FT nutcases who figured this out? You think AC will care?

I guess I don't really care either BTW. My status never seems to change. Same for more than 15 years...
Stranger is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 6:16 am
  #36  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC*S100K ACMM / HH Diamond
Posts: 2,148
I'm surprised that there's been so little discussion about this change; everyone is very focused on the big switch from Aeroplan in 2020, but the Amadeus change is happening a full year before then (the release says 2019, although I can't find an exact date mentioned anywhere).

As I understand it, Amadeus will be the system of record for seat inventory. That either means that there will be a huge data migration action at some point, moments before the entire system goes live .... or they will start booking all flights beyond a certain date, directly in Amadeus when they sell them - which could be very soon now. Either way, we're likely just 12 months away from a huge switch.

Whether or not Amadeus will deliver any improvements to the customer experience, I'm both curious and terrified what the transition process will look like. I can't imagine that this will be completely seamless.
canopus27 is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 6:27 am
  #37  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: YYT/YYC/TPE
Programs: AC SE, UA, National Exec Elite, Nexus, GE
Posts: 1,753
Originally Posted by canopus27 View Post
I'm surprised that there's been so little discussion about this change; everyone is very focused on the big switch from Aeroplan in 2020, but the Amadeus change is happening a full year before then (the release says 2019, although I can't find an exact date mentioned anywhere).

As I understand it, Amadeus will be the system of record for seat inventory. That either means that there will be a huge data migration action at some point, moments before the entire system goes live .... or they will start booking all flights beyond a certain date, directly in Amadeus when they sell them - which could be very soon now. Either way, we're likely just 12 months away from a huge switch.

Whether or not Amadeus will deliver any improvements to the customer experience, I'm both curious and terrified what the transition process will look like. I can't imagine that this will be completely seamless.
The data migration could be an excellent opportunity for FF whose reservations are "lost" in the process, if you know what I mean.
YYT82 is online now  
Old Aug 15, 18, 7:18 am
  #38  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Programs: Aeroplan E75K
Posts: 48
Originally Posted by YYT82 View Post
The data migration could be an excellent opportunity for FF whose reservations are "lost" in the process, if you know what I mean.
Jokes aside. Doesn't this mean that Aeroplan also needs to switch to Amadeus? Are Aeroplan and Air Canada working together on this migration of data and change of reservation system? It makes the battle on the FF side look even more interesting.
YUL-Insider is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 9:29 am
  #39  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 16,782
I was waiting at the gate in YQB recently, and saw small blue tags with bar codes sticking/attached to the back of the Dell computers at the desks where the gate agents sit. Are these related to the overall switch to Amadeus?
24left is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 9:31 am
  #40  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Halifax
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Elite/Ambassador. NEXUS, National
Posts: 2,941
Originally Posted by 24left View Post
I was waiting at the gate in YQB recently, and saw small blue tags with bar codes sticking/attached to the back of the Dell computers at the desks where the gate agents sit. Are these related to the overall switch to Amadeus?
I'd assume not. Aren't most of the gate computers actually owned/managed by the airport? AC/Amadeus is just another VDI then AC/Legacy.
ffsim and canadiancow like this.
RangerNS is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 11:05 am
  #41  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC*S100K ACMM / HH Diamond
Posts: 2,148
Originally Posted by YUL-Insider View Post
Jokes aside. Doesn't this mean that Aeroplan also needs to switch to Amadeus? Are Aeroplan and Air Canada working together on this migration of data and change of reservation system? It makes the battle on the FF side look even more interesting.
No idea ... but my guess is that AC just provides APIs for Aeroplan, and Aeroplan simply interacts with them. The key question is how much of underlying AC system ends up getting exposed to Aeroplan as part of that ... but given that Aeroplan don't have the ability to sell 100% of the AC flights, I'd guess that Aeroplan does not directly talk to the core AC system. If I'm right, then Aeroplan may not need to make any changes at all.

Whether or not the stack will operate correctly or not, once the underlying system is replaced by Amadeus .... that's an entirely different question
canopus27 is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 11:52 am
  #42  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 6,187
Not..
canopus27 and jc94 like this.
KenHamer is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 12:46 pm
  #43  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 21,868
Maybe that's why Ben Smith is leaving?
Stranger is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 1:07 pm
  #44  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,772
Originally Posted by canopus27 View Post
I'm both curious and terrified what the transition process will look like. I can't imagine that this will be completely seamless.
As most of the IT experts here will tell you, it will go swimmingly. No problems at all. Nothing to watch here. It will be smooth as silk.

LOL.

(Expect havoc)
Stranger and smallmj like this.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Aug 15, 18, 1:30 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Bonvoy PLAT, Fairmont PLAT, Priority Pass
Posts: 3,075
Question when is this effective?

Do we actually know when this is effective?
Antonio8069 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: