Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Aer Lingus | AerClub
Reload this Page >

What's faster - TSA prescreen or regular in DUB?

What's faster - TSA prescreen or regular in DUB?

Old May 8, 2023, 12:42 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Posts: 17
What's faster - TSA prescreen or regular in DUB?

I'll be flying to DUB and I have about 1.5hr layover to USA (both legs with Aer Lingus). I know that Dublin airport has TSA prescreen that makes it easier to enter US, but I'm not really concerned about the time it takes once I have off the plane in US. So I'd rather spend less time in DUB lines, maybe spend more time in lounge if I can. So what would be faster, doing TSA prescreen in DUB or avoid it?
catopillar is offline  
Old May 8, 2023, 12:45 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: EIDW
Programs: Aer Lingus Concierge, Radisson Rewards Platinum, BW Diamond, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,908
No choice in Dublin if flying to the US you MUST clear TSA/CBP
ROKNA is offline  
Old May 8, 2023, 2:07 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,786
.and if youre eligible, there is a lounge post pre-clearance. If your first flight is on time you should get a bit of time in the lounge.
catopillar and AlanA like this.
Kgmm77 is online now  
Old May 9, 2023, 4:03 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: From ORK, live LCY
Programs: IHG Gold, BA Silver, EI Silver, HH Silver, Accor Silver, ABP, Seigneur des Horaires des Mucci
Posts: 14,095
Dublin Airport does not have TSA (Transportation Security Administration), prescreen or otherwise. Security checks at Dublin airport are provided by ASU.

If you meant United States Customs and Border Protection preclearance, you do not get to choose whether you go through it on a flight to the USA. You have to go through it, unless for some reason your flight isn't using it (rare) in which case you have to go through USCBP when you land,
catopillar likes this.
stifle is online now  
Old May 9, 2023, 4:04 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by stifle
Dublin Airport does not have TSA (Transportation Security Administration), prescreen or otherwise. Security checks at Dublin airport are provided by ASU.

If you meant United States Customs and Border Protection preclearance, you do not get to choose whether you go through it on a flight to the USA. You have to go through it, unless for some reason your flight isn't using it (rare) in which case you have to go through USCBP when you land,
Got it, thanks, yeah, I mixed up the terminology
catopillar is offline  
Old May 10, 2023, 1:52 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Programs: AerClub - Concierge, Hotels.com - Gold
Posts: 877
Originally Posted by catopillar
Got it, thanks, yeah, I mixed up the terminology
Which is unforgivable for some who post on here 🤪
mailliW and ferg01 like this.
alserire is offline  
Old Aug 12, 2023, 1:16 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by catopillar
I'll be flying to DUB and I have about 1.5hr layover to USA (both legs with Aer Lingus). I know that Dublin airport has TSA prescreen that makes it easier to enter US, but I'm not really concerned about the time it takes once I have off the plane in US. So I'd rather spend less time in DUB lines, maybe spend more time in lounge if I can. So what would be faster, doing TSA prescreen in DUB or avoid it?
Update after the flight - I was one of the first people off the plane since I was sitting close to the front and the 1.5hr was just enough time to make to the next flight. I came to the gate about 15 minutes before boarding started. One caveat was that I was selected for secondary selective screening so that added about 10-15 minutes. When I was flying there were very few people going through the screening, so my 1.5 hour layover was pretty comfortable. If this was a different time, that would definitely be more stressful.
FlightDetective and RMDrive like this.
catopillar is offline  
Old Aug 19, 2023, 11:54 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: From ORK, live LCY
Programs: IHG Gold, BA Silver, EI Silver, HH Silver, Accor Silver, ABP, Seigneur des Horaires des Mucci
Posts: 14,095
Originally Posted by catopillar
I came to the gate about 15 minutes before boarding started. One caveat was that I was selected for secondary selective screening so that added about 10-15 minutes.
I understood that SSSS at Dublin is carried out at the basement security checkpoint rather than at the gate, is that not still the case?
stifle is online now  
Old Aug 19, 2023, 12:15 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by stifle
I understood that SSSS at Dublin is carried out at the basement security checkpoint rather than at the gate, is that not still the case?
It was actually in the same space as the regular screening. There was a separate line for SSSS flagged customers. It was actually not too bad, the staff tried to be pretty fast about it and were very efficient in doing the extra checks.
FlightDetective likes this.
catopillar is offline  
Old Aug 22, 2023, 8:58 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,598
Originally Posted by stifle
I understood that SSSS at Dublin is carried out at the basement security checkpoint rather than at the gate, is that not still the case?
?? The US immigration and security for US connections is all in the "basement" (actually I think it's level with the ground but it sure feels like going into a basement). I'm surprised it took so long, the US security line was always pretty quick in my experience. Immigration is usually pretty quick too but it can vary.
zkzkz is offline  
Old Aug 23, 2023, 4:03 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: EIDW
Programs: Aer Lingus Concierge, Radisson Rewards Platinum, BW Diamond, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,908
Its all done within the CBP area. You either get SSSS on the boarding card or picked up locally when the boarding card scan takes place. Its quite efficient

You get pulled aside when you enter the CBP security screen and sent to a dedicated channel at the far end, if the regular channels are busy it might even be faster to be SSSS'ed
ROKNA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.