Baggage question

Old Aug 15, 12, 4:53 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Singapore
Programs: KF Gold
Posts: 139
Baggage question

Hi all,

Booked some tickets for my parents on AC for the first time (they live in Australia) to go from YUL-IAD and then IAD-YYC and finally YYC-YVR When booking, both flights mentioned that there will be a $25 checked baggage fee for the first bag for the first 2 sectors. I just wanted to ask if this fee has already been taken into account in the ticket price or whether they have to pay this fee when they are at the airport. Also, when they travel from IAD-YYC, this is via YYZ so I assume they will have to go through Canadian immigration and customs in YYZ first before boarding the flight to YYC? Thanks in advance for your help.

Mingster
mingster23 is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 5:18 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MCO
Programs: A member of Generation "Y"
Posts: 866
The baggage fee is not included in the ticket fee, so they will have to pay it at check-in if they are checking bags. They will clear customs in YYC.
LizzyDragon84 is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 8:18 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: AC MM E50 , Former SPG, now Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,579
Originally Posted by LizzyDragon84 View Post
The baggage fee is not included in the ticket fee, so they will have to pay it at check-in if they are checking bags. They will clear customs in YYC.

If IAD-YYC is indeed IAD-YYZ-YYC, then they will clear customs and immigration in Torono.
IluvSQ is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 8:47 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Singapore
Programs: KF Gold
Posts: 139
thanks LizzyDragon84 and IluvSQ!
mingster23 is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 9:21 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MCO
Programs: A member of Generation "Y"
Posts: 866
Originally Posted by IluvSQ View Post
Originally Posted by LizzyDragon84 View Post
The baggage fee is not included in the ticket fee, so they will have to pay it at check-in if they are checking bags. They will clear customs in YYC.

If IAD-YYC is indeed IAD-YYZ-YYC, then they will clear customs and immigration in Torono.
Oops, I meant YYZ. Thanks for the correction.
LizzyDragon84 is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 9:30 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: YYZ/YHM
Programs: Marriott Ambassador, Air Canada P25, United Silver, Accor Gold, Others on Rotation
Posts: 254
Any flights between Canada and the US will have a $25 bag check fee.

Assuming the YYC-YVR is its own unique segment your parents will be able to each check one free complimentary bag for that leg. This is because of competition with WestJet.
CanadianConnection33 is online now  
Old Aug 15, 12, 11:37 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Singapore
Programs: KF Gold
Posts: 139
Thanks CanadianConnection33. Yes they are on a separate segment as I booked all the segments separately. They are arriving on a JL flight into YVR but I've given them 3.5hrs to make the connection which hopefully is sufficient however is it worth me ringing Air Canada to see if they will interline their bags from JL to AC?
mingster23 is offline  
Old Aug 16, 12, 8:52 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: AC MM E50 , Former SPG, now Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,579
Originally Posted by mingster23 View Post
Thanks CanadianConnection33. Yes they are on a separate segment as I booked all the segments separately. They are arriving on a JL flight into YVR but I've given them 3.5hrs to make the connection which hopefully is sufficient however is it worth me ringing Air Canada to see if they will interline their bags from JL to AC?
Doesn"t matter since they will have to reclaim bags in YVR to clear
customs, then re-check anyway.
IluvSQ is offline  
Old Aug 16, 12, 3:40 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: YQR
Programs: NEXUS; alas, no status anymore.
Posts: 1,181
Originally Posted by IluvSQ View Post
Doesn"t matter since they will have to reclaim bags in YVR to clear
customs, then re-check anyway.
Matters a little. If interlined, no need to get the bags retagged. Just put them on the belt after Customs.
PhotoJim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: