Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Dr. gives medical assistance in-flight; any airline compensation?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 12, 2014, 8:58 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Aeroplan, AA

Been lurking here for a while and finally decided to join.

I'm a physician and provided medical assistance approx 3 months ago on a SFO -YYZ flight.
To make a long story short, I ended up dealing with this situation for 3/4 of the flight.

I have never hesitated to assist in the past and my experience has been that AC has be prompt to provide "compensation."
In the past I have always received a letter of appreciation and Aeroplan points.
This time round however absolutely nothing from AC. No letter of appreciation. No points. Nothing.

Has AC changed their policy in dealing with physicians proving assistance in flight?
Is it unreasonable to expect anything from AC?
Old Jul 12, 2014, 10:03 pm

Hippocratic oath
Old Jul 12, 2014, 10:14 pm

As far as I know there hasn't been a policy change. Hippocratic oath is an interesting point... even so a letter thanking you from AC/the passenger should really have been given.

Seems odd to be dealing with the situation 3h45m out of a 5hr flight, if the situation was such that constant supervision by a physician - not an FA - was required, IMHO AC should probably have diverted.
Old Jul 12, 2014, 10:28 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AC 75K, Hertz President’s Circle, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold
A gesture from AC would be nice for sure regardless of the duty to come to a patient's aid.
Old Jul 12, 2014, 10:37 pm

Programs: AC SE100K MM