YYZ - transfer from US to Domestic

Old May 21, 12, 9:53 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Aeroplan, Delta, Starwood, Fairmount
Posts: 2,286
YYZ - transfer from US to Domestic

Sorry - I do know this question has been answered before but unable to find in search...

Can you transfer without going through security again - I only have carry-on if that makes a difference...
Yukonprince is offline  
Old May 21, 12, 9:59 am
  #2  
ucc
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SEA
Posts: 248
Originally Posted by Yukonprince View Post
Sorry - I do know this question has been answered before but unable to find in search...

Can you transfer without going through security again - I only have carry-on if that makes a difference...
I don't think so. You have to clear customs and immigration and then go out of security.
ucc is offline  
Old May 21, 12, 12:58 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan SE AND 1MM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Rewards Gold, Fairmont President Club Platinum
Posts: 9,002
If you go from US to Canada and connect onwards to a Canadian domestic flight (at any airport in Canada, including YYZ), you will have to pass through security clearance (CATSA).
FlyerGoldII is offline  
Old May 21, 12, 1:22 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Programs: AC E50K (*G), Westjet Gold
Posts: 765
Yes, you have to go through Canadian customs, and then you will end up near domestic arrivals.

You will have to go upstairs, near check in, and go through the regular security scan again. There is another security scan 1 level below the normal domestic security screening area in Terminal 1...Sometimes it's faster, and sometimes they have 1 or 2 lanes open and it takes forever....

I usually connect in toronto, and have no problems with going from plane, through customs, through security, and back to domestic departures in 45 mins. Had 75 mins last summer for a connection on a friday at 1pm....with checked bags, had time for a meal before my connection!
nave888 is offline  
Old May 21, 12, 5:22 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DEN
Programs: UA
Posts: 76
Clearing Canadian Customs requires picking up your (non-sterile) checked baggage (or, in your case, walking through that area), hence the requirement for re-screening.
bagelstan is offline  
Old May 22, 12, 8:38 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Aeroplan, Delta, Starwood, Fairmount
Posts: 2,286
Thank you everyone - much appreciated!
Yukonprince is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread