Standby and Upgrade List

Reply

Old Jan 23, 17, 11:44 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K MM
Posts: 529
I think someone is posting alternative facts. There is no freaking way this can be true.
Cozmo456 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 11:49 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: YWG
Posts: 2,065
Originally Posted by Cozmo456 View Post
I think someone is posting alternative facts. There is no freaking way this can be true.
I think we're going to have to re-evaluate our relationship here.
hydrogen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 11:58 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Programs: various
Posts: 603
I have a three letter last name. I'd be pissed if my whole name was up there for all to see. Zero privacy, that's a problem - maybe they have a contingency for three letter last names.................
YYZFlyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 11:59 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: YVR
Programs: ACSEMM QRGold SPGLifetimePlat FairmontPlat HyattD AMEXCenturion SerenaPlat TalkBoard Founding Member
Posts: 8,937
Originally Posted by YYZFlyboy View Post
I have a three letter last name. I'd be pissed if my whole name was up there for all to see. Zero privacy, that's a problem - maybe they have a contingency for three letter last names.................
How would anyone know this about you by looking at the list?
Dorian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:05 pm
  #20  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, A3*S, SPG Gold, CC Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 27,863
My primary issue is that standby is left of (i.e. before) upgrades, but it's processed after.

It should be on one screen, BELOW upgrades.

Or they should just show the damn onload list with KO**SE etc. so that I know why I am wherever they say I am.
canadiancow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:06 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Programs: various
Posts: 603
I'm thinking more if it ends up like the United where the list is displayed for everyone to see.

I don't want my name displayed to all and everyone - regardless of who knows what.
YYZFlyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:08 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,196
Originally Posted by YYZFlyboy View Post
I don't want my name displayed to all and everyone - regardless of who knows what.
Then I hope you never take a transborder flight through YYZ with a checked bag... this is precisely the same system the CBP uses in the waiting room.
ffsim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:11 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K MM
Posts: 529
I just got the update on my Android. It is true.
Cozmo456 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:15 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Programs: various
Posts: 603
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
Then I hope you never take a transborder flight through YYZ with a checked bag... this is precisely the same system the CBP uses in the waiting room.
Never done that but I wouldn't be thrilled with that either, though less so than a big sign at the boarding area with my name on it.

I'm not going to go into a tail spin about it, just wouldn't like it much - that's all I'm sayin'
YYZFlyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:22 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: YVR
Programs: ACSEMM QRGold SPGLifetimePlat FairmontPlat HyattD AMEXCenturion SerenaPlat TalkBoard Founding Member
Posts: 8,937
Originally Posted by YYZFlyboy View Post
Never done that but I wouldn't be thrilled with that either, though less so than a big sign at the boarding area with my name on it.

I'm not going to go into a tail spin about it, just wouldn't like it much - that's all I'm sayin'
I would be as well, if it was actually my name there. Luckily it is 3+1 letters from my full name.
Dorian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 12:31 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: YYT/YYC/TPE
Programs: AC SE, UA, National Exec Elite, Nexus, GE
Posts: 1,451
I know some people with two letter last names. Where should they go to file privacy complaints?
YYT82 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 2:33 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AC Altitude E50K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 4,013
When you go update your passport at NEXUS, you write your ENTIRE FULL NAME on the clipboard. That perturbs me to no end but you show nonconformity in that office at your peril.
flyquiet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 3:23 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: YVR
Programs: Ice Cream Club UA, DL, EK, AC*SE
Posts: 2,645
They also page you for docs check at T-60+ sometimes, while you're far from the gate in the lounge... And they used to page for upgrades to verify voucher/coupon and staple it to BP, among many other reasons...

Privacy is a myth, especially in a public facility like an airport terminal.
DrunkCargo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 3:26 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: YVR / PHX
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,403
If they were actually concerned about privacy they would have privacy filters on the tens of thousands of monitors that AC uses at checkin (automated and desk), lounge, gate, CSR desk, etc.
Sean Peever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 3:30 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,196
Originally Posted by flyquiet View Post
When you go update your passport at NEXUS, you write your ENTIRE FULL NAME on the clipboard. That perturbs me to no end but you show nonconformity in that office at your peril.
Originally Posted by DrunkCargo View Post
They also page you for docs check at T-60+ sometimes, while you're far from the gate in the lounge... And they used to page for upgrades to verify voucher/coupon and staple it to BP, among many other reasons...

Privacy is a myth, especially in a public facility like an airport terminal.
Originally Posted by Sean Peever View Post
If they were actually concerned about privacy they would have privacy filters on the tens of thousands of monitors that AC uses at checkin (automated and desk), lounge, gate, CSR desk, etc.
All these (valid) examples in conjunction with the latest update to the Android app tell me that the lack of a visible standby list prior to today had absolutely nothing to do with privacy.
ffsim is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread