Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Mismatched Award Availability on Star Alliance?

Mismatched Award Availability on Star Alliance?

Old Jan 16, 16, 12:12 pm
Original Poster

Exclamation Mismatched Award Availability on Star Alliance?

Forgive me, because I'm new at this - but let me explain.

I am looking to book a one-way award ticket from the US to JNB for my honeymoon next December (leaving December 15th or 16th). I have Amex points that I'm trying to use (by transferring to Aeroplan).

Unfortunately, after not having much luck with the Aeroplan website, I looked on united for availability. I found a Business Saver Award availability for a routing from IAD-GRU-JNB on a combo of UA and SAA (leaving on Dec 15th).

I then called Aeroplan to confirm the availability and was told that they don't have this in their inventory.

Now I am really confused - does the award availability I found on UA's website not translate across to other Star Alliance partners?

Please help - it means a lot.
Old Jan 16, 16, 12:24 pm

Programs: Amex Platinum, SPG Gold, Hertz 5*, Hyatt Platinum
I don't have any brilliant advice based on specific experience but at least call again - maybe the agent was less than stellar?
Old Jan 16, 16, 12:30 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
From google: Today is January 16, 2016 so that means that 330 days from today would be December 11, 2016.

Aeroplan opens some partner inventory 330 days out.

United 335-338 days out.

Wait 4 days
Old Jan 16, 16, 12:38 pm

Programs: AC SE100K
I can see the GRU-JNB flight available in biz on Dec. 16 on the AE.com site, but can't see the UA flight IAD-GRU available on AE.com. Strange. And I agree is looks like a biz blue saver award which is available through the UA site.