Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Official Fare Bucket Check Request Thread

The Official Fare Bucket Check Request Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 26, 19, 3:34 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: yyznomad
Wiki Link
Attention: You DO NOT need ExpertFlyer to do a simple fare availability check! READ LOWER IN THIS WIKI FOR DETAILS regarding the BCD Availability site.

FARE AVAILABILITY REQUESTS

For those of you inquiring about fare class availability but don't have access to EF or KVS, then you can use this thread to make your request.
At a minimum (mandatory), please provide:
1. Operating Airline
2. Flight Number (airport to airport name not necessary but wouldn't hurt to include)
3. Date of travel (or multiple dates for flexibility)

It may be helpful (optional) to also include:
4. The specific fare class(es) you are interested in (if applicable)
5. If the flight(s) you are inquiring about are part of a multi-segment itinerary, it may be helpful to include all segments (e.g. A -> B -> C) even if you only care about one of them.


ALTERNATIVE: DIY!

BCD Travel Tool for Fare Availability

FYI for those of you who don't have access to EF or KVS and feel that doing your own query suffices... this is a free availability checker site (BCD) from one of the travel blogger sites:
CLICK HERE for BCD Travel Fare Availability Tool

1. The "hover over" results can be copied and then pasted to a document editor, however, you may want to manually format the results to your liking
2. It doesn't return any fare class that is zeroed out, so for example, if you are looking for "R" and it doesn't show on the returned fare classes, it simply means that it is R0.
3. This is "bare bones" and doesn't have features like alerts, saved queries, etc.
4. You can only search for dates starting from today to within 10 months from today.
5. Requires Captcha (human) verification, so it can get annoying if you're doing multiple successive queries


Example of what the hover over result looks like:

BookingClass - Seat Availability
J - 9
C - 9
D - 9
Z - 9
P - 9
R - 3
O - 7
E - 6
Y - 9
B - 9
M - 9
U - 9
H - 9
Q - 9
V - 9
W - 9
G - 9
S - 9


Print Wikipost

Old Feb 8, 16, 12:47 pm
  #61  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Stuck in my house
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 818
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
You need to look for "X" availability for an economy reward seat (or "I" for business). Doing a quick search on EF, it looks like 1218 is J7 I0 Y8 X0 while 1219 is J2 I0 Y2 X0.

J7Y8 on the outbound means there are 7 business class seats and 8 economy class seats available for sale on your outbound while J2 Y2 means there's a pair of each available on the return. Not much of a surprise that there are no rewards available for either flight.
My question is, why does AC 1219 show availability for 4 aeroplan seats when I go on aeroplan even though X0, I0, and Y2, but AC 1218 shows no availability with obviously many more seats available. I understand about X and I.

By the way, how do you find X and I on EF?
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 12:50 pm
  #62  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Stuck in my house
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 818
Originally Posted by yyznomad View Post
You know what... After rereading both yhztraveller's and winnipegrev's posts, I actually don't understand what they're both saying...
Simple terms: how come there are 4 aeroplan seats available on AC1219 but none available on AC1218?
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 12:57 pm
  #63  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,425
Originally Posted by Yhztraveller View Post
My question is, why does AC 1219 show availability for 4 aeroplan seats when I go on aeroplan even though X0, I0, and Y2, but AC 1218 shows no availability with obviously many more seats available. I understand about X and I.
Honestly, I have absolutely no clue, sorry! And apologies, I didn't mean to imply that you didn't understand X and I... I guess I just wanted to explain it

Originally Posted by Yhztraveller View Post
By the way, how do you find X and I on EF?
Have a look at the attachment to see how I configured the search for your itinerary.

Name:  Yhztraveller.jpg
Views: 310
Size:  210.7 KB
ffsim is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 1:10 pm
  #64  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Stuck in my house
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 818
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
Honestly, I have absolutely no clue, sorry! And apologies, I didn't mean to imply that you didn't understand X and I... I guess I just wanted to explain it

No problem. I feel better knowing that someone else is a clueless as I am!

Have a look at the attachment to see how I configured the search for your itinerary.

Attachment 1650
I did the same thing in EF, but do not get results for E and I. I assume no results means E0 I0.

I should probably grab the 4 aeroplan on 1219, as it appears to be a mistake, but I won't be able to add my UFP segment, given the lack of availability. That would mean I would have to travel separately from the rest of my family. Hmmm, maybe that is a good idea!
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 1:13 pm
  #65  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YVR
Programs: AC S100K 2MM; UA MP Premier Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 29,344
Originally Posted by Yhztraveller View Post
Simple terms: how come there are 4 aeroplan seats available on AC1219 but none available on AC1218?
Ok. I recreated your searches on EF and AE (since I am also SE) and see what you mean...

Time for the AE experts here to chime in I am curious now. You'd think 1219 is "more sold/oversold" than 1218, yet there is still availability on 1219...
yyznomad is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 5:11 pm
  #66  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA (BOS)
Programs: AA EXP MM, DL Gold, SPG Plat, AMEX Plat, HHonors Gold, RC Rewards Gold, VIPorter
Posts: 5,559
Greetings AC FTers:
I am just dropping by here before an upcoming AC 84/85 788 trip to TLV. I figured this would be the most germane thread to address my question (forgive me if it has already been answered):

There seems to be a discrepancy between what the aircanada.com and U.S. based call center (800-247-2262) is telling me on inventory for the Business/Executive cabin versus ExpertFlyer. Is this usual? I am also surprised because there are significantly more unassigned seats in J-cabin for my flight than available inventory. [[Yes, I know seat maps do not indicate flight loads, but I suspect on such a long flight most pax select their seats at time of booking]]. Already booked a P-fare just wanted to get a sense of how full the flight is as I believe Y is oversold, and W is likely sold out.

Otherwise looking forward to flying the AC 788, it looks like a great product and AC has really done a phenomenal job enhancing the product (which IMO wasn't even deficient). Thanks.
AAerSTL is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 5:41 pm
  #67  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YYZ/SFO
Programs: *G^2, Bonvoyed, NEXUS
Posts: 2,858
Originally Posted by AAerSTL View Post
Greetings AC FTers:
I am just dropping by here before an upcoming AC 84/85 788 trip to TLV. I figured this would be the most germane thread to address my question (forgive me if it has already been answered):

There seems to be a discrepancy between what the aircanada.com and U.S. based call center (800-247-2262) is telling me on inventory for the Business/Executive cabin versus ExpertFlyer. Is this usual? I am also surprised because there are significantly more unassigned seats in J-cabin for my flight than available inventory. [[Yes, I know seat maps do not indicate flight loads, but I suspect on such a long flight most pax select their seats at time of booking]]. Already booked a P-fare just wanted to get a sense of how full the flight is as I believe Y is oversold, and W is likely sold out.

Otherwise looking forward to flying the AC 788, it looks like a great product and AC has really done a phenomenal job enhancing the product (which IMO wasn't even deficient). Thanks.
ExpertFlyer displays inventory that AC has distributed via a GDS (a lot of EF data comes from Sabre) and would be dependent on the point-of-sale used (EF supports USA and UK points of sale). It will also be dependent on the entire itinerary (i.e. your profile says you are in Boston, so BOS-YYZ-TLV can show very different inventory on the YYZ-TLV segment than if you just searched for YYZ-TLV).

AC reservations would show the inventory they are willing to sell directly. It is certainly possible for them to not distribute all of their inventory via other channels.

Regarding seat selection, bookings made on AC's website will in general auto-assign a seat. However, bookings made via AC reservations will not. Neither will bookings made via a GDS, other third-party websites, codeshares etc.
D582 is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 5:50 pm
  #68  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YYZ/SFO
Programs: *G^2, Bonvoyed, NEXUS
Posts: 2,858
Originally Posted by yyznomad View Post
Ok. I recreated your searches on EF and AE (since I am also SE) and see what you mean...

Time for the AE experts here to chime in I am curious now. You'd think 1219 is "more sold/oversold" than 1218, yet there is still availability on 1219...
Originally Posted by Yhztraveller View Post
My question is, why does AC 1219 show availability for 4 aeroplan seats when I go on aeroplan even though X0, I0, and Y2, but AC 1218 shows no availability with obviously many more seats available. I understand about X and I.
My understanding is SE Priority Rewards for Economy are based on actual loads.

So if a plane has 100 physical seats in Y, then you can book priority rewards as long as the number of seats booked is less than 100.

All the availability displays show is how many seats in each class that AC is willing sell based on your entire itinerary. So yes, it is possible that a flight showing Y8 is sold out or oversold, whereas a flight showing Y2 has 4 or more seats physically available.

Last edited by D582; Feb 8, 16 at 6:49 pm Reason: typo
D582 is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 5:57 pm
  #69  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA (BOS)
Programs: AA EXP MM, DL Gold, SPG Plat, AMEX Plat, HHonors Gold, RC Rewards Gold, VIPorter
Posts: 5,559
Originally Posted by D582 View Post
ExpertFlyer displays inventory that AC has distributed via a GDS (a lot of EF data comes from Sabre) and would be dependent on the point-of-sale used (EF supports USA and UK points of sale). It will also be dependent on the entire itinerary (i.e. your profile says you are in Boston, so BOS-YYZ-TLV can show very different inventory on the YYZ-TLV segment than if you just searched for YYZ-TLV).

AC reservations would show the inventory they are willing to sell directly. It is certainly possible for them to not distribute all of their inventory via other channels.

Regarding seat selection, bookings made on AC's website will in general auto-assign a seat. However, bookings made via AC reservations will not. Neither will bookings made via a GDS, other third-party websites, codeshares etc.

Thanks very much for the detailed response! Very helpful and informative.
AAerSTL is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 9:29 am
  #70  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Stuck in my house
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 818
Originally Posted by D582 View Post
My understanding is SE Priority Rewards for Economy are based on actual loads.

So if a plane has 100 physical seats in Y, then you can book priority rewards as long as the number of seats booked is less than 100.

All the availability displays show is how many seats in each class that AC is willing sell based on your entire itinerary. So yes, it is possible that a flight showing Y8 is sold out or oversold, whereas a flight showing Y2 has 4 or more seats physically available.
Thanks, not sure why there would be availability that they would not be willing to sell, unless it had something to do with AC Vacations having a block of seats.

Still doesn't explain why 1218 shows no availability for aeroplan??
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 10:46 am
  #71  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: Eupgrade4Lyfe, Gifted E50K, 777HDPeasant or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance and Narcissism.
Posts: 5,641
Hey all

If someone could check the following two flights for me, it would be much appreciated!

AC148 Friday, Feb 12th
AC149 Sunday, Feb 21st

Anyway to see if the flight is oversold?

Thanks
Jumper Jack is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 12:35 pm
  #72  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,425
Originally Posted by Jack Jia View Post
Hey all

If someone could check the following two flights for me, it would be much appreciated!

AC148 Friday, Feb 12th
AC149 Sunday, Feb 21st

Anyway to see if the flight is oversold?

Thanks
Both flights don't appear to be oversold at this point, although 148 seems to be getting full:

148: J9 C9 D7 Z6 P4 R0 Y9 B9 M9 U8 H6 Q3 V1 W0 G0 S0 T0 L0 A0 K0
149: J9 C9 D8 Z7 P6 R0 Y9 B9 M9 U9 H9 Q9 V9 W9 G9 S9 T9 L9 A9 K9
ffsim is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 12:39 pm
  #73  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: Eupgrade4Lyfe, Gifted E50K, 777HDPeasant or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance and Narcissism.
Posts: 5,641
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
Both flights don't appear to be oversold at this point, although 148 seems to be getting full:

148: J9 C9 D7 Z6 P4 R0 Y9 B9 M9 U8 H6 Q3 V1 W0 G0 S0 T0 L0 A0 K0
149: J9 C9 D8 Z7 P6 R0 Y9 B9 M9 U9 H9 Q9 V9 W9 G9 S9 T9 L9 A9 K9
Do you think its worth it to play aerolotto on 148?
Jumper Jack is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 12:42 pm
  #74  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50 (*A Gold), Accor Platinum, Bonvoy Gold Elite, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum, NEXUS, Global Entry
Posts: 5,425
Originally Posted by Jack Jia View Post
Do you think its worth it to play aerolotto on 148?
As an E35? You might as well try since you have to use your eUpgrade credits on something, but make sure you eat in the MLL beforehand.
ffsim is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 12:48 pm
  #75  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: Eupgrade4Lyfe, Gifted E50K, 777HDPeasant or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance and Narcissism.
Posts: 5,641
Originally Posted by ffsim View Post
As an E35? You might as well try since you have to use your eUpgrade credits on something, but make sure you eat in the MLL beforehand.
I really hope they stop serving those sandwiches in YVR DOM, Hated them so much that I just ate a few biscuits last time and bought BIZ Class meal on the flight lmao. I will take breakfast over those any day.
Jumper Jack is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: