Not sure of best way

Old Oct 22, 10, 8:27 am
Original Poster

Programs: AC-SE
Not sure of best way

Hi - newly turned AE Elite member. Need your advice. I am doing work in Frankfurt and for a weekend am thinking about heading to Dublin and using AE miles for flight - I have a bunch to spend :-)

What is the best approach to get the best deal? Is going through AE the only option or can I go through some other way to get better rate in terms of miles cost? I can get FRA-DUB on LH return for a weekend in Nov for 20K miles via AE. Is there anyway to find a better miles deal or is this it?

I am new to the rewards cashing-in thing in terms of being a smart consumer of miles.

Thx in advance, Chris
Old Oct 22, 10, 8:34 am

With Aeroplan points, you must book through Aeroplan. But you can book on any Star Alliance carrier at Aeroplan's price point (20k), and if you book on a LH flight you'll save on fuel surcharges.

Intra-EU flights are often quite cheap though, if you're flexible, so your points might be better spent on a more exciting trip too. Check out http://www2.aeroplan.com/use_your_mi...p=staralliance for options.
Old Oct 22, 10, 8:54 am
Original Poster

Thanks cam_macleod!

The goal for me is to spend $0 for flying on this trip. But I see your point - booking AE miles must be done via AE, which I guess is not so much of a surprise.

That link to the grid you sent is magic - thanks!

And so I understand, it is 20K miles from EUR1 to EUR1 (in my case) - any other fees charges if I fly LH? Using the AE site I have not been able to see this answer - today many of the pages seem to be timing out on me :-( Not sure why this is. AE is sooooo slowwwww as a site.
Old Oct 22, 10, 8:58 am