Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Tango to Latitude - Access Maple Leaf Lounge?

Tango to Latitude - Access Maple Leaf Lounge?

Old Mar 13, 16, 12:27 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 210
Tango to Latitude - Access Maple Leaf Lounge?

I originally booked a Tango - S class fare. Yesterday I called their customer service and asked if they can put me on a different flight (there were several schedule changes to the itinerary). The rep was happy to put me on the flight I wanted.

When I checked my reservation today on aircanada.com, it shows my onward flights are on Latitude - B fare. And it says access to Maple Leaf lounges are $25 for Latitude. But when I click on "Maple Leaf Lounge" link on my reservation, it says "There are no new add-ons available for your booking. Your booking can't be enhanced any further."

Anyone know if I can purchase lounge access for $25? If yes, how?

Thanks.
sktnyc is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 12:41 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: Eupgrade4Lyfe, Gifted E50K, 777HDPeasant or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance and Narcissism.
Posts: 5,587


How could that happen, IF IT REALLY Did happen you just hit the damn jackpot, assuming you have status with AC that is.

I guess you can call in and pay the $25
UPDATE: Assuming your departure city actually has MLL that is, I don't think SFO has one.

You can always request to be guested in the thread, Cow and few other SEs are based in SFO and most of them are quite nice

Last edited by Jumper Jack; Mar 13, 16 at 12:57 am
Jumper Jack is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 12:58 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,236
Originally Posted by sktnyc View Post
I originally booked a Tango - S class fare. Yesterday I called their customer service and asked if they can put me on a different flight (there were several schedule changes to the itinerary). The rep was happy to put me on the flight I wanted.

When I checked my reservation today on aircanada.com, it shows my onward flights are on Latitude - B fare. And it says access to Maple Leaf lounges are $25 for Latitude. But when I click on "Maple Leaf Lounge" link on my reservation, it says "There are no new add-ons available for your booking. Your booking can't be enhanced any further."

Anyone know if I can purchase lounge access for $25? If yes, how?

Thanks.
When's your flight, what's the routing, and what lounges do you want to get into?
canadiancow is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 1:08 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 210
I guess when the agent rebooked me, only Latitude fares were available...?

I don't have any status. I am pretty sure it is Latitude fare, as I was able to select 'preferred' exit row seats.

I have around 3hr layover in YYZ and 3.5hr in FRA, 25cad for lounge access will be nice.
sktnyc is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 8:31 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,394
This link says you should be able to buy a lounge pass when you access your booking online, but if the link doesn't work I'd totally give AC a call. I'm not sure what you'd get in terms of access in FRA, but YYZ shouldn't be a problem.
ffsim is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 9:53 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AC Altitude E75K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 4,304
Can you even purchase lounge access for international? I thought purchased access was for the same lounges as the free passes, i.e.,domestic and TB only. If international can be purchased, then all the E35K could be doing that. I know I would have.
flyquiet is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 11:17 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,394
Originally Posted by flyquiet View Post
Can you even purchase lounge access for international? I thought purchased access was for the same lounges as the free passes, i.e.,domestic and TB only. If international can be purchased, then all the E35K could be doing that. I know I would have.
That was the first thing that came to mind when reading the OP. However, there's no verbiage on AC's MLL page that suggests you can't buy access for an international MLL...
ffsim is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 11:46 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 277
Originally Posted by Jack Jia View Post
You can always request to be guested in the thread, Cow and few other SEs are based in SFO and most of them are quite nice
I should have come here earlier... just spent 7 hours waiting at SFO :P

In Chicago Terminal 3 now tho.
haolaowai_org is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 12:18 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AC Altitude E75K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 4,304
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
That was the first thing that came to mind when reading the OP. However, there's no verbiage on AC's MLL page that suggests you can't buy access for an international MLL...
To the best of my recollection, I was not offered to buy access for YYZ-LHR (just prior to making early recognition to 50K last year) and had forgotten that I did not still have it (as I was 50K the last time I flew internationally with time for lounging.) Had to go to PP lounge instead.

The AC website is outdated - the MLL information page still says E35K can choose international lounge access as a select privilege, but the Altitude page says nothing of the kind. It does say that Flex can buy MLL access (without saying anything about dom/TB only), and although you cannot walk up and pay your way in, it says that as long as one passenger has prepurchased access, they can pay at the door for additional guests.

So, very interesting. Hope OP comes back to report.
flyquiet is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 8:28 pm
  #10  
SPG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: YOW
Programs: UA*1K, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, PP, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,620
Originally Posted by flyquiet View Post
Can you even purchase lounge access for international? I thought purchased access was for the same lounges as the free passes, i.e.,domestic and TB only. If international can be purchased, then all the E35K could be doing that. I know I would have.
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
That was the first thing that came to mind when reading the OP. However, there's no verbiage on AC's MLL page that suggests you can't buy access for an international MLL...
I've done it in the past, as a no-status member on YOW-LHR, although it was $50/person for the MLL Arrivals Lounge at LHR. Mind you, that was 4 years ago.

This was booked through a TA though, not offered on the AC website, who was able to easily add it.
Absolute is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 9:16 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YYZ
Programs: AMEX AC CX UA AA DL
Posts: 2,944
Originally Posted by flyquiet View Post
Can you even purchase lounge access for international? I thought purchased access was for the same lounges as the free passes, i.e.,domestic and TB only. If international can be purchased, then all the E35K could be doing that. I know I would have.
Flying YYZ-HND in PE and was offered MLL access for $25
beep88 is offline  
Old Mar 13, 16, 9:32 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,561
Lounge access is $50 on flex and $25 on latitude/pe fares, I've done it for international in the past coming out of YYZ and LHR.

My next booked flex shows is as an option for $50, so if the website isn't offering it I'd call AC reservations and see what they can do, if it's latitude now you should be able to add it.

I'm pretty sure FRA would be a separate cost. It's not a MLL there either of course but I've used it as an AC customer before. A lot of non MLL lounges accept payment on the day too, United for example, so that might work but can be costly.
jc94 is offline  
Old Mar 14, 16, 1:30 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: AC SE; SPG Plat, Fairmont Plat
Posts: 247
Originally Posted by jc94 View Post
L

I'm pretty sure FRA would be a separate cost. It's not a MLL there either of course but I've used it as an AC customer before. A lot of non MLL lounges accept payment on the day too, United for example, so that might work but can be costly.
There is now a MLL in FRA. A rather decent one at that.
YULforever is offline  
Old Mar 16, 16, 12:36 am
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 210
I called aircanada to purchase lounge access. The rep said I can purchase lounge access only for YYZ and not for FRA, since I am connecting to Lufthansa flight from FRA. And that it would be 25USD, not CAD, for YYZ lounge access. I decided not to buy it.
sktnyc is offline  
Old Mar 16, 16, 12:54 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: sqrt(-united states of apologist)
Programs: sqrt(-school of apologist)
Posts: 5,311
At least for PE, it's been like this for as long as I can remember. (Which, granted, is not that long ago. But still. At least it sounds more dramatic this way.)

TBH, I am surprised this isn't a known fact on FT !

Maybe that's because FT is mostly split into two groups:
1) Tango
2) J




SparseFlyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: