Upgrading using Aeroplan certificates

Old Mar 27, 01, 2:40 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 4,856
Upgrading using Aeroplan certificates

I'm flying AC YYZ-FRA and MUC-YYZ in 2 weeks. I'm booked with a fare class of H. What is the chance of me using my Aeroplan upgrade certificates even though they state I can only upgrade from Y or M class?
ChrisA330 is offline  
Old Mar 27, 01, 2:47 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: OGG, YYC
Programs: AA, AC
Posts: 3,616
Pretty close to zero.
After Burner is offline  
Old Mar 27, 01, 2:50 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Soon to be in YYZ. AC Prestige, AA Gold
Posts: 264
What is the chance of me using my Aeroplan upgrade certificates even though they state I can only upgrade from Y or M class?

I don't think there is any chance of the rules being bent. It wouldn't be fair for those who had to purchase Y/M class fares.
Flying Buffalo is offline  
Old Mar 27, 01, 4:29 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kingston, Ont, the limestone city
Posts: 974
If you have those certificates, you are probably a Prestige or Elite. The chance of using those coupons is next to zero. However, the chance of getting bumped up on an oversold flight is pretty good. You will be high on the list for consideration with an elite status... so pray for a full flight.
MoreMiles is offline  
Old Mar 27, 01, 7:34 pm
  #5  
Company Representative - Air Canada
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 24,215
ZERO.... unless the flight is overbooked by a lot.

If they were going to bent the rules, they will do it for the SEs who didn't buy qualifying fares first before considering Elites.
Andrew Yiu is offline  
Old Mar 28, 01, 6:07 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Shanghai
Programs: CX Diamond, HH Diamond, A-Club Gold, Hyatt Platinum, Shangri-la Jade, Intercon Gold Ambassador
Posts: 1,370
Next to none - in my experience AC are very strict on this for the YYZ -> Europe routes
ACORD is offline  
Old Mar 28, 01, 8:24 pm
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: I am usually found in YYC or GIG
Programs: UAL Premex
Posts: 1,858
I've tried and find it impossible to get international upgrades.

Within Canada however, it's no problem most of the time.
Carioca Canuck is offline  
Old Mar 28, 01, 8:24 pm
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: I am usually found in YYC or GIG
Programs: UAL Premex
Posts: 1,858
I've tried and find it impossible to get international upgrades.

Within Canada however, it's no problem most of the time.
Carioca Canuck is offline  
Old Mar 28, 01, 8:46 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,452
I remember back in the early days of the merger, I had CP Gold and AC Elite. AC would not upgrade me on their flight YYZ-LHR which was empty in J, CP would. So I endorsed ticket and went to T3, had a wonderful ride in Club Empress...
Fly Boy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread