Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Question: Award Redemption Question - is it valid?

Question: Award Redemption Question - is it valid?

Old Nov 15, 10, 7:29 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
Award Redemption Question - is it valid?

Here is my proposed routing

YYZ - ORD in Y *start*
ORD - NRT in J
NRT - SIN in J *stop*
SIN - HKG in J *stop*
HKG - ICN in J
ICN - LHR in J *stop*
LHR - MUC/FRA in J
MUC/FRA - IAD/EWR/BOS in J
IAD/EWR/BOS - YYZ in J *end*

/ = optional
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Nov 15, 10, 7:53 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ, but my heart is in Asia
Programs: AC-SE, CX-DM, DL-G, Hyatt-DM, Hilton-DM, Fairmont-Plt, Marriott-S, Accor-Plt, SPG-G, IHG-Plt
Posts: 4,395
If you do SIN-HKG-ICN-LHR-MUC-BOS-YYZ, you may be okay.

[KVS Availability Tool 5.8.0/Diamond - Reference: Maximum Permitted Mileage [MPM]: SIN-HKG-ICN-LHR-MUC-BOS-YYZ]
Code:
                                                                
CTY   DC   TPM   CUM   MPM  DC SUR  HGL   LWL   25M  XTRA       
SIN 3                                                           
HKG 3 EH  1594  1594  1912  EH  0M   318     0  2390     0      
SEL 3 EH  1295  2889  3459  EH  0M   570     0  4323     0      
LON 2 TS  5652  8541 11438  TS  0M  2897     0 14297     0      
MUC 2 EH   575  9116 11013  TS  0M  1897     0 13766     0      
BOS 1 AT  3841 12957 12392  AT  5M    54   565 15490     0      
YTO 1 WH   445 13402 12786  AT  5M    23   616 15982     0

But if you do IAD this would exceed the MPM on the return leg
[KVS Availability Tool 5.8.0/Diamond - Reference: Maximum Permitted Mileage [MPM]: SIN-HKG-ICN-LHR-MUC-IAD-YYZ]
Code:
                                                                
CTY   DC   TPM   CUM   MPM  DC SUR  HGL   LWL   25M  XTRA       
SIN 3                                                           
HKG 3 EH  1594  1594  1912  EH  0M   318     0  2390     0      
SEL 3 EH  1295  2889  3459  EH  0M   570     0  4323     0      
LON 2 TS  5652  8541 11438  TS  0M  2897     0 14297     0      
MUC 2 EH   575  9116 11013  TS  0M  1897     0 13766     0      
WAS 1 AT  4246 13362 12878  AT  5M   159   484 16097     0      
YTO 1 WH   343 13705 12786  AT 10M   359   280 15982     0
jarusoba is offline  
Old Nov 15, 10, 7:59 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E; Marriott Platinum
Posts: 2,407
It should be fine. You'll have to fly ICN-LHR on Asiana, and if they try to get you on backtracking, just claim that it is a published route.

I'm not sure why you're double connecting from London - was there no availability on AC? You're flying J, so there would be no FCT access...
DaveTO is offline  
Old Nov 15, 10, 8:19 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
i am stopping in LHR to visit some of my biz associates and friends....

unfortunately, direct flights are full... (my travel dates are also very near)

i guess i could do FRA/YUL.... what is the MPM for YYZ-SIN? and am i in excess or just at the point?
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Nov 15, 10, 9:13 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
this is my proposed trip summary. can someone check if its valid?

YYZ-ORD
ORD-NRT
NRT-SIN (stop)
SIN-HKG (stop)
HKG-ICN
ICN-LHR (stop)
LCY-FRA
FRA-YYZ

Last edited by global happy traveller; Nov 15, 10 at 9:28 pm
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Nov 15, 10, 9:14 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ, but my heart is in Asia
Programs: AC-SE, CX-DM, DL-G, Hyatt-DM, Hilton-DM, Fairmont-Plt, Marriott-S, Accor-Plt, SPG-G, IHG-Plt
Posts: 4,395
Originally Posted by global_happy_traveller View Post
what is the MPM for YYZ-SIN? and am i in excess or just at the point?
Pls refer to my post number 2 above. MPM YYZ-SIN is 12786 via the Atlantic. You could go 5% over it.
jarusoba is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 4:08 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ, but my heart is in Asia
Programs: AC-SE, CX-DM, DL-G, Hyatt-DM, Hilton-DM, Fairmont-Plt, Marriott-S, Accor-Plt, SPG-G, IHG-Plt
Posts: 4,395
Originally Posted by global_happy_traveller View Post
this is my proposed trip summary. can someone check if its valid?

YYZ-ORD
ORD-NRT
NRT-SIN (stop)
SIN-HKG (stop)
HKG-ICN
ICN-LHR (stop)
LCY-FRA
FRA-YYZ
This should be valid. The return is 12888 miles, less than 5% over the MPM.
jarusoba is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 3:29 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
how about this routing?

YYZ-EWR
EWR-LHR
LHR-NRT
NRT-SIN?
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 4:30 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 152
[KVS Availability Tool 5.8.0/Diamond - Reference: Maximum Permitted Mileage [MPM]: YYZ-EWR-LHR-NRT-SIN]
Code:
                                                                
CTY   DC   TPM   CUM   MPM  DC SUR  HGL   LWL   25M  XTRA       
YTO 1                                                           
NYC 1 WH   352   352                                            
LON 2 AT  3458  3810  4278  AT  0M   468     0  5347     0      
TYO 3 TS  6220 10030 12676  AT  0M  2646     0 15845     0      
SIN 3 EH  3312 13342 12786  AT  5M    83   556 15982     0
Sitting right on the border of that 5% grace...should work though.
Deathray is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 4:34 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
my latest routing is 13446.... a little over the 5% threshold of 13425.... do u think they will allow?

Last edited by global happy traveller; Nov 16, 10 at 4:44 pm
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 5:21 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 152
Debateable....the only way to be sure is to call in and give it a shot. It depends, on how their computers are feeling and what agent you get. I know agents used to have to validate MPM manually and a lot of them used to forget. These days I think the computer auto-validates, but, Ive had an agent override it manually (that was a case of no alternative availability though). Toss the dice and see what happens...worst case you waste an hour or so.
Deathray is offline  
Old Jan 30, 11, 2:40 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
does Aeroplan allow 65 mins connection time at LHR? J to J?
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Jan 30, 11, 4:44 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHL, NYC, DC
Posts: 9,488
wanted to say thank you to all fters for helping me out today, i booked my mom a 77W on NH, A388 on LH and A388 on SQ RTW.

A forth SQ 77W/A388 for her... so lucky



Once again, thank you FTers!
global happy traveller is offline  
Old Jan 30, 11, 8:13 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: aerplan elite
Posts: 105
Originally Posted by global_happy_traveller View Post
wanted to say thank you to all fters for helping me out today, i booked my mom a 77W on NH, A388 on LH and A388 on SQ RTW.

A forth SQ 77W/A388 for her... so lucky



Once again, thank you FTers!
Please post the itinerary.
khanbaba is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread