Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Africa > Africa
Reload this Page >

Advice on connecting in Addis Ababa

Advice on connecting in Addis Ababa

Old Feb 4, 18, 11:00 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Expl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,434
Question Advice on connecting in Addis Ababa

My wonderful brother-in-law and sister-in-law, rather inexperienced international travelers, are planning on flying Ethiopian Airlines LAX-(DUB)-ADD-SEZ (in business class) in a couple of months. I'm under the impression that ET is a fine airline and that ADD is an easy, well-run airport to transit through. But I just wanted to confirm that for their three-hour connections both ways, they do not need visas or health certificates, correct?

Any other advice I should forward to them, to help them avoid any confusion or hassles in transit?

Thanks for any help.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Feb 5, 18, 4:36 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,670
ET is a fine airline, the airport is a bit messy and chaotic. 3 hours is 2.5 hours too many to connect, as it's small. Hopefully things will improve once they open the new terminal.

US citizens don't need a visa or anything else for transiting.
Palal is offline  
Old Feb 5, 18, 5:03 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Exile
Posts: 14,748
If they are in Business Class, they will have a relatively stress free transit. Go straight to the CLOUD NINE BUSINESS LOUNGE (one of the 4 lounges, but if they go to the wrong one they will be redirected) and wait there until their onward flight is specifically called in the lounge (a lady will walk around calling out destinations to signify its time to head to the gate). They shouldn't head out before this.

They should use the GOLD TRACK priority security checkpoint located in the middle of the terminal (opposite the Platinum Lounge and the Customer Service desk). Then, proceed to the special "Business Class / Star Gold Boarding Area" located near Gate 11. All Business/Gold pax on all flights from remote stands board from here in special buses, so no need to stand in line or anything else. SEZ will be a remote stand, but the return to LAX will board from the special area for US flights (which has its own priority line though).
B747-437B is offline  
Old Feb 7, 18, 8:27 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Expl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,434
Great information. Thanks very much!
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Feb 10, 18, 7:52 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Programs: ShebaMiles Blue, Skywards Blue
Posts: 32
When flying back to LAX, tell them to try to proceed to the Gate area around 30-45 minutes prior to boarding. The security screening at "GATES 11-14" , enhanced security gates for USA, UK, and Israel flights, is notoriously slow and there doesn't seem to be much consideration for Priority passengers.
ET359 is offline  
Old Feb 12, 18, 8:54 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 136
We transited ADD over the summer. The one difficulty we had was trying to get to the lounge. Because of construction at the airport, we were directed to go to the gate area from our originating flight. Once there, we couldn't figure out how to exit the gate area to get to the other side of security to get to the lounge. The lounges were before security in our gate area. They finally let us out through the metal detectors that let people in.

The advice about waiting until the flight is called in the lounge is good advice. A representative from the lounge will escort you through a duty free shop directly to the elite security check. There were maybe 10 people in line and it moved very quickly. We ended up sitting in the gate area for about 45 minutes because security was so easy.
dj506 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread