Wiki Posts
Search

Mini RTW Questions

Search this Thread

Old Jun 4, 2019, 7:12 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA*1K MM
Originally Posted by TeeZee
Hi, I want to go from yyz to bud on September 18. I'm stuck on that date due to commitments. I've tried (jfk, ord, bos..) but can't find anything in J the whole way, without AC nonsense. I want to arrive in the afternoon of the 19th. Guess my lack of flexibility is the problem? This is my first time trying this out. Thanks.
JFK-FRA-BUD is available on LH J - but it will cost $$$ in YQ, so may as well fly YYZ-MAD on AC, and connect from there.
Old Jun 5, 2019, 4:22 pm

Programs: Aeroplan, FlyingBlue
Originally Posted by canadiancow
I had pieced together a nice trip last night, after Aeroplan was closed. This morning, my domestic NZ flight AKL-ZQN (and the other slightly worse timed one) is now X0.

How is NZ at opening domestic Y space?

I only have two full stops I want, but since ZQN isn't the POT (that would be SIN), I don't think I can turn this into an open jaw to make it work.

I suppose I could make some other NZ city my stopover and position myself, but we're looking at 3-6 hour drives or several hundred in round-trip Y fares to make it happen. All because Aeroplan closed at 9pm PDT

Edit: NZ space came back, but it's phantom. Aeroplan agent is being great, but no joy with getting this done.

So question remains the same: Does NZ open space on domestic routes closer to departure?
The short answer is yes (for Y). If you're looking at Y, can you not fly Jetstar for like $75?

curious about your itinerary if you don't mind sharing after you book.
Old Jun 5, 2019, 5:32 pm

Programs: Aeroplan, Amex AeroPlat
Ok I have posted a slightly different version of the question below in the newbie thread but this is probably a better place:

I am a bit confused about open jaw mini atw.

YYZ-YUL-PVG (all in AC J)
Stop in Shanghai for a week, then leave from Shanghai’s SHA airport
SHA - SZX (Shenzhen Air X)