Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

AC gate agent refused to change my FF number

AC gate agent refused to change my FF number

Old May 7, 12, 3:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SEA
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 93
AC gate agent refused to change my FF number

Flew AC737 YYZ-SFO this morning. Due to e-upgrades and wanting status on my boarding pass, I entered my AC FF number online and e-upgraded. Won the Aerolotto at the gate, at which point I asked the gate agent to change my FF number (to credit it to another airline's program).

The gate agent said, "since you upgraded, you're not allowed to credit your miles elsewhere" and refused to change it. I told her to ask her supervisor, who looked puzzled, thought about it for a few seconds, and re-iterated her original statement that it's not allowed.

What's your experience with this? And if this is actually the case, how can I use my AC upgrades this year but at the same time credit to another FF program to get status next year?
alexthe5th is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 3:41 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,987
Why wouldnt it be allowed???

I use my dad's e-upgrades, but there is no chance in hell I am crediting my flights to Aeroplan.

I've both changed the number at OLCI and at check in.
rankourabu is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 3:44 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SEA
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 93
Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
Why wouldnt it be allowed???
No idea. The gate agent was particularly snarky about this too, which I thought weird.

Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
I've both changed the number at OLCI and at check in.
Does changing the FF number online after you've submitted your upgrade request (and are waitlisted) affect your position on the waitlist or ability to upgrade?

Last edited by alexthe5th; May 7, 12 at 3:49 pm
alexthe5th is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 3:50 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,987
Originally Posted by alexthe5th View Post
Does changing the FF number online after you've submitted your upgrade request (and are waitlisted) affect your position on the waitlist or ability to upgrade?
I've only done it after already upgraded, so cant comment.
rankourabu is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 4:20 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FRA
Programs: AC 50K 1MM, UA 1K, Hilton LT Diamond, Marriott Gold Elite, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,716
Originally Posted by alexthe5th View Post
Does changing the FF number online after you've submitted your upgrade request (and are waitlisted) affect your position on the waitlist or ability to upgrade?
AFAIK you need to have your Aeroplan number attached to your booking as long as you are not confirmed in R class. I know of a few people who successfully changed their FFP at the gate in YYZ after they won Aerolotto but now reading your story apparently YMMV.
ACflyerDE is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 4:45 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Anywhere I need to be.
Programs: OW Emerald, *A Gold, NEXUS, GE, ABTC/APEC, South Korea SES, eIACS, PP, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 16,044
Can't the MLL agents do it?
AA_EXP09 is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 5:11 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YVR
Programs: AC E75, SPG Plat, HH peon-by-choice (ex Gold)
Posts: 8,090
Originally Posted by AA_EXP09 View Post
Can't the MLL agents do it?
Yes, they can, but not if you want to win Aerolotto at the gate.
Braindrain is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:13 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SEA
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 93
Originally Posted by Braindrain View Post
Yes, they can, but not if you want to win Aerolotto at the gate.
So what actually happens in the system? The instant your FF number changes, it boots you off the waitlist?
alexthe5th is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:22 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 20,554
You received a benefit using your AC frequent flyer number and you now want to enter another number to credit to a different program.

The agent was right!

You fly with your AC upgrade or you lose the upgrade ...and credit to the competition.

You can't have it both ways.
airbus320 is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:27 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,765
Originally Posted by airbus320 View Post
You received a benefit using your AC frequent flyer number and you now want to enter another number to credit to a different program.
I guess you're going to say that similarly you shouldn't get MLL access or free bags or priority checkin or advance seat selection or anything at all, and that any FF program switch necessarily means numerous months of a gap in benefits.

Most of us would find this an extreme position.
jjclancy is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:29 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 87,070
I guess AC doesn't allow you to enter two FF numbers, one for credit and one for status?
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:32 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 20,554
Originally Posted by jjclancy View Post
I guess you're going to say that similarly you shouldn't get MLL access or free bags or priority checkin or advance seat selection or anything at all, and that any FF program switch necessarily means numerous months of a gap in benefits.

Most of us would find this an extreme position.

A lot of these benefits you describe are Star A Gold. One receives them no matter who you credit your miles to....

eUpgrades is an AC program.

Nothing extreme about that.....
airbus320 is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:38 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Anywhere I need to be.
Programs: OW Emerald, *A Gold, NEXUS, GE, ABTC/APEC, South Korea SES, eIACS, PP, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 16,044
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
I guess AC doesn't allow you to enter two FF numbers, one for credit and one for status?
Yes, they do.
AA_EXP09 is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:39 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,765
Originally Posted by airbus320 View Post
A lot of these benefits you describe are Star A Gold. One receives them no matter who you credit your miles to....
It's a Star Alliance benefit that you can credit miles from any flight to any carrier.
jjclancy is offline  
Old May 7, 12, 6:47 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K2MM ACMME50 SQPPS SPG PLAT(LTP) HHDiamond Marriott PLAT
Posts: 4,232
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
I guess AC doesn't allow you to enter two FF numbers, one for credit and one for status?
Yes, AC does. AC has 2 fields. I do it regularly now that I fly more often on AC due to their enhance customer service & SE benefits.. WL for Upgrade & credited miles to UA.
My upgrades have always cleared with UA MP # for FF credit. AC SE # for my SE benefits.

AC gets the lionshare of my fare instead of UA.
yyzprincess is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: