Old Oct 26, 2015, 2:06 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Adam Smith
General WiFi Tidbits
  • WiFi is managed by "WiFi Onboard", formerly known as "Gogo"
  • If you have a pass from WiFi OnBoard for their entire fleet that will generally work
  • You can redeem Aeroplan points for various packages ranging from one hour to the entire flight and at different speeds
  • Only one device at a time can use the plan. Once you log in with another device with your WiFi Onboard or Aeroplan account the other device will drop
  • Rouge J customers are now getting a one-time WiFi Onboard code for free WiFi on the flight instead of getting an iPad


Detailed WiFi roll-out info compiled by FTers:

Planes with WiFi (confirmed by FTers):
  • GoGo 2Ku satellite-based system (fast, large coverage area, including over water - coverage map):
    • 223
    • 319 (rouge)
    • 320 (rouge)
    • 321 (rouge)
    • 333 (except 946 and 948)
    • 788
    • 789 (except 860)
    • 77L
    • 77W
  • Gogo ATG system (old, slow, only works over land in North America, and not very far north - coverage map)
    • CR9: 701-721, 780-784 (note: a recent report from a Jazz pilot suggests the system may be disabled on 780-784)
    • E75
    • 319 (mainline)
    • 320 (mainline)
    • 321 (mainline)

Remaining planes planned for WiFi that are still without WiFI or unknown:
  • CR9: 722-730 (note: a recent report from a Jazz pilot suggests the system may be disabled on 780-784)
  • 7M8: all (AC had an embarrassing escapade with a Thales system that was completely inadequate. As of March 2023, they appear to have given up on this system. What they plan to replace it with is uncertain)
  • 789: 860
  • 333: 946, 948

Planes with no plans to install WiFi:
  • DH4s
  • CRJs


Air Canada Status WiFi Benefit
  • The benefit lasts for 12 months from the date of activation, which is the first date you sign into Gogo on an AC flight using your Aeroplan account. Date of benefit selection is irrelevant. It must be activated by the end of the calendar year.
  • Benefit currently works on all aircraft with WiFi, except possibly rouge. Some rouge aircraft have reported having access to the Aeroplan sign in which was required for the Aeroplan benefit to work. It's unknown whether the benefit will be extended to those fleets in the future.
  • The benefit says you can have up to 5 users but that is five unique devices in a one month period and not simultaneous usage. You will need to log off one device to use another device on the same flight. GoGo will apparently block if it sees too many devices in a one month period to avoid credential sharing.
  • There are huge problems with the Aeroplan login for this benefit. There is a high likelihood that you will need to attempt to log in numerous times for it to work, and it may not work at all. Chatting with WiFi Onboard support should get you a one-time code for free WiFi for the flight.
Print Wikipost

On-Board WIFI (2013-2022)

Old Feb 10, 2020, 1:44 pm
  #1351  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,946
Originally Posted by nw6338
Hi all, so it is safe to say all 787-9 do indeed have wifi now? The wifi tool on the AC website shows the flights the next few days all having it. Planning a flight MEL-YVR.
Discussed upthread. The AC website has not always been correct. It's possible, but not certain, that all 789s have WiFi.
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2020, 2:19 pm
  #1352  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL, UA
Posts: 427
Originally Posted by Adam Smith
Discussed upthread. The AC website has not always been correct. It's possible, but not certain, that all 789s have WiFi.

So i'll rephrase then: does anyone have recent anecdotal experience with a 787-9 not having wifi? Particularly interested in the YVR-MEL-YVR route?
nw6338 is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2020, 2:37 pm
  #1353  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,818
Originally Posted by nw6338
So i'll rephrase then: does anyone have recent anecdotal experience with a 787-9 not having wifi? Particularly interested in the YVR-MEL-YVR route?
Route is irrelevant.

No one has posted any experience on the specific aircraft we're unsure about. Everything we know is in the wiki.
Adam Smith likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 11, 2020, 8:26 am
  #1354  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: YYT
Programs: AC E35k, HHonors Silver
Posts: 743
Originally Posted by nw6338
So i'll rephrase then: does anyone have recent anecdotal experience with a 787-9 not having wifi? Particularly interested in the YVR-MEL-YVR route?
C-FNOG / Fin 832. AC857 on 7th Feb. No Wifi. Announced after take off.
AtlanticXpat is offline  
Old Feb 11, 2020, 10:49 am
  #1355  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL, UA
Posts: 427
Originally Posted by AtlanticXpat
C-FNOG / Fin 832. AC857 on 7th Feb. No Wifi. Announced after take off.
Noted, thank you.
nw6338 is offline  
Old Feb 17, 2020, 12:31 pm
  #1356  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 189
Originally Posted by AtlanticXpat
C-FNOG / Fin 832. AC857 on 7th Feb. No Wifi. Announced after take off.
Can also confirm FIN 832 on AC 881 CDG to YYZ on Feb. 17 - announced there was Wi-Fi but when Gogo loaded, there was an interrupted error. AC/Gogo need to do better to troubleshoot this stuff.

Outbound FIN 859 also didnít have Wi-Fi. Just ACWiFi network with no loading page.
MasterTravellr is offline  
Old Feb 22, 2020, 9:44 am
  #1357  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,818
270 did not have a better visible. Captain said AC wifi was down across the fleet.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 22, 2020, 10:56 am
  #1358  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,946
Originally Posted by canadiancow
Captain said AC wifi was down across the fleet.
Gogo issue, presumably?
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Feb 22, 2020, 10:58 am
  #1359  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,818
Originally Posted by Adam Smith
Gogo issue, presumably?
Without corroboration, I'd say he more likely works at the airport.
Adam Smith likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 22, 2020, 11:45 am
  #1360  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ideally YOW, but probably not
Programs: AC SE*MM
Posts: 1,879
Originally Posted by canadiancow
Without corroboration, I'd say he more likely works at the airport.
This week I had an SD try and tell me that there was an issue with Gogo. I politely informed him that no, I can't even see the in-plane network -- that isn't a Gogo problem, that is a this plane problem. He reluctantly went and reset the system and lo and behold the in-plane WiFi network comes up and I'm able to connect to the ground.
D582, canadiancow and Adam Smith like this.
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Old Feb 23, 2020, 9:14 am
  #1361  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 189
Originally Posted by RatherBeInYOW
This week I had an SD try and tell me that there was an issue with Gogo. I politely informed him that no, I can't even see the in-plane network -- that isn't a Gogo problem, that is a this plane problem. He reluctantly went and reset the system and lo and behold the in-plane WiFi network comes up and I'm able to connect to the ground.
SDs/FAs are very quick to default to blaming Gogo or say something like "we haven't reached our final cruising altitude yet" or "we can't reset the wifi" when they ultimately don't know what the issue is. I think they need to be better equipped to try to resolve the issue-- or at minimum know how to turn it off and turn it back on.
canadiancow likes this.
MasterTravellr is offline  
Old Feb 23, 2020, 12:41 pm
  #1362  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ideally YOW, but probably not
Programs: AC SE*MM
Posts: 1,879
Originally Posted by MasterTravellr
SDs/FAs are very quick to default to blaming Gogo or say something like "we haven't reached our final cruising altitude yet" or "we can't reset the wifi" when they ultimately don't know what the issue is. I think they need to be better equipped to try to resolve the issue-- or at minimum know how to turn it off and turn it back on.
Indeed.

I learned this week that on the ACr 767s there is a button above the SDs jump seat that says "Internet". A restart involves toggling it!
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Old Feb 23, 2020, 1:45 pm
  #1363  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 599
At Jazz, FAs are instructed to never touch the switch for the Internet (inside the J wardrobe), unless there is some emergency situation that requires it.
AC681 is online now  
Old Feb 23, 2020, 2:04 pm
  #1364  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,818
Originally Posted by AC681
At Jazz, FAs are instructed to never touch the switch for the Internet (inside the J wardrobe), unless there is some emergency situation that requires it.
I don't like this policy, and luckily it isn't followed.

I've had Jazz flights where wifi does not work (confirmed by multiple pax), but a reset solves the issue.

I do not think they should reset it because one passenger has an issue (I've had my internet cut out because someone else had a problem and they reset it), but if NO ONE can connect, a reset is absolutely warranted.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Feb 23, 2020, 2:08 pm
  #1365  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,946
Originally Posted by canadiancow
I do not think they should reset it because one passenger has an issue (I've had my internet cut out because someone else had a problem and they reset it), but if NO ONE can connect, a reset is absolutely warranted.
Agreed. Good SDs pay attention - a few have asked me whether I'm using the Internet, and how it's working, after some other pax complained that it wasn't working. But I've also had those times when it just cuts out because someone has complained and the SD has reset it without thinking to check whether anyone else was having issues.
RatherBeInYOW and canadiancow like this.
Adam Smith is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.