New Air Canada Website!

    Hide Wikipost
Old Apr 7, 18, 1:53 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: jaysona
Wiki Link
Update: 14-Jan 2016, 00:50

The old website is in the process of being "retired"
Leaving the below here for now for the sake of posterity and reference.
Accessing the "old" website.

At the moment (09-Sep-2016) accessing the old and functional website is still possible.

The procedure to access the old website requires a few steps.

1. Clear all aircanada.com related cookies and browser cache.
2. Go to this URL. https://www.aircanada.com/en/go-beta.html
3. Click on book travel Button at the top left of the screen.

Alternatively for some clicking on one the following links will work for some as well.

https://www.aircanada.com/aco/flights.do or;
https://www.aircanada.com/en/home.ht...ialSignon=true

"A digital transformation underway at Air Canada is reshaping the customer experience in almost every way"
Most of the old website URLs now redirect to the new "beta" website.
Print Wikipost

Old Jan 25, 16, 6:51 am
  #196  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary
Programs: Altitude E50K, WS Gold (status match)
Posts: 1,203
New Air Canada Website!

Not sure if anyone listed this yet or not, but sometimes the tab listing the lowest priced fare +/- 4 days won't actually have that fare available when you look through the flight options.
capebretonboy is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 6:56 am
  #197  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sudbury-North Shore-Manitoulin
Programs: AP SPG HH
Posts: 630
YSB-BGI is cheaper than YYZ-BGI (on most days, even weekends) even though there is an additional one hour flight and they offer the stopover program. If you leave from YSB you can also buy J/rouge Premium, if you leave from YYZ you can't although it is on the same plane. How does this company stay in business?????

Last edited by Northern Canuck; Jan 25, 16 at 7:10 am
Northern Canuck is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 7:01 am
  #198  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AC Altitude E75K (*G), NEXUS
Posts: 4,354
Originally Posted by KenHamer View Post
Backup?
Originally Posted by dyzs View Post
I wish there were better smilies for sarcasm.
I think the text string "KenHamer" is a smilie for sarcasm.


(Edited to clarify: and I find the comments entertaining.)
flyquiet is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 7:16 am
  #199  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YQB
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, WS Gold, Bonvoy Gold, HHonors Diamond, VIA Premier, NEXUS/GE
Posts: 772
Originally Posted by eigenvector View Post
Even United gave a long transition period when they launched their new site and had both sites available as they worked out kinks in the new one.
+1. I was thinking the exact same thing. Not rocket science and everyone was happy.
DNAwizard is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 7:54 am
  #200  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE 1MM, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 3,275
Originally Posted by DNAwizard View Post
+1. I was thinking the exact same thing. Not rocket science and everyone was happy.
There are lots of examples of this. Telus just redid their website. They did what United did. CIBC redid theirs about a year ago. They just flipped the switch (AFAIK) and it just worked right out of the gate. LinkedIn changes theirs every day, literally. And it still just works. There is simply no excuse for the AC botch job.
ridefar is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 7:57 am
  #201  
SPG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: YOW
Programs: UA*1K, Marriott Titanium (LTP), Hilton Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,651
Originally Posted by GJS - yow View Post
I was going to suggest a wiki to list the issues with the new website, so that AC IT could have a reference.
Feels like we should start up our own JIRA bug tracker and be reimbursed AQD for each issue we find... or fix, if it's an HTML/JS issue.
Absolute is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 7:58 am
  #202  
SPG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: YOW
Programs: UA*1K, Marriott Titanium (LTP), Hilton Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,651
Originally Posted by 24left View Post
SQ is currently doing exactly that.

EDIT: It did show a Beta offering the last time I went to check my bookings.
Just checked now and it looks like the changes have been implemented as there is a pop-up advising what they are (additional features)
SQ was doing it from November until last week; a great transition period.
Absolute is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 8:04 am
  #203  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 17,463
Originally Posted by Absolute View Post
SQ was doing it from November until last week; a great transition period.
And while SQ was testing their new site, when you opened it you got a pop-up window asking if you were interested in testing the beta, or staying with the current site. Telus did that as well.

The bigger question here remains: who at Air Canada made the decision to let this mess go live?

Were they in such a hurry to put out a product that was not ready for prime time, that they knew was not properly tested for accuracy and smooth functionality?

Incredibly unprofessional.


THIS would be a far bigger issue:

Originally Posted by GJS - yow View Post
....I also wonder about how secure the new site is. Something that is so riddled with bugs is unlikely to be secure. Would you want to enter your credit card information on the current site? I won't be booking anything online any time soon.
.

Last edited by 24left; Jan 25, 16 at 8:11 am
24left is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 8:31 am
  #204  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YEG
Posts: 2,237
used it today (FireFox 43.0.4, M$ Win 7 Enterprise, Service Pack 1 )

So far no airplanes have fallen from sky, computer did not explode or implode.
One weird double request to look at existing booking, did some sample new bookings. Did not like switching from return to multi-city once booking started, had to restart.

Prices currently suck but other than than that worked
xLuther is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 8:45 am
  #205  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto (YYZ)
Posts: 6,135
Website is a big improvement (appearance wise). ^
imverge is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 9:04 am
  #206  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: A3&O6 Gold,IC AMB & HH Diamond
Posts: 13,549
Originally Posted by imverge View Post
Website is a big improvement (appearance wise). ^
Agreed, but they did not take in consideration User Experience Design!! Its like painting the front of the home but when you walk in the floors still creak and there are cobwebs all over.
djjaguar64 is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 9:23 am
  #207  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: YVR and/et YUL
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 457
Fleet issues:

ML 319/320/321 missing THALES AVOD info

Rouge 319/321/767 have THALES AVOD info instead of streaming (some broken/mainline images too)

ML 767-300ER - should say THALES AVOD, not Panasonic ex2

777-300ER HD/Version 2 - should have Panasonic ex2, not ex3

Just a point of preference: I think the CRJ200ER should go above the CRJ100...
Orcair is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 9:29 am
  #208  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: "The Rock"
Programs: Horrorplan/Priceline Junkie
Posts: 258
I'm hardly a Donald Trump fan/supporter, but he'd be correct in calling this a disaster.
Oscar Goldman is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 9:38 am
  #209  
SPG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: YOW
Programs: UA*1K, Marriott Titanium (LTP), Hilton Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,651
Originally Posted by 24left View Post
The bigger question here remains: who at Air Canada made the decision to let this mess go live?

Were they in such a hurry to put out a product that was not ready for prime time, that they knew was not properly tested for accuracy and smooth functionality?

Incredibly unprofessional.
Agree entirely; I'd be facing a non-paying customer or a potential lawsuit if one of our customers had launched like this.
Absolute is offline  
Old Jan 25, 16, 10:10 am
  #210  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Programs: AC SE100K , 1MM, Hilton Diamond, KLM
Posts: 559
Current on Air Canada web site

"We are currently having technical issues that may temporarily affect your experience on our website. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Although the situation should be resolved shortly, we invite you to call Air Canada Reservations if you require immediate assistance. "

unbelievable !!
traacs is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: