Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Africa > Africa
Reload this Page >

Angola to Issue VOA | US and EU included

Angola to Issue VOA | US and EU included

    Hide Wikipost
Old Apr 8, 18, 7:54 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Palal
Wiki Link
You must pre-apply online for VoA here. The cost is US$120.

List of nationalities that are eligible:
  • European Union All EU citizens
  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • China
  • Cuba
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • South Korea
  • Swaziland
  • Switzerland
  • Timor-Leste
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 12, 18, 8:59 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TPA
Programs: IHG Platinum, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold, National EE
Posts: 1,183
Angola to Issue VOA | US and EU included

Interesting news for those interested in ever visiting Angola.

The European states of Northern Ireland, Iceland, Monaco, Norway, the UK, Russia, Switzerland and Vatican City will also benefit from the new Luanda visa rule.

American beneficiaries of the visa simplification process are Argentina, Canada, Chile, Cuba, the US, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The Middle East and Asian beneficiaries are Israel, the United Arab Emirates, China, South Korea, India, Indonesia, Japan, and Singapore.

The nationals of Australia, New Zealand and Timor-Leste will also be granted the Angolan visa on arrival.

The presidential decree, RNA added, will be in force from March 30.
Angola offers visa on arrival to nationals from 61 countries

Not seeing anything from official gov't sources though I suspect we may not until around the end of the month.
ChiefNWA is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 10:39 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,671
Saw that one as well. Let's see how they implement it... somehow I don't see the number of tourists going up because of this though.
Palal is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 1:33 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TPA
Programs: IHG Platinum, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold, National EE
Posts: 1,183
Originally Posted by Palal View Post
Saw that one as well. Let's see how they implement it... somehow I don't see the number of tourists going up because of this though.
I agree, I doubt it'll result in any huge influx of tourism. However, it's good news for us country counters! (that and the Saudi news)
ChiefNWA is offline  
Old Mar 12, 18, 4:56 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,671
Originally Posted by ChiefNWA View Post
I agree, I doubt it'll result in any huge influx of tourism. However, it's good news for us country counters! (that and the Saudi news)
Transit visa was relatively easy to get and very cheap, so if you want to visit, it shouldn't be an issue.
Palal is offline  
Old Mar 14, 18, 8:50 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: Qatar, Turkish, Aeroflot
Posts: 546
Thank god! One less visa to worry about!
ilcannone is offline  
Old Mar 25, 18, 11:42 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
So, on my trip LIS (Lisbon)-TMS (Sao Tome & Principe) via LAD (Luanda), I would need to go through the VOA process in order to transit to TMS? My layover is 3 hours 40 minutes.
cmoz is offline  
Old Mar 26, 18, 4:21 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: Qatar, Turkish, Aeroflot
Posts: 546
Originally Posted by cmoz View Post
So, on my trip LIS (Lisbon)-TMS (Sao Tome & Principe) via LAD (Luanda), I would need to go through the VOA process in order to transit to TMS? My layover is 3 hours 40 minutes.
from what I understand you wouldn't need any visa at all unless you wanted to exit the airport!
ilcannone is offline  
Old Mar 27, 18, 7:09 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,671
Depends on cmoz's nationality
Palal is offline  
Old Mar 28, 18, 3:27 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Palal View Post
Depends on cmoz's nationality
Traveling on US Passport (havring about 2 blank pages)
cmoz is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 4:04 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,671
Then no transit visa is needed if you don't leave the airport. A transit visa will run you $50. If you want to leave the airport - I'd get that.
Palal is offline  
Old Apr 8, 18, 6:16 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks for the info!
Originally Posted by Palal View Post
Then no transit visa is needed if you don't leave the airport. A transit visa will run you $50. If you want to leave the airport - I'd get that.
cmoz is offline  
Old Apr 9, 18, 3:44 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,671
Looks like they've started doing VoA. You must pre-apply here. The cost is US$120.
ChiefNWA likes this.

Last edited by Palal; Apr 9, 18 at 3:55 am
Palal is offline  
Old Apr 16, 18, 12:35 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: Qatar, Turkish, Aeroflot
Posts: 546
Originally Posted by Palal View Post
Looks like they've started doing VoA. You must pre-apply here. The cost is US$120.
Applying for the visa may have got a bit easier by going online, but it seems one still needs to prove funds for getting one. Might as well just go to the Embassy and do it! (Albeit I refer to Tourist, not Transit, visas)
ilcannone is offline  
Old Apr 24, 19, 2:53 am
  #14  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,910
has anyone tried this yet/succeeded?

People seem to be getting interested in Angola again (from a business pov), so looks like I'll be heading there in the next quarter. I haven't been for 3-4 years, so this evisa thing is new to me... has anyone tried it yet? Easy?

Any comments welcomed.
Stewie Mac is offline  
Old Apr 29, 19, 9:40 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Programs: Asiana Club Diamond, Mileage Plan member, HHonors Gold
Posts: 315
Works well.

Some claim the site is hard to use. You still have to file a plethora of documents for a 30 day visa like how before you needed to take a load of documents to consulate. Now you have to upload them to the website and they have to be within a certain file size parameter. This confuses many people but is not that difficult. I have heard the website goes down occasionally but for the most part seems to work fine.
Stewie Mac likes this.
cargueiro is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread