Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Urgent: Need to change Aeroplan ticket, Aeroplan Call center closed till flight

Urgent: Need to change Aeroplan ticket, Aeroplan Call center closed till flight

Old Jul 27, 12, 2:22 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,128
Originally Posted by timj010 View Post
I understand that... but if I cancel the flight... can I book a new flight immediately using the miles from the cancelled flight? Otherwise I don't have enough additional aeroplan miles to book another ticket.
Cancellation can only be made up to 22 days before the date of the scheduled flight.
Clipper801 is offline  
Old Jul 27, 12, 2:23 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,128
Originally Posted by mabramovich View Post
Exactly -- can't the OP just same-day change after midnight online? All automatic and no need to call anyone, plus only $75.

Although I guess it's after 7 am so I hope it worked out for the OP...
When did the change fee drop to $75 from $90?

As recent as 2 weeks ago, I was charged $90 to change.
Clipper801 is offline  
Old Jul 27, 12, 2:56 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC
Posts: 353
$75 same day airport change fee is only available for AE tickets on AC metal. OP was on UA.

http://www2.aeroplan.com/LearnMoreReward.do

Last edited by vroom; Jul 27, 12 at 3:01 pm
vroom is offline  
Old Jul 28, 12, 3:48 am
  #19  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,153
Originally Posted by vroom View Post
$75 same day airport change fee is only available for AE tickets on AC metal. OP was on UA.

http://www2.aeroplan.com/LearnMoreReward.do
Generally, UA allows same day standby without any issue at all.
FlyerTalker683455 is offline  
Old Jul 28, 12, 4:38 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan SE AND 1MM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Bonvoy Platinum , L'Accor Platinum
Posts: 9,156
I wonder why the Mexico Aeroplan number is open 24/7 - and not the Canada or US corresponding number?


Originally Posted by AZbba View Post
http://www1.aeroplan.com/help/contact_us.do

There are other aeroplan contacts some of which would be open now. The mexico one is open 24/7.
FlyerGoldII is offline  
Old Jul 28, 12, 9:33 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YYZ
Programs: AMEX AC CX UA AA DL
Posts: 2,991
Because labour and other costs in Mexico are much lower.
beep88 is offline  
Old Jul 28, 12, 10:08 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flew over the Equator 55 times last 3 years
Programs: LANPASS Comodoro (Emerald), others
Posts: 2,957
Originally Posted by FlyerGoldII View Post
I wonder why the Mexico Aeroplan number is open 24/7 - and not the Canada or US corresponding number?
Yes, but the Mexico centre is more limited in what they can do... I seem to recall they couldn’t process my credit card and had to do a three-way call with the Maritime centre here...

FYI the AC centre in Lima only works business hours so any call to them off hours gets automatically routed to MEX.

...and remember the world is full of different time zones.
bingocallerb22 is offline  
Old Jul 28, 12, 3:08 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: Non-status paid F/J (best value for $$$)
Posts: 3,972
Why can't Aeroplan just open a call center in say India (and train those agents properly) and have all after hours and overflow calls routed there?

By not being open 24/7 is a disservice to passengers.

Most other airline FF programs have call centers that open 24/7.
daniellam is offline  
Old Jul 28, 12, 6:38 pm
  #24  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,153
Originally Posted by daniellam View Post
Why can't Aeroplan just open a call center in say India (and train those agents properly) and have all after hours and overflow calls routed there?

By not being open 24/7 is a disservice to passengers.

Most other airline FF programs have call centers that open 24/7.
Why does it hve to be run by AP? AC reservations could handle
Calls. It's just another fare code. Silly really.
FlyerTalker683455 is offline  
Old Jul 29, 12, 12:24 am
  #25  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YVR
Programs: AC*SE, SPG PLAT, National Executive
Posts: 1,522
Originally Posted by daniellam View Post
Why can't Aeroplan just open a call center in say India (and train those agents properly) and have all after hours and overflow calls routed there?

By not being open 24/7 is a disservice to passengers.

Most other airline FF programs have call centers that open 24/7.
I imagine there would be some kind of work action if they tried.
I would think Quebec would not be happy to loose all those jobs to India.
mendy7511 is offline  
Old Jul 30, 12, 6:19 am
  #26  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: A3&O6 Gold,IC AMB & HH Diamond
Posts: 13,615
Originally Posted by daniellam View Post
Why can't Aeroplan just open a call center in say India (and train those agents properly) and have all after hours and overflow calls routed there?

By not being open 24/7 is a disservice to passengers.

Most other airline FF programs have call centers that open 24/7.
It will be a dummy call center, in that everytime you call they will say, sorry sir, we will get back to you. That's when the Canadian center opens.
djjaguar64 is offline  
Old Jul 30, 12, 7:37 am
  #27  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa
Programs: BA Bronze,ex-AC*SE,ex-AC*E,ex-AC*P, Marriott Platinum, Starwood Gold, Fairmont Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 254
Originally Posted by Allvest View Post
Generally, UA allows same day standby without any issue at all.
Sorry to go OT, but the comment above interested me. We are returning from a mini-RTW reward trip in November ICN-ORD-YOW with a 10 hour stop-over in ORD. The ORD - YOW leg is on UA.

If UA are more accommodating in allowing same day standby's, could we get we request a same day standby if our luggage was checked ICN - YOW or would we have to short check our luggage to ORD?

Thanks, and apologies again for drifting OT.

ex-egll
ex-egll is offline  
Old Jul 30, 12, 9:14 am
  #28  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,153
Originally Posted by ex-egll View Post
Sorry to go OT, but the comment above interested me. We are returning from a mini-RTW reward trip in November ICN-ORD-YOW with a 10 hour stop-over in ORD. The ORD - YOW leg is on UA.

If UA are more accommodating in allowing same day standby's, could we get we request a same day standby if our luggage was checked ICN - YOW or would we have to short check our luggage to ORD?

Thanks, and apologies again for drifting OT.

ex-egll
No standby changes with checked luggage.
FlyerTalker683455 is offline  
Old Jul 30, 12, 9:35 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Aeroplan, Delta, Starwood, Fairmount
Posts: 2,302
Originally Posted by ex-egll View Post
Sorry to go OT, but the comment above interested me. We are returning from a mini-RTW reward trip in November ICN-ORD-YOW with a 10 hour stop-over in ORD. The ORD - YOW leg is on UA.

If UA are more accommodating in allowing same day standby's, could we get we request a same day standby if our luggage was checked ICN - YOW or would we have to short check our luggage to ORD?

Thanks, and apologies again for drifting OT.

ex-egll
I have (with carry on only) both been able to get on an earlier UA flight at ORD and been able to offload from an UA flight and fly an earlier Air Canada flight at zero cost.

Both times I was travelling on a F mini RTW reward ticket. I went to the UA desk that is maybe a transfer or ?? desk right by the gates.
Yukonprince is offline  
Old Jul 30, 12, 10:01 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa
Programs: BA Bronze,ex-AC*SE,ex-AC*E,ex-AC*P, Marriott Platinum, Starwood Gold, Fairmont Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 254
Thanks for the responses, I guess the question I should have asked is, will having luggage checked through from ICN to Ottawa preclude me from getting a same day standby?

ex-egll
ex-egll is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: