Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Dr. gives medical assistance in-flight; any airline compensation?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Dr. gives medical assistance in-flight; any airline compensation?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 30, 2017, 9:07 pm

Programs: *$ Green
Originally Posted by YEG_SE4Life
Jeepers, reasonable on FT, are you trying to insult me just because I am new to flying?
lol!
Old Nov 30, 2017, 9:23 pm

Programs: AC SE100k, Marriott Titanium, UA Silver
Originally Posted by FlyerGoldII
Initially, when I several years ago offered medical assistance to a passenger on an AC flight - I did not expect any compensation. But I was asked to sign a form - choosing between 10,000 Aeroplan status miles or 15,000 non-status miles. I chose the status miles. A few years later, again the compensation was offered, In both cases, I chose the Aeroplan status miles.

Two or three years ago, again medical assistance. No compensation offered on the flight, or later one.

Last week, coming back on a flight from Delhi to Toronto - this time I was asked to help a flight attendant deal with her medical issues.. No compensation offered on the flight.

When I first started out on AC - I expected no compensation. But after at least these 2 instances of compensation being offered in the plane- I learned to expect compensation on the plane.

Now I have the next 2 instances there was no compensation being offered at least on the plane- The question is what is AC's current policy on thanking a physician for medical assistance provided in a plane in-flight.
I think it may have been bad luck and depend on how much effort the crew puts into filling out forms.

A doctor friend of mine posted on Facebook that she got aeroplan miles this past year for assisting on a flight.
Old Dec 1, 2017, 1:24 am
Marriott Contributor Badge

Programs: AC E50k, A3*G, UA*S, MR Titanium, HHonors Gold, Carlson Gold, NEXUS