Old Oct 26, 2015, 2:06 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Adam Smith
General WiFi Tidbits
  • WiFi is managed by "WiFi Onboard", formerly known as "Gogo"
  • If you have a pass from WiFi OnBoard for their entire fleet that will generally work
  • You can redeem Aeroplan points for various packages ranging from one hour to the entire flight and at different speeds
  • Only one device at a time can use the plan. Once you log in with another device with your WiFi Onboard or Aeroplan account the other device will drop
  • Rouge J customers are now getting a one-time WiFi Onboard code for free WiFi on the flight instead of getting an iPad


Detailed WiFi roll-out info compiled by FTers:

Planes with WiFi (confirmed by FTers):
  • GoGo 2Ku satellite-based system (fast, large coverage area, including over water - coverage map):
    • 223
    • 319 (rouge)
    • 320 (rouge)
    • 321 (rouge)
    • 333 (except 946 and 948)
    • 788
    • 789 (except 860)
    • 77L
    • 77W
  • Gogo ATG system (old, slow, only works over land in North America, and not very far north - coverage map)
    • CR9: 701-721, 780-784 (note: a recent report from a Jazz pilot suggests the system may be disabled on 780-784)
    • E75
    • 319 (mainline)
    • 320 (mainline)
    • 321 (mainline)

Remaining planes planned for WiFi that are still without WiFI or unknown:
  • CR9: 722-730 (note: a recent report from a Jazz pilot suggests the system may be disabled on 780-784)
  • 7M8: all (AC had an embarrassing escapade with a Thales system that was completely inadequate. As of March 2023, they appear to have given up on this system. What they plan to replace it with is uncertain)
  • 789: 860
  • 333: 946, 948

Planes with no plans to install WiFi:
  • DH4s
  • CRJs


Air Canada Status WiFi Benefit
  • The benefit lasts for 12 months from the date of activation, which is the first date you sign into Gogo on an AC flight using your Aeroplan account. Date of benefit selection is irrelevant. It must be activated by the end of the calendar year.
  • Benefit currently works on all aircraft with WiFi, except possibly rouge. Some rouge aircraft have reported having access to the Aeroplan sign in which was required for the Aeroplan benefit to work. It's unknown whether the benefit will be extended to those fleets in the future.
  • The benefit says you can have up to 5 users but that is five unique devices in a one month period and not simultaneous usage. You will need to log off one device to use another device on the same flight. GoGo will apparently block if it sees too many devices in a one month period to avoid credential sharing.
  • There are huge problems with the Aeroplan login for this benefit. There is a high likelihood that you will need to attempt to log in numerous times for it to work, and it may not work at all. Chatting with WiFi Onboard support should get you a one-time code for free WiFi for the flight.
Print Wikipost

On-Board WIFI (2013-2022)

Old Jul 28, 2015, 2:47 pm
  #181  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,813
Originally Posted by jaysona
I don't see AC implementing satellite based Internet access anytime time soon, the cost is just too high, especially since they have already committed to installing the terrestrial based system.
That's fine, but then they can't expect me to choose them over other airlines.

For the longest time, the fact that AC had IFE on every aircraft was a rather large selling point.

Now, the fact that other airlines have wifi on (almost) every aircraft is a large selling point.

If you live somewhere that has a nonstop to your destination, I can understand why you might take it over anything else. But even cities as large as YOW have so few non-stop options and so many choices for one-stop flights. In that situation, wifi is going to weigh fairly heavily in my purchasing decision. Maybe not as much as all aisle access, but fairly heavily.

Originally Posted by jaysona
Aside from the few FT'ers, I wonder how large the customer base is for wifi on AC?

I do enjoy having wifi on the Rapidair flight though.
If people weren't willing to pay for it, I doubt every airline would be adding it.

I'm not saying I don't want it on Rapidair, but I'd much rather have it on a 13 hour flight than a 45 minute flight.

I guess the other problem is they're not even putting the terrestrial system onto the wide-bodies. So I have the choice of wifi or transcontinental business class. Not a choice I like making
canadiancow is online now  
Old Jul 28, 2015, 2:54 pm
  #182  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, BA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 18,877
I was pretty impressed with the T-Mobile HotSpot service on LH (other than some lapses over the North Sea etc)

It was an 11 hour flight and having wifi was a welcome treat.
Best 17 Euros I ever spent (24-hour pass).

I was amused to be able to send this out while up at 34,000 (if for no other reason than because it was possible)





P.S. You can connect via HotSpot wifi or even GSM, and the logos are on the walls in the cabins. http://www.lufthansa.com/de/en/Fly-Net


I'm just saying that this paid feature would be so nice on my AC NRT trips.
24left is offline  
Old Jul 28, 2015, 2:59 pm
  #183  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,813
Originally Posted by 24left
P.S. You can connect via HotSpot wifi or even GSM, and the logos are on the walls in the cabins. http://www.lufthansa.com/de/en/Fly-Net
I've never had the GSM work on an LH flight. I can't even see any GSM networks from my phone, let alone connect. And you don't want to pay those rates anyway
canadiancow is online now  
Old Jul 28, 2015, 3:17 pm
  #184  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, BA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 18,877
Originally Posted by canadiancow
I've never had the GSM work on an LH flight. I can't even see any GSM networks from my phone, let alone connect. And you don't want to pay those rates anyway

My point was that wifi was available on that long flight. It was reasonably priced and was nice to have.
24left is offline  
Old Jul 28, 2015, 3:57 pm
  #185  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: AA Plat, VS Gold, DL Plat, CO Gold, UA Prem Ex, US Plat
Posts: 44
I flew YYZ-LAX yesterday on an A320. The wifi was $19 when I first logged in and $29 later in the flight for a "flight pass". Is this dynamic pricing the norm?
craigf is offline  
Old Jul 28, 2015, 4:21 pm
  #186  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,813
For $16, you can buy a 24 hour pass that just sits in your account until you first activate it.

I think expecting the in-air pricing for a 5 hour flight to be much less than that is a little hopeful.

I'm not sure about the dynamic pricing. That sounds a little strange.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Jul 29, 2015, 4:45 am
  #187  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 557
Originally Posted by craigf
I flew YYZ-LAX yesterday on an A320. The wifi was $19 when I first logged in and $29 later in the flight for a "flight pass". Is this dynamic pricing the norm?
Dynamic pricing is now the norm. GOGO has been compiling (and programming) user data and are now charging according to demand much like the airline does with seat pricing.
Hello again is offline  
Old Jul 31, 2015, 5:12 pm
  #188  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E50K (*G) WS Gold | SPG/Fairmont Plat Hilton/Hyatt Diamond Marriott Silver | National Exec Elite
Posts: 19,284
Ugh, wow. Wifi isn't even that old yet on the birds that have it.

A321 right now. Wifi sticker. As I board, I ask the crew if it really has wifi. They then say..."sadly, it's broken".

It hasn't even been that long!! SIGH.
superangrypenguin is offline  
Old Jul 31, 2015, 5:30 pm
  #189  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Why? Why? Zed! / Why? You? Elle! / Gee! Are You!
Programs: Irrelevant
Posts: 3,543
Originally Posted by superangrypenguin
Ugh, wow. Wifi isn't even that old yet on the birds that have it.

A321 right now. Wifi sticker. As I board, I ask the crew if it really has wifi. They then say..."sadly, it's broken".

It hasn't even been that long!! SIGH.
"broken" is most likely an incorrect term, I doubt the system is actually "broken"

It is more likely a case of being "non-functional" for any number of technical reasons that are beyond the understanding of the crew - hence the use of the word "broken".

Non-functional !== broken.

Last edited by jaysona; Jul 31, 2015 at 5:37 pm
jaysona is offline  
Old Jul 31, 2015, 9:37 pm
  #190  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,714
Originally Posted by jaysona
"broken" is most likely an incorrect term, I doubt the system is actually "broken"

It is more likely a case of being "non-functional" for any number of technical reasons that are beyond the understanding of the crew - hence the use of the word "broken".

Non-functional !== broken.
void applyClarificationn() {
if (EndUserCannotOperate){
operational = "No";
}
Return operational ;
}
Sean Peever is offline  
Old Jul 31, 2015, 10:57 pm
  #191  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,714
Originally Posted by jaysona
"broken" is most likely an incorrect term, I doubt the system is actually "broken"

It is more likely a case of being "non-functional" for any number of technical reasons that are beyond the understanding of the crew - hence the use of the word "broken".

Non-functional !== broken.
Originally Posted by Sean Peever
void applyClarificationn() {
if (EndUserCannotOperate){
operational = "No";
}
Return operational ;
}
Also when I have more time and less beer I could implement JSON and make things run a lot smoother.


oooooOOOOooOOOo get it, programmer joke and name pun!
Sean Peever is offline  
Old Aug 1, 2015, 5:08 am
  #192  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Why? Why? Zed! / Why? You? Elle! / Gee! Are You!
Programs: Irrelevant
Posts: 3,543
Originally Posted by Sean Peever
Also when I have more time and less beer I could implement JSON and make things run a lot smoother.


oooooOOOOooOOOo get it, programmer joke and name pun!
I lol'd in the plane, crew looking at me with a slightly bemused expression! Thanks for the early morning laughs! ^
jaysona is offline  
Old Aug 1, 2015, 10:13 am
  #193  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: sqrt(-united states of apologist)
Programs: *$ Green
Posts: 5,403
Originally Posted by Sean Peever
Also when I have more time and less beer I could implement JSON and make things run a lot smoother.


oooooOOOOooOOOo get it, programmer joke and name pun!
I had to google that (non-programmer confirmed).

Excellent work, I would have laughed aggressively as well ^
SparseFlyer is offline  
Old Aug 3, 2015, 6:58 am
  #194  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan SE AND 1MM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Bonvoy Platinum , L'Accor Platinum
Posts: 9,604
What is the status of on-board internet on AC

Can one tell me what is the status of the internet on AC planes?

Which routes is it being offered?

How do I know that it is offered on that route (just like I know on UA planes)?

I see nothing in the enroute magazine about describing the internet services on the plane?

If the internet is being offered on a certain route, where would I find the listed charges? Where would I find the log-in instructions?
FlyerGoldII is offline  
Old Aug 3, 2015, 7:09 am
  #195  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 557
Originally Posted by FlyerGoldII
Can one tell me what is the status of the internet on AC planes?

Which routes is it being offered?

How do I know that it is offered on that route (just like I know on UA planes)?

I see nothing in the enroute magazine about describing the internet services on the plane?

If the internet is being offered on a certain route, where would I find the listed charges? Where would I find the log-in instructions?
As best I know it is now offered on all 320 series and E90 series planes. all four planes I have been on in the last two weeks have had it. The IC usually announces that it is available on board. it only kicks in once the plane is above 10,000 feet and shuts down as it goes below that on descent.
Hello again is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.