Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Cannot upgrade codeshares on an itinerary originating in PHL...

Cannot upgrade codeshares on an itinerary originating in PHL...

Old Sep 25, 12, 9:53 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, HH Gold, MR Plat, IHG Spire, Accor Silver, National EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 3,722
Cannot upgrade codeshares on an itinerary originating in PHL...

Now, it's quite a well-known fact that you can request upgrades at the airport for codeshares on AC metal. A less known fact is that you cannot request codeshare eUpgrades from stations where AC does not do its own ground handling, e.g. PHL, SEA. Combine the two together and you get a pretty disappointing result. I flew into YYZ from PHL about an hour ago and I'm currently waiting for my flight to YYC. I booked the UA codeshares in order to use up a $200 e-cert, and they booked into T+ on AC, so it was quite a cheap way to get a couple of segments towards my obligatory 5 minimum segments this year. I thought, "great, I paid $37 a/i o/w for a transcon in T+ and I'd have a chance to put a dent in the 110 credits idling in my account." How I would be proven wrong.

PHL-YYZ I knew I couldn't upgrade because it's a codeshare and it's PHL. I couldn't care less because they gave me a W&B op-up anyway, and it's only a ~1.5h flight where you get a bag of nuts and a drink for in-flight service. Now YYZ-YYC, I was hoping for an upgrade, even if it's only an A320. It was not to be. I requested at the MLL, agent said the system rejected it. That's what the concierge is for, right? When I contacted him, he said the system wouldn't let him do it either, and he was under the impression codeshares couldn't be eUpgraded. That was an innocent mistake on his part so I corrected him and after consulting the IT help desk, we collectively determined that the combination of the UA-marketed codeshare and the PHL point of origin ruled me out for upgrades out of YYZ. I've never heard something so ridiculous in my life. AC staff were all good to me as usual but the IT let me down once again. Now I'm starting to think I should have booked PHL-SFO-YYC on UA and pocketed a few extra miles instead... AC will be hearing about this in an e-mail from me, and I'm almost definitely not going to try for requalification next year if eUpgrades on codeshares continues to be not only a PITA, but somtimes an impossibility.

(I rarely rage-post, so forgive me I've been drinking AC's booze like there is no tomorrow to get revenge.)
Santander is offline  
Old Sep 25, 12, 10:01 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Little dot on map
Programs: AA-PlatLife, BA-Gold, SPG-LTP, HL-DIA
Posts: 25,737
The consolation is that maybe its only a short flight?
Guy Betsy is offline  
Old Sep 26, 12, 1:34 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: YVR
Programs: AC S100K, Bonvoy Titanium
Posts: 4,341
This is outlined in detail here:
http://www.aircanada.com/en/aeroplan....html#airports

Specifically if you're travelling from any of the non-AC stations AND on a codeshare - you're not able to request an upgrade, period. Looks like the additional point from OPs experience is that if you itinerary starts from any of the non-AC stations then the entire PNR is ineligible for upgrade.

The list from their site is:

United States
Charlotte, NC (CLT)
Cleveland, OH (CLE)
Columbus, OH (CMH)
Detroit, MI (DTW)
Indianapolis, IN (IND)
Kansas City, MO (MCI)
Milwaukee, WI (MKE)
Minneapolis, MN (MSP)
Philadelphia, PA (PHL)
Pittsburgh, PA (PIT)
Portland, OR (PDX)
Raleigh-Durham, NC (RDU)
Seattle/Tacoma, WA (SEA)
St-Louis, MO (STL)
Washington, DC, Dulles (IAD)

Cuba
Cayo Largo del Sur (CYO)
Ciego de Avila (AVI)
Holguin (HOG)
yvr76 is offline  
Old Sep 26, 12, 4:23 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: YYZ / IAH
Programs: AC SE MM, UA MP 1K, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Platinum, hhonors Diamond
Posts: 3,010
Originally Posted by yvr76 View Post
This is outlined in detail here:
http://www.aircanada.com/en/aeroplan....html#airports

Specifically if you're travelling from any of the non-AC stations AND on a codeshare - you're not able to request an upgrade, period. Looks like the additional point from OPs experience is that if you itinerary starts from any of the non-AC stations then the entire PNR is ineligible for upgrade.

The list from their site is:
This is not exactly true. You cannot request an upgrade on a code share flight at the departure airport as all upgrades are cleared in advance and you cannot clear a code share in advance; however, this applies only to the flights departing from that airport. On the next leg you should be able to standby for the upgrade as that airport will be under the control of ACs reservation system that can process day of upgrades for code share flights.

Next time do an online check-in on AC.com from YYZ-YYC and request your upgrade at check-in. At PHL you can check in for your first flight and they won't be able to print a boarding pass for the second flight as you will be cleared. Done this many time for a SEA-YVR-YYZ where you run into the same problem of not being able to get on the standby list out of YVR if you start with a UA check-in at SEA.
yyzgigi is offline  
Old Sep 26, 12, 12:35 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, HH Gold, MR Plat, IHG Spire, Accor Silver, National EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 3,722
Originally Posted by yyzgigi View Post
Next time do an online check-in on AC.com from YYZ-YYC and request your upgrade at check-in.
Was this on an AC ticket or a UA ticket? I know you can OLCI a UA ticket for YYZ-YYC but you can't request upgrades on codeshares yourself ime. Maybe I should have called AC Rez the night before or something to see if there was anything they could do to put me on the upgrade list.
Santander is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread