Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

FAQ: List of valid and booked mini-RTW itineraries version 2.0 (post-"enhancement")

FAQ: List of valid and booked mini-RTW itineraries version 2.0 (post-"enhancement")

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 11, 15, 1:49 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: jerryhung
Wiki Link
Want to find the new MPM after 10/29/2014?
Aeroplan City Pair mileage (new pseudo-MPM) - FlyerTalk Forums

Please note
This thread is meant for only posting valid and booked mini-RTW, not for general mini-RTW questions which belong in the Mini RTW Questions.

Those new to the whole mini-RTW award please post in the FAQ: The Complete Newbie Guide/FAQ to the Air Canada Aeroplan Mini-RTW

Original List of booked/valid Mini-RTW 1.0 (before 10/29/2014)
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Feb 15, 18, 3:24 pm
  #601  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 9
Have anyone used the star alliance tool to build the rtw trip ? Is it good or waste of time as it says rtw allows approx 39000 miles ..
taurus25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 8:38 am
  #602  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ Diamond, Jiffypark Manhattan Gold
Posts: 3,928
Originally Posted by 1Newflyer View Post
I don't see much difference in ZRH-ORD-YVR vs ZRH-LAX/SFR-YVR in terms of MPM but maybe few miles make a difference.
I have a return VIE-SFO(stop)-YYC and it worked.
Problem is you have to work all the way back to the turn around point which is IST right.

According to my old notes the MPM was 9920 IST-YVR, with the ORD stop its 9918, SFO was 10,352. YUL would've worked at 9742 but I read the 77W opinions were a bit better than the 330 plus getting a direct flight from YUL to YVR in J isn't easy and probably would've upped my taxes/YQ as well.

Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
This is an awful business class seat. Its like a very large crowded dormroom. Make sure you get into row 4/5
Maybe PM me since it's a bit off topic Rank, but do you actually dislike the SEAT? Or is the overcrowding? The seat reviews I had read were pretty positive and it looks a bit like the Air Canada "throne" style ones. Now there's no way I'll get a throne, I wasn't gonna pay like 200Euro just to get it I just hope to get a seat in the middle section so I don't have to walk over anyone and they don't have to walk over me. It does look like the cabin is poorly divided, but I can't imagine it's that bad since I'm already an uncultured swine that doesn't usually fly J . If I could pick a seat in row 4-5 I would, but IIRC you had to pay for all seats and the costs were a bit nuts, I'll check again.

Checked again, the thrones are like $210 CAD, which I won't bother paying, unfortunately the other seats in rows 4-5 are reserved, marked with an X, and the others are reserved for HON members.

Last edited by drvannostren; Feb 16, 18 at 8:57 am
drvannostren is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 5:02 pm
  #603  
formerly yvrgary
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: YOW
Programs: AC 50K, DL Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 3,028
Originally Posted by taurus25 View Post
Have anyone used the star alliance tool to build the rtw trip ? Is it good or waste of time as it says rtw allows approx 39000 miles ..
Worth checking that you're not confusing a Star Alliance Round The World trip with the Aeroplan redemption colloquially and unofficially known as the "Mini Round The World" (mRTW).

The former is specifically designed for visiting multiple continents, while the latter simply takes advantage of Aeroplan's generous stop-over rules to allow for trips that circle the globe, due to the destination being far enough from the origin that both Atlantic and Pacific routings are within the permitted mileage.


Originally Posted by drvannostren View Post
Maybe PM me since it's a bit off topic Rank, but do you actually dislike the SEAT? Or is the overcrowding? The seat reviews I had read were pretty positive and it looks a bit like the Air Canada "throne" style ones. Now there's no way I'll get a throne, I wasn't gonna pay like 200Euro just to get it I just hope to get a seat in the middle section so I don't have to walk over anyone and they don't have to walk over me.
This is very much a personal preference; some other posters clearly feel otherwise, but I really like Swiss' hard and soft products, particularly given the relative lack of "pod" style seats on *A carriers flying TATL, and in my last half-dozen J flights with Swiss, I have never had a problem in reserving a D-G seat, for free, in advance.

The "throne" seats can be selected online, for free, at T-48, if they're still available.
YOWgary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 5:57 pm
  #604  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West
Posts: 3,328
Originally Posted by drvannostren View Post
Problem is you have to work all the way back to the turn around point which is IST right.
No, I have amended the return to include IST in between VIE ---- SFO.
1Newflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 18, 11:09 am
  #605  
RT9
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Just booked 4 economy tickets:

YYZ - CAI (23 hour layover) EgyptAir
CAI - DXB (stop) 12 days EgyptAir
DXB - MCT (21 hour layover) SwissAir
MCT - BKK (Stop) 7 days ThaiAir
BKK - MEL (stop) 14 days ThaiAir
MEL - BKK (3 hour layover) ThaiAir
BKK - HND (12 hour layover) ThaiAir
HND - YYZ AirCanada

90,000 points and $300 in taxes and fees per person
A minor screw up with first agent who said everything was booked but her computer then crashed? After a very lengthy wait, she transferred me to another agent who then had to re-book everything. Total of about 3 hours on the phone and shouldn't have taken more than 30 minutes. In the end very happy with how things worked out and surprised at how low taxes were.
RT9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 18, 8:39 am
  #606  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 9
Can experts chime in n see if this routing will work ? It does fall under mpm

Yul-ZRH(layover 50mins)
ZRH-BKK (lay over 5-6 hours)
BKK-SYD (destination)
SYD-BKK (layover few hours)
BKK-IXC (Stop over)
IXC-DEL (Layover few hours)
DEL-DXB (Stop over)
DXB-IST (lay over few hours)
IST-YUL (Back at the starting point)

Last edited by taurus25; Feb 22, 18 at 9:03 am
taurus25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 18, 9:04 am
  #607  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,555
Originally Posted by drvannostren View Post
Maybe PM me since it's a bit off topic Rank, but do you actually dislike the SEAT? Or is the overcrowding? The seat reviews I had read were pretty positive and it looks a bit like the Air Canada "throne" style ones. Now there's no way I'll get a throne, I wasn't gonna pay like 200Euro just to get it I just hope to get a seat in the middle section so I don't have to walk over anyone and they don't have to walk over me. It does look like the cabin is poorly divided, but I can't imagine it's that bad since I'm already an uncultured swine that doesn't usually fly J . If I could pick a seat in row 4-5 I would, but IIRC you had to pay for all seats and the costs were a bit nuts, I'll check again.

Checked again, the thrones are like $210 CAD, which I won't bother paying, unfortunately the other seats in rows 4-5 are reserved, marked with an X, and the others are reserved for HON members.
Its the overcrowding. And the lack of privacy of aisle seats.
rankourabu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 18, 9:11 am
  #608  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 4,760
Originally Posted by taurus25 View Post
Can experts chime in n see if this routing will work ? It does fall under mpm

Yul-ZRH(layover 50mins)
ZRH-BKK (lay over 5-6 hours)
BKK-SYD (destination)
SYD-BKK (layover few hours)
BKK-IXC (Stop over)
IXC-DEL (Layover few hours)
DEL-DXB (Stop over)
DXB-IST (lay over few hours)
IST-YUL (Back at the starting point)
Looks good to me.
ChrisA330 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 18, 7:14 am
  #609  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 27
Booked:

YYZ-ADD
ADD-KUL (stopover)
KUL-SIN
SIN-DPS (destination)
DPS-SIN
SIN-SYD (stopover)
SYD-IAH
IAH-YYZ

90k and $275 taxes per person
PursuitTraveller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 18, 11:43 pm
  #610  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat, OZ *G, DL Silver, FB Plat, Hyatt Glob, Marriott Plat
Posts: 260
Hey guys, just so I understand, the MPM is the one-way max? These itineraries are ~28K miles on gcmap, so the MPM5 is ~14000?
Rowyourboat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 18, 8:33 am
  #611  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: YYZ
Programs: Aeroplan, Alaska, SPG, Marriott
Posts: 433
Originally Posted by Rowyourboat View Post
Hey guys, just so I understand, the MPM is the one-way max? These itineraries are ~28K miles on gcmap, so the MPM5 is ~14000?
Right. Each direction must be under the MPM. Unless both directions are similar in distance, a 28K mile round trip itinerary likely has a MPM that is well above 14K. If the MPM was 14K then each direction would have to be roughly 14K (for total to be 28K) for it to work, but if MPM was say 15.5K then you could do 13K one direction and 15K in the other direction.
Cerenity is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 18, 3:58 pm
  #612  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Programs: Delta Platinum
Posts: 566
Apologies if this is not the correct Thread but it was the best I could find.

We exploring a trip to SE Asia late this year / early next year (either Vietnam or Hong Kong / Bali from NYC) and thought about starting into DPS.

JFK > ICN > SIN > DPS prices out fine / correctly but when I try to add a stop-over in SIN I am told the routing is not valid. Does Aeroplan no longer allow (perhaps they never did) stop-overs on One Way Rewards?
EWRTravelers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 18, 4:40 pm
  #613  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,555
Originally Posted by EWRTravelers View Post
Apologies if this is not the correct Thread but it was the best I could find.

We exploring a trip to SE Asia late this year / early next year (either Vietnam or Hong Kong / Bali from NYC) and thought about starting into DPS.

JFK > ICN > SIN > DPS prices out fine / correctly but when I try to add a stop-over in SIN I am told the routing is not valid. Does Aeroplan no longer allow (perhaps they never did) stop-overs on One Way Rewards?
Never did.
rankourabu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 18, 6:29 pm
  #614  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: YUL
Programs: AC AA BA TAP UA FB and some others, loyal to none.
Posts: 880
Originally Posted by Cerenity View Post
Right. Each direction must be under the MPM. Unless both directions are similar in distance, a 28K mile round trip itinerary likely has a MPM that is well above 14K. If the MPM was 14K then each direction would have to be roughly 14K (for total to be 28K) for it to work, but if MPM was say 15.5K then you could do 13K one direction and 15K in the other direction.
Are you sure that the arithmetic is so simple? MPM has its hidden rules, no?
LearningToFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 18, 8:06 pm
  #615  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: YVR to SEA
Posts: 2,306
It's pretty simple. Just don't transit the same city twice in one direction.
crimsona is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread