Lat apparently does not upgrade out of P?

Old Jul 4, 16, 1:45 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 437
Lat apparently does not upgrade out of P?

Just booked a Lat, to FRA, for about 2 weeks out, returning in 3.

At booking time, both flights were showing as upgradeable; I of course was on the eupgrade site moments after the booking was made.

Both flights are waitlisting, which doesn't sound right. The outbound is J3 Z2 P2 R0, return is J9 C9 D9 Z9 P6 R0. It should allocate out of positive P, correct?

I called in (admittedly contacting the night-crew). The agent contacted the helpdesk, and returns with "Yes, it normally upgrades out of P, unless the flights are very full". The helpdesk were unable to fix it. I pointed out that the site says upgradeable, she said the site follows P, but sometimes P does not get you an immediate upgrade. ?!?!

Attempting a repeat booking on aircanada.com still promises upgradeability for both directions!

That does not sound right. Is this the problem others have been experiencing?
mountainboy is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 1:52 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: YVR
Programs: UA Premier Platinum
Posts: 3,321
Others have reported the same issue:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-c...-july-2nd.html

You need to escalate with a supervisor.
eigenvector is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 1:56 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 437
Originally Posted by eigenvector View Post
Others have reported the same issue:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-c...-july-2nd.html

You need to escalate with a supervisor.
Agent would not let me talk to a supervisor, but told me to email customer service. Which I have done, and I'll check in the morning. Not in a mood for HUCA.
mountainboy is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 5:04 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75K 2MM former 14-year SE; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 28,378
Some of us reported this starting over a year ago.
I had to call in often and got fed up... And sometimes played aerolotto at the gate.
yyznomad is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 6:43 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 11,902
I spoke to 5 different folks on one booking. Needed to escalate up the food chain and eventually I was proven correct. Persistence paid off, albeit aggravating .
acysb87 is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 8:11 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco/Tel Aviv/YYZ
Programs: CO 1K-MM
Posts: 10,382
I called in (admittedly contacting the night-crew). The agent contacted the helpdesk, and returns with "Yes, it normally upgrades out of P, unless the flights are very full". The helpdesk were unable to fix it. I pointed out that the site says upgradeable, she said the site follows P, but sometimes P does not get you an immediate upgrade. ?!?!
That's a ridiculous response. If RM didn't want the P seats out there they'd zero the bucket.
entropy is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 8:23 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,375
Originally Posted by acysb87 View Post
I spoke to 5 different folks on one booking. Needed to escalate up the food chain and eventually I was proven correct. Persistence paid off, albeit aggravating .
Originally Posted by entropy View Post
That's a ridiculous response. If RM didn't want the P seats out there they'd zero the bucket.
Exactly! I guess what's even more concerning is how so few agents seem to know and understand the P requirement for those e-upgrades.
ffsim is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 8:24 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: YVR / PHX
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,421
Happens all the time, the rules are posted publicly here, you can have them look it up, sometimes they will change their mind if they see this - other times it won't.

http://www.aircanada.com/en/aeroplan...des/howto.html
Sean Peever is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 8:28 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,375
Originally Posted by Sean Peever View Post
Happens all the time, the rules are posted publicly here, you can have them look it up, sometimes they will change their mind if they see this - other times it won't.

http://www.aircanada.com/en/aeroplan...des/howto.html
Amazing how it may not change their minds when their own website says:

For eligible customers travelling on international flights with a Latitude (booking classes Y and B) or Premium Economy Flexible (booking class O) fare, upgrades are based on the availability of P booking class at time of request.
ffsim is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 8:54 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: YYZ most of the time
Programs: AC SE100K MM, UA*1K, Princess Elite
Posts: 3,815
Originally Posted by mountainboy View Post
Just booked a Lat, to FRA, for about 2 weeks out, returning in 3.

At booking time, both flights were showing as upgradeable; I of course was on the eupgrade site moments after the booking was made.

Both flights are waitlisting, which doesn't sound right. The outbound is J3 Z2 P2 R0, return is J9 C9 D9 Z9 P6 R0. It should allocate out of positive P, correct?

I called in (admittedly contacting the night-crew). The agent contacted the helpdesk, and returns with "Yes, it normally upgrades out of P, unless the flights are very full". The helpdesk were unable to fix it. I pointed out that the site says upgradeable, she said the site follows P, but sometimes P does not get you an immediate upgrade. ?!?!

Attempting a repeat booking on aircanada.com still promises upgradeability for both directions!

That does not sound right. Is this the problem others have been experiencing?
Call the concierges and get them to fight it for you (if you're still SE100K)
yyz_atc_qq is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 9:40 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 11,902
Originally Posted by yyz_atc_qq View Post
Call the concierges and get them to fight it for you (if you're still SE100K)
Never thought to do that
acysb87 is offline  
Old Jul 4, 16, 10:00 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE
Posts: 437
Originally Posted by entropy View Post
That's a ridiculous response. If RM didn't want the P seats out there they'd zero the bucket.
Exactly..

Anyways, made a call this morning and it is resolved manually. I was told
that neither helpdesk nor resourcedesk have the power to manual override, and only "2 departments" can, and they only operate business hours.

Apparently it is a bug. I'm not so sure...

BTW, the return leg opened up to J9 Z9 P7.
mountainboy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread