Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

FAQ: List of valid and booked mini-RTW itineraries version 2.0 (post-"enhancement")

FAQ: List of valid and booked mini-RTW itineraries version 2.0 (post-"enhancement")

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 11, 15, 1:49 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: jerryhung
Wiki Link
Want to find the new MPM after 10/29/2014?
Aeroplan City Pair mileage (new pseudo-MPM) - FlyerTalk Forums

Please note
This thread is meant for only posting valid and booked mini-RTW, not for general mini-RTW questions which belong in the Mini RTW Questions.

Those new to the whole mini-RTW award please post in the FAQ: The Complete Newbie Guide/FAQ to the Air Canada Aeroplan Mini-RTW

Original List of booked/valid Mini-RTW 1.0 (before 10/29/2014)
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Jun 15, 18, 12:41 pm
  #676  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont., Canada
Programs: Aeroplan; Marriott Gold; IHG Platinum; Best Western Diamond
Posts: 1,800
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Iíve flown a lot of CA and Iíve given up on them. I wonít fly them again unless I have to (and unfortunately since their R class fares are VERY cheap and still earn a lot of miles, I might ... but whatever). Reasons:

- food is very meh. In fact, I just have a memory of very odd liquid food with no particular texture or flavour. Absolutely nothing to write home about.
- wine is very meh. Their western wines are so-so and the Chinese wines are terrible, though maybe an interesting oddity.
- cell phones used to be banned. Try being on an 11 hour flight with no mobile phone for movies etc. i think theyíve finally stopped that idiocy.
- Transit in PEK is an absolute nightmare. By far and away THIS is the reason I wonít fly CA anymore - you HAVE to go though immigration and security, and itís a CIRCUS - no priority lanes for business, just a sea of people, and if the construction is still on, then thereís no (strong) air conditioning in the security scan area, so itís a complete nightmare.
- lounge is crap, even if you go to the ďFĒ lounge (that can be accessed with priority pass)
- delays can mean you miss your connection and have to spend even more time in PEK.

So yeah ... if you can help it, avoid CA and PEK.
So it hasn't improved. We had the same dreadful experience transiting from HKT to PEK in 2016. It was a red-eye flight. The aircraft was old, but the worst is people were talking loudly even though it's sleep time.

It was true that in PEK, they don't they have heating. We had to wear our winter coat.

We did go into a PP lounge. That was the worst PP lounge ever. All the outlets we tried, did not work, no electricity to charge any device. No wine, no alcohol of any kind. Even thought there is a bar, they said they don't serve anything. No hot water. For the couple of hours we were there, they kept saying they're getting someone to fill the water container, to start heating. The food was packets of nuts. Only when I asked if there is any other food, they said we can order and gave us a small menu. We each ordered something and when they came out, they were hard rice with some type of stewed beef and stewed chicken. Well, at least it had heating in there.

We heard similar experience from others,, and would definitely avoid PEK.
yscleo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 6:03 pm
  #677  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
I was requesting the following but they say this is invalid but cannot provide me a reason. Any idea? Thanks.

YYZ-ORD-TPE-HKG (Destination as it is farthest point)
HKG-KIX (Stop)
KIX-TPE (Stop)
TPE-YYZ
kpyuen2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 6:45 pm
  #678  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 4,763
Originally Posted by kpyuen2000 View Post
I was requesting the following but they say this is invalid but cannot provide me a reason. Any idea? Thanks.

YYZ-ORD-TPE-HKG (Destination as it is farthest point)
HKG-KIX (Stop)
KIX-TPE (Stop)
TPE-YYZ
Perhaps a stupid question, but I assume you're stopping in HKG? If so, I can't find a reason why this would be invalid. I would call again, and push for a reason why it's invalid.
ChrisA330 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 8:18 pm
  #679  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by ChrisA330 View Post
Perhaps a stupid question, but I assume you're stopping in HKG? If so, I can't find a reason why this would be invalid. I would call again, and push for a reason why it's invalid.
Yes, we plan to stop at HKG as well. We also calculated MPM before calling them for the trip.

Actually, we already booked the following due to some instant suggestion from aeroplan booking agent:

YYZ-ORD-TPE(Stop)-FUK(Stop)-HND(Stop)-YYZ

But we actually would like to go to HKG as well but he denied. We don't feel right, so after the booking, we ask for a change (even willing to pay $200 fee per person), and they say the one including HKG is invalid from system.

Is it risky to cancel the flight and book all over again ($150+$30)?
kpyuen2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 9:48 pm
  #680  
formerly corruptcanadian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YTO - YTZ, YYZ
Programs: aeroplan, Flying Blue, Priority Club, avios
Posts: 536
Seems to be a case of HUACA or HUCA. Don't ever feel rushed by the agent to book. If you do then you are bound to have regrets. Maybe their shift was ending soon and they wanted to get rid of you.
aeroman380 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 18, 1:48 pm
  #681  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG
Posts: 77
Originally Posted by kpyuen2000 View Post
I was requesting the following but they say this is invalid but cannot provide me a reason. Any idea? Thanks.

YYZ-ORD-TPE-HKG (Destination as it is farthest point)
HKG-KIX (Stop)
KIX-TPE (Stop)
TPE-YYZ
I could be wrong (high chance! ) But is the stop at TPE and the Outbound ORD-TPE-HKG considered a backtrack? Would that be the reason?
emustyle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 18, 1:53 pm
  #682  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG
Posts: 77
Helped a friend research and book the following:
YVR > TPE
TPE > SGN (Stop)
SGM > BKK (Destination)
BKK > VIE
VIE > ZAG (Stop)
ZAG > ZRH
ZRH > BOS
BOS > YYZ
YYZ > YVR

241.23 fees + 31.5 booking fees

Was hoping to get him back through SFO/ORD/EWR to avoid AC, but sadly all those exceeded the YVR-BKK MPM.
emustyle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 18, 3:24 pm
  #683  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by emustyle View Post
I could be wrong (high chance! ) But is the stop at TPE and the Outbound ORD-TPE-HKG considered a backtrack? Would that be the reason?
I don't think so, they verified that HKG from YYZ is farthest point, so each way of transit/stop at TPE is valid.
kpyuen2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 18, 6:49 pm
  #684  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by kpyuen2000 View Post
I don't think so, they verified that HKG from YYZ is farthest point, so each way of transit/stop at TPE is valid.
I helped a friend book YYZ-MEL, but the agent insisted that a stopover in ZQN (Queenstown, NZ) wouldn't validate, and claimed that ZQN was the POT. I said that MEL is farther than ZQN, and I have a webtool (gcmap) that shows it is farther from YYZ than ZQN. Agent paused and looked at something else on the side (maybe gcmap, or something equivalent) and said yes, MEL is the destination but the system still won't validate it. I insisted she try again, and once more it would not validate. But I must have been very convincing, so instead of telling me to go away she said she would have to consult with ticketing. She put me on a long hold (20 minutes) and came back to say it would book after all, but she would not have been able to do it on her own.

So, I don't know why their system wouldn't validate it at the onset. Maybe the same 'glitch' convinced your rep that your original itinerary was invalid. I have to agree with others, that it definitely looks like it should have validated. Is it a sign that this could be the beginning of 'the end'?
WKnight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 18, 6:08 pm
  #685  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Programs: aeroplan
Posts: 2
Asia mini round trip

Here's a valid itinerary for Asia. I've booked it this year.

YUL-ZRH-BOM LX J
BOM-DEL AI J (Stop)
DEL-SIN SQ J
SIN-BKK SQ J (Destination)
BKK-HKG TG J
HKG-TPE BR J
TPE-PVG CA J
PVG-PEK CA Y (Stop)
PEK-ZRH-YUL LX J

Total: 16 days, 9 countries, 231$ per passenger, 300k aeroplan points.
brousseauandreanne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 18, 6:33 am
  #686  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: YUL
Posts: 682
Routing allowed?

So i have been following this thread trying to figure out if a routing is permitted.

years ago I did:

yyz - lax AC J
lax - fra LH F
fra - bru LH J

the more i read the more i think that is over mpm...

i would like to book

yul - sfo AC J
sfo - zrh LX J
zrh - vce Lx J stop 1
vce - vie OS J
vie - lhr OS J stop 2
lhr - zrh lx J
zrh - yul lx J

can anyone help me out and tell me if this is a valid routing that i can book with an agent?
canforce is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 18, 8:22 am
  #687  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Programs: aeroplan
Posts: 2
replied to routing allowed ?

Originally Posted by canforce View Post
So i have been following this thread trying to figure out if a routing is permitted.

years ago I did:

yyz - lax AC J
lax - fra LH F
fra - bru LH J

the more i read the more i think that is over mpm...

i would like to book

yul - sfo AC J
sfo - zrh LX J
zrh - vce Lx J stop 1
vce - vie OS J
vie - lhr OS J stop 2
lhr - zrh lx J
zrh - yul lx J

can anyone help me out and tell me if this is a valid routing that i can book with an agent?

Hi ! I've checked a little bit your routing and I don't think it's working. Your destination seems to be VIE and the MPM allowed between YUL-VIE is around 4027mi. All your trip until destination is 8874mi. Your stop at SFO pull you away from the rest of the stops. Since the MPM between europeans citys is low, I would recommand to find a city in Europe that is a bit far away to increase your margin of maneuver.
Use this website : gcmap.com.

Good luck !
brousseauandreanne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 18, 10:12 pm
  #688  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ-ish
Programs: *void
Posts: 2,220
yul-sfo-zrh-vce,vce-vie-lhr-zrh,yul

Originally Posted by canforce View Post
So i have been following this thread trying to figure out if a routing is permitted.

years ago I did:

yyz - lax AC J
lax - fra LH F
fra - bru LH J

the more i read the more i think that is over mpm...

i would like to book

yul - sfo AC J
sfo - zrh LX J
zrh - vce Lx J stop 1
vce - vie OS J
vie - lhr OS J stop 2
lhr - zrh lx J
zrh - yul lx J

can anyone help me out and tell me if this is a valid routing that i can book with an agent?
You should be asking for help in one of the other mini-RTW threads, so there's less clutter in here, where it is meant to be a list of valid itineraries.
Try this thread next time: Mini RTW Questions

Anyways, your stops are VCE and LHR, but since VCE is farther from YUL than LHR, then VCE is your destination/POT.
YUL - VCE has mpm of ~6729 miles

Your inbound is fine (5291 miles), but your outbound (yul-sfo-zrh-vce) is too much, at 8605 miles.

You probably have a 'want' to go to SFO, instead of going directly from YUL-ZRH, before heading to VCE, but as you can see it's pulling you way over the mpm allowed. You won't be able to book this.
JJonahJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 18, 12:08 am
  #689  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 173
Does anyone know if I choose open-jaw, does the distance between 2 open-jaw cities count towards MPM or not......?
tonywush is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 18, 7:08 am
  #690  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
Just booked the following:

YYZ-YUL
YUL-ZRH
ZRH-FLR (Stop)
FLR-FRA
FRA-SIN (Destination)
SIN-ICN
ICN-NRT (Stop)
NRT-TPE
TPE-YYZ

About $500 and 90,000 points. I have about a day to explore in both ICN and TPE.
azpurua is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread