AC Gates at Boston Logan Questions

Old Mar 26, 19, 2:35 am
  #76  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 4,014
Originally Posted by Diabeetus View Post
LOL. I miss US Airways. I used to fly them within the US because they were part of *A and had cheaper fares than UA.
That airline was so cheap....there was a moment they charged for soft drinks in Y.

That said, they were always generous about *G upgrades (not that you got much). They were a simple but effective *A airline to fly, back in the day
lcohen999 is offline  
Old Mar 27, 19, 12:58 am
  #77  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 106
Originally Posted by pprrff View Post
I also miss US Airways. They had great options out of DCA while earning on *A. Not I'm stuck going to IAD for *A direct routings. (Seriously UA has no DCA-BOS flights, seems insane.)


Re: BOS, these changes will be welcomed by me even if I rarely fly there now and now not on AC.
100% agree. I go to DC from BOS frequently and avoid AA wherever I can. B6 is fine, but I am always trying to maintain my *G so end up flying UA to IAD when DCA would be so much better. Maybe when the Silver Line is finished, it'll be better, but that's still a long hike in to the District.
c5ruzr is offline  
Old Jun 25, 19, 6:23 pm
  #78  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AC SE*100K
Posts: 1,393
Iím not sure if it has been posted elsewhere, but the hellhole that is B1-B3 is no more. B1-B3 now connected to B proper, and the new concourse that is BOS B which offers some real food, seating and power.

For when your AC flight out of BOS is inevitably delayed. Inevitably.
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Old Jun 25, 19, 6:49 pm
  #79  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Stuck in my house
Programs: AC SE100K, AC .875MM, Marriott Gold, Hertz something or other, Sandals Sapphire, etc
Posts: 822
Originally Posted by RatherBeInYOW View Post
Iím not sure if it has been posted elsewhere, but the hellhole that is B1-B3 is no more. B1-B3 now connected to B proper, and the new concourse that is BOS B which offers some real food, seating and power.

For when your AC flight out of BOS is inevitably delayed. Inevitably.
Yeah!!!!! but did they fix the B1 gate, or is it still stairs??

was going to fly in to BOS this morning, but decided BDL was a better option for getting to middle of nowhere western Connecticut.
Yhztraveller is offline  
Old Jun 25, 19, 7:38 pm
  #80  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AC SE*100K
Posts: 1,393
Originally Posted by Yhztraveller View Post

Yeah!!!!! but did they fix the B1 gate, or is it still stairs??

was going to fly in to BOS this morning, but decided BDL was a better option for getting to middle of nowhere western Connecticut.
There is some cladding from construction so I canít see but looking at the Halifax DH3 flight departing it looks like still stairs.
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 11:14 am
  #81  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: AMEX Centurion, UA Gold, Stariott Plat., HH Gold, National EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 292
Originally Posted by RatherBeInYOW View Post
Iím not sure if it has been posted elsewhere, but the hellhole that is B1-B3 is no more. B1-B3 now connected to B proper, and the new concourse that is BOS B which offers some real food, seating and power.

For when your AC flight out of BOS is inevitably delayed. Inevitably.
oh my god finally!!! Thanks!!!
secretalcoholic is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 5:08 pm
  #82  
Fairmont Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver BC
Programs: ALL Silver
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by RatherBeInYOW View Post
Iím not sure if it has been posted elsewhere, but the hellhole that is B1-B3 is no more. B1-B3 now connected to B proper, and the new concourse that is BOS B which offers some real food, seating and power.

For when your AC flight out of BOS is inevitably delayed. Inevitably.
This is incredible, long overdue news. According to the Logan website the security checkpoint is gone, anyone know if this is true?
PJLukasik is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 6:10 pm
  #83  
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 37
Security checkpoint was there Saturday, but if you were connecting you could just walk around to rest of terminal in both directions.

Duty free still on outside, though, so if you're wanting that it's best to cut through the center and re-clear security. Heck, I think it'd be faster to cut through and re-clear than walk all the way around anyway
bigev007 is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 6:14 pm
  #84  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: YYZ/YUL
Programs: UA 1K, AC nadda, DL, WS-Nadda
Posts: 1,475
Originally Posted by bigev007 View Post
Security checkpoint was there Saturday, but if you were connecting you could just walk around to rest of terminal in both directions.

Duty free still on outside, though, so if you're wanting that it's best to cut through the center and re-clear security. Heck, I think it'd be faster to cut through and re-clear than walk all the way around anyway
Is there a connection airside to get to the UC in the UA terminal.
yul36 is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 7:31 pm
  #85  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AC SE*100K
Posts: 1,393
Originally Posted by PJLukasik View Post
This is incredible, long overdue news. According to the Logan website the security checkpoint is gone, anyone know if this is true?
The old B1-B3 security checkpoint is now closed.

You need to go through the main security checkpoint, which has been redone. With TSA Pre there was 0 lineup during peak evening departure time, and even the non TSA Pre looked fairly quiet.
PJLukasik and Yhztraveller like this.
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 9:59 pm
  #86  
m.y
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC *E HHonors Gold
Posts: 780
Originally Posted by yul36 View Post
Is there a connection airside to get to the UC in the UA terminal.
Yes, now UC is connected with AC gates after security.
The Lev likes this.
m.y is online now  
Old Oct 23, 19, 4:06 pm
  #87  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, WS Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Accor/Hilton/Radisson/NH Gold
Posts: 10,133
Flew in to BOS on AC the other day for the first time since the renovations were completed (have only flown DL in and out of here the past few years). On arrival, no big deal, but man is it nice to be able to sit in the UC and just chill out until close to my flight. Nice lounge too. Great views. Just watched my inbound land and taxi in.

I think DL's A terminal is still nicer overall, but this makes it a lot more palatable to fly AC, especially departing.
ridefar and canadiancow like this.
Adam Smith is online now  
Old Oct 23, 19, 4:59 pm
  #88  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Disc, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 34,506
Originally Posted by Adam Smith View Post
Flew in to BOS on AC the other day for the first time since the renovations were completed (have only flown DL in and out of here the past few years). On arrival, no big deal, but man is it nice to be able to sit in the UC and just chill out until close to my flight. Nice lounge too. Great views. Just watched my inbound land and taxi in.

I think DL's A terminal is still nicer overall, but this makes it a lot more palatable to fly AC, especially departing.
Awesome to hear. Last time I was there was probably just after New Years 2018, and between bouts of cabotage, threats of denied boarding, threats of forced boarding, failed standby, concierge intervention, ... did I mention I love BOS?

Where was I... oh yeah. We ended up in the UC. But it meant we had to clear security two extra times (we did AC for the "failed standby" and "threats of forced boarding", then UA, then AC again).

Maybe one day I'll go to BOS for fun on AC.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Oct 23, 19, 6:28 pm
  #89  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: AMEX Centurion, UA Gold, Stariott Plat., HH Gold, National EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 292
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
Awesome to hear. Last time I was there was probably just after New Years 2018, and between bouts of cabotage, threats of denied boarding, threats of forced boarding, failed standby, concierge intervention, ... did I mention I love BOS?

Where was I... oh yeah. We ended up in the UC. But it meant we had to clear security two extra times (we did AC for the "failed standby" and "threats of forced boarding", then UA, then AC again).

Maybe one day I'll go to BOS for fun on AC.

Sadly that has not changed for AC in BOS.
canadiancow likes this.
secretalcoholic is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 10:13 pm
  #90  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Programs: AC SE; SPG Platnium; HH G
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Adam Smith View Post
Flew in to BOS on AC the other day for the first time since the renovations were completed (have only flown DL in and out of here the past few years). On arrival, no big deal, but man is it nice to be able to sit in the UC and just chill out until close to my flight. Nice lounge too. Great views. Just watched my inbound land and taxi in.

I think DL's A terminal is still nicer overall, but this makes it a lot more palatable to fly AC, especially departing.
best part is to be able to do a true pre check through security and also have access to various places to eat while waiting through the delays on AC.

no more Boston nightmares ...
bigev007 and secretalcoholic like this.
YXUhomebase is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: