Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Upgrading on AC007 YYZ to HKG. Not true direct :(

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 1, 2012, 9:41 pm
Original Poster

Hi Everyone

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this stuff and when I called Air Canada they couldn't answer me.

I'm booked on AC007 YYZ to HKG and am waitlisted for an upgrade (did it at exactly 8am 4 days before flight). However, it's not a true direct flight as it stops in Vancouver.

When I check seat availability for buying first class tickets there are only 2 tickets left in 1st from YYZ to YVR but 7 left from YVR to HKG.

Now I'm assuming there are those who bought 1st class tickets for just the YYZ/YVR leg. However, does that mean that if YYZ-YVR is full but YVR-HKG is not full by the time I board, I am sent back to the bottom of the waitlist for upgrading the YVR-HKG leg?

They wouldn't let me waitlist that leg as well as my ticket is technically YYZ-HKG.

This will be so frustrating if there were seats available but I don't get it not because others waitlisted first but because of the short haul passengers

Thanks in advance!
Old Jan 1, 2012, 9:56 pm

Welcome to FT!

Unfortunately for you, this is a "true direct". You are getting the terms "direct" and "non-stop" mixed up.

• A non-stop flight is just that - it departs one city and arrives in another without stopping in other cities.
  • A direct flight is a flight with the same flight number from start to finish, but the flight can stop in intermediate cities along the way.

You might want to call AC to see if they can change your reservation to split your outbound and return into separate coupons for the YYZ-YVR and YVR-HKG legs. Most likely the agent won't be able/know how to do this for you. You might want to consider changing your flight to have a different flight to YVR and connect to AC007. Making changes may be expensive.