Using my Wife's SSWU

Old Oct 14, 10, 12:08 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 68
Using my Wife's SSWU

Hi ALLL>>....


Whats the Possibility of me using my wife's SSWU. I know we wont be using it so its either i use it or loose it.

She was supposed to travel with me but has to cancel.

I hate it going to waste.... i know in Cathay I've been upgraded to Business before on the gate. I just asked and was given.

with AC. its been a pain.

YYZ-HKG.. i have seat 18B Reserve already ($75.00)
Get-Me is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 12:16 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I'm From Here
Programs: AC*SE & MM/*Wood Gold/HHonors Diamond/Marriott Silver/AirMiles Gold
Posts: 3,854
Non-Transferable

there is black and white...so you will be 100% out of luck
lcohen999 is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 12:19 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: YOW
Programs: Marriot Silver Elite
Posts: 440
Originally Posted by Get-Me View Post
Hi ALLL>>....


Whats the Possibility of me using my wife's SSWU. I know we wont be using it so its either i use it or loose it.

She was supposed to travel with me but has to cancel.

I hate it going to waste.... i know in Cathay I've been upgraded to Business before on the gate. I just asked and was given.

with AC. its been a pain.

YYZ-HKG.. i have seat 18B Reserve already ($75.00)
I've heard of people showing up at the gate and pulling out a spouses cert and saying "oops" grabbed the wrong one and getting away with it (I won't mention any names but I'm sure a few people know who I'm talking about ).

I've also heard of people who have tried it and been told they can't do it and finding out that the Y cabin is sold out and they can't get a seat in the back and either have to pay the difference in fare to get up front, or not get on the plane.

I guess it's up to the amount of confidence you have in your chances of winning the aerolottery.
Stussi613 is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 12:52 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 68
If only Cathay gives out AEROPLAN i would fly them..

i get a better chance being upgraded and for free. no certificate on thing like that..
Get-Me is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 12:57 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC*A
Posts: 4,856
Originally Posted by Get-Me View Post
If only Cathay gives out AEROPLAN i would fly them..

i get a better chance being upgraded and for free. no certificate on thing like that..
exactly how big is your sample size? n=1?
ChrisA330 is online now  
Old Oct 14, 10, 2:39 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: YQB
Programs: AC Altitude SE100K/1.75MM, Flying Blue Explorer, BA Executive Club Blue, AAdvantage Basic, ANA MC
Posts: 2,462
Would you try to do the same with her undergarments ?

Would you expect that to bring you the comfort that you seek ?

Perhaps CX is a better fit for you.
NordsFan is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 6:13 pm
  #7  
SYM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: YXU/BOS
Programs: AC SEMM
Posts: 902
I would not risk calling in for an UG as if it does go through you will lose your good seat.
I would show up early at the gate, explain the whole situation honestly and see what they say - worst they can do is say no.
But as other recent threads point out, this is one of AC's hardest routes to upgrade on. So chances are not good, period
SYM is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 7:38 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: YYZ/DLC
Programs: AP, CX Gold, HHonours Gold, SPG Gold, KL/AF Gold
Posts: 3,679
Originally Posted by Get-Me View Post
Hi ALLL>>....


Whats the Possibility of me using my wife's SSWU. I know we wont be using it so its either i use it or loose it.

She was supposed to travel with me but has to cancel.

I hate it going to waste.... i know in Cathay I've been upgraded to Business before on the gate. I just asked and was given.

with AC. its been a pain.

YYZ-HKG.. i have seat 18B Reserve already ($75.00)
Pay up and that pain will instantly go away.
payam81 is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 8:09 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: AC MM E50 , Former SPG, now Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,314
Smile

Originally Posted by Get-Me View Post
If only Cathay gives out AEROPLAN i would fly them..

..
I remember when they did!
And if they hadn't back then, I may have been an AE 2 million miler by now
instead of just a 1 MM. I had their Gold card for around 10 years
back in the 90's, earning AE miles all along.
IluvSQ is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 9:39 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E; Marriott Platinum
Posts: 2,407
The problem is it becomes a slippery slope. Today it is a spouse that wants to use it; tomorrow it becomes a sibling, then a cousin, then a boss, and finally SSWUs will be put up on Ebay...

Simply put, the cert has to be used by the person it is issued to
DaveTO is offline  
Old Oct 14, 10, 11:48 pm
  #11  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
use the cert, its a stupid policy of AC, and 90% of the agents will not notice

the best way to get change is to fight stupid archaic upgrade policy's of AC.
why fly is offline  
Old Oct 15, 10, 1:33 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: AC MM E50 , Former SPG, now Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,314
Originally Posted by why fly View Post
use the cert, its a stupid policy of AC, and 90% of the agents will not notice

the best way to get change is to fight stupid archaic upgrade policy's of AC.
No, the best way is to pay for it
IluvSQ is offline  
Old Oct 15, 10, 10:10 am
  #13  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
Originally Posted by IluvSQ View Post
No, the best way is to pay for it
if im going to pay for J bring on EK/SQ! AC business class is not worth paying for
why fly is offline  
Old Oct 15, 10, 12:42 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 11,902
Originally Posted by why fly View Post
if im going to pay for J bring on EK/SQ! AC business class is not worth paying for
I have had some very good Business class service on AC this year,that i paid for.
See my thread on AC 857 October 11th.
acysb87 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 10, 12:59 pm
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
Originally Posted by acysb87 View Post
I have had some very good Business class service on AC this year,that i paid for.
See my thread on AC 857 October 11th.
hey AC has made amazing improvements but if your going to PAY for business class why use AC if you can use SQ or EK? there is NO comparison, either airline is light years ahead of AC. Have you ever tried SQ then new J seat?

Also a "paid" business class seat on some airlines with an F class.... lets you upgrade to F for that price.;
why fly is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread