Wasted eUpgrades?

Old Nov 1, 2014, 2:36 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AC SE
Wasted eUpgrades?

My company travel policies won't reimburse upgrade fees, meaning that I get to fly around the world in Y all the time (Flex is fine). This year, I just realized that I have 30 eUpgrade credits that are likely to go to waste and expire on Feb 28th 2015.

I am no expert in the Altitude program and haven't found a way to use them without having to co-pay for an upgrade. Am I missing something? i.e. is there any way to use credits without co-paying, being an E35K flyer?
Old Nov 1, 2014, 2:37 pm
Suspended

Programs: AC E50K (*G) WS Gold | SPG/Fairmont Plat Hilton/Hyatt Diamond Marriott Silver | National Exec Elite
Originally Posted by jasdou
My company travel policies won't reimburse upgrade fees, meaning that I get to fly around the world in Y all the time (Flex is fine). This year, I just realized that I have 30 eUpgrade credits that are likely to go to waste and expire on Feb 28th 2015.

I am no expert in the Altitude program and haven't found a way to use them without having to co-pay for an upgrade. Am I missing something? i.e. is there any way to use credits without co-paying, being an E35K flyer?
Fly domestic? Copay is for intl flights
Old Nov 1, 2014, 2:41 pm

From AC's website:

eUpgrade add-ons do NOT apply to both:

1. Altitude members travelling on a Latitude or Premium Economy (flexible) fare
2. Travel within Canada, or between Canada and the United States or Sun destinations.
Old Nov 1, 2014, 2:48 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AC SE
That's the thing, I don't fly domestic much. All of my travels are to Europe or South America. Based out of Quebec City, the only domestic flying I do is YQB-YUL or YQB-YYZ for international connections and these flights don't have a J cabin.

Oh and I am not allowed to buy Latitude or PE fares... so I guess these eUpgrade credits are going down the drain in Feb!

Thanks for the input.
Old Nov 1, 2014, 2:54 pm
Suspended